We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard rooms not really up to standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantida Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde, België
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Standard rooms not really up to standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Cahuita was the final leg of our Costa Rica tour. The standard rooms we were given did not really meet 'the standard' and we were facing an unpleasant end of our journey. For a start they were not clean and the bathroom was really in need for renovation...Fortunately we were able to upgrade to the superior rooms for an extra 20 Dollars per night. These rooms are spacious and with a decent bathroom including a walk-in shower. However as far as I understand there are only 4 superior rooms available, so make sure to book these in advance. The swimming pool is big but degraded, lots of tiles are missing and apart from 4 concrete pool chairs, none of the others were in good condition...Location however is fine, just outside of Cahuita and near an excellent Italian restaurant. We were advised though to take a taxi when returning at night for safety...Finally staff is friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is good!

Room Tip: ask for the superior rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deperre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    61
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
31
84
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed one night here at the end of our C2C trip with Coast to Coast adventures. There are different standards of room I think.....I hope ours weren't at the higher end, because the rooms were a bit dark and dismal. There was no air-con either...just a fan....and it was HOT. We had a major disaster with the shower which came to bits and flooded the room....not great when you only have a few items of dry & clean clothes. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool was OK, if a bit grubby. The main attraction was the Howler monkeys in the tree overhanging the hotel driveway. The grounds were nice enough too....lots of HIbiscus.
Not somewhere we'd go back to in a hurry though....certainly not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a rather small lodge with lots of potential. It is located at the black beach area. Sure the place needs a lot of maintenance. Especially in and around the (huge) pool (lots of tiles were missing, not a single chair or pool bed was in order) and the rooms (shower). However the ambiance is truly charming: lots of flowers and plants, black spotted frogs in the morning, a lot of red eyed frogs after sunset and a friendly sloth using the power lines for freeway. The staff is friendly although a bit Caribbean tempered and the majority didn’t speak English. The water is scarcely heated by an electrical device in the shower. Making a clumsy move even caused a small shock! The reception is primitive and lacks a real cash register, so you should calculate in some time to check out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

It's a bit out of town which is OK. The rooms are very simpel but OK. It's all in a garden located which is nice as well. Food in the restaurant is a bit pricey but tastes good. You can look your valubales at reception (open form 6am to 9pm). The pool is good too. So over all you get a good stay for the money. We just had the feeling that there is no heart behind it - that it's all about the money. You also get Groups stopping by (Interbus) for Lunch/Dinner or to stay. Guess that's how they make the money and the individuals are but a bonus. We were greated and treated nice don't get me wrong. But we didn't feel at home or welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The most amazing thing of this hotel is the way they mix in the nature with the infrastructure. I didn't had to move to see most of the animals of the region such as the beautiful Red-eyed Treefrog. The food that I was served was very good and the ambiance of the bar gave a great feeling. The lodge doesn't have any gym or fitness center but when I ask about it, the manager brought me to his place where he had TRX, pull up and dip bars which is more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

What can I say? Stumbled across this place on the 2nd day of my trip, while I was bike riding through Cahuita. I'd made reservations at another lodge and had run into a couple of issues so, I decided to keep my options open. This place is fairly unassuming from the front of the property. I was pleasantly surprised to find (basically) a botanical garden getaway, when I walked further on to the grounds. It was GORGEOUS. I was able to make a reservation, on the spot, for the very next day. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the grounds were LOADED with regular wildlife residents/visitors; i.e. sloths, kinkajou's, basilisks, red eye tree frogs, dart frogs & agoutis. The owner was personable and beyond gracious. He even invited my boyfriend and I to stay at his personal home in San Jose, if we planned to stay there for a short while, before flying back home. I also found out from him that his lodge was the first one of it's kind to spring up in Cahuita, when no one was considering the area for tourism. So much so, that he was essentially given dead land, full of coral, that no one thought anything would be able to flourish from. It's ASTONISHING and almost comical to see what he has been able to do with this land. He's even used some of the original coral to construct the walls of the rooms. It's a genius idea! When you decide to leave the grounds... the first thing you see, as you walk down the gravel road, is a head on view of the the black sand beach! It's paradisiac! I really can't say enough about this place. :-). I'm so glad the owner decided to take charge and be as hands on as he is with getting this place into it's current shape, over the past year! A quick heads up however... it seems as though most hotels/lodges in Costa Rica require cash in order to receive the rate that's advertised (to avoid being taxed) so, make sure you have the cash on hand, or be prepared to pay a little more for you room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I were very satisfied by the attention of the personal and the uniqueness of this place. You’re literally in the middle of the jungle and in front of the beach. I had the chance to talk with the manager and he told me about the renovation that is going on and I understood the reason why it looks all new.

For any couple who seek for a relax environment and a lot of nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
10.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Property: Atlantida Lodge
Address: In front of Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantida Lodge Cahuita, Costa RicaAtlantida Lodge combines the charm of typical Caribbean Costa Rican beach life with all the comforts of a modern lifestyle. Located on the beachfront in Playa Negra, Cahuita, visitors can expect to immerse themselves in total relaxation. Guests' days are spent by the ocean or among the sprawling tropics or simple relax on the swimming pool. Located on the Caribbean coast, Cahuita is known for its astounding black-sand beaches with warm, calm waters that are ideal for swimming and snorkeling. Its extravagant coral reef is world renowned for its underwater beauty. Set against the stunning background of a lush tropical rainforest, Hotel Atlantida is an exceptional treasure. At Atlantida Lodge, visitors experience only the height of privacy and relaxation. Perfect for families or small groups, the Hotel offers 31 rooms with king-sized bed queen bed and a single bed, private bathroom in each room and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing