We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and rustic”
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantida Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly and rustic”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Mixed reviews from me and friends staying at the same time - I really liked this place, my room was clean and big, had a comfy bed, and I liked that the lodge was slightly scruffy in a nice unpretentious way and the staff competent, friendly and relaxed. A good bar, big pool, and right over a quiet road from the dramatic and empty playa negra where you could swim and watch a lovely sunrise, or use the outdoor gym if you like that sort of thing! That said, my friends said their rooms were dirty, and most had shower issues, unlike me. It did bother me that the walls were very thin, and that I could hear dog noise at night, but it was lovely to have so much vegetation and wildlife right there, and felt pretty local. We didn't see the area much so I can't say whether there were nicer places around or better beaches, but for laid back night or two with a bit of soul, it seemed good to me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rachstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    62
    35
    12
    12
See reviews for
32
86
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I liked the location of the hotel, and the pool was nice enough, but the cleanliness of the room had me cringing. When I checked into the room there were hairs on the pillow case and under the sheets, which tells me that the sheets weren't changed, and certainly weren't washed after the last guest departed. Ew.

There were dead bugs on the window sill and in the shower, and while I understand that bugs can die in the room after cleaning, I don't think that quantity of bugs all somehow died after the maid was through. Made the envelope on the nightstand suggesting that the maid be tipped somewhat galling, given the shabby state of the room.

Was staying with a group, and was only staying one night. Had I been on my own, I would not have booked this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

No breakfast included. Beds were good. You can hear your neighbours talking next room.
Owner was really nice. We were there over the year. But the barbecue was too expensive so we went to town were we had good dinner, lots of fun at coco bar and a great firework. Lodge was close to the beach so worth going to. We saw a lott of hauling monkeys in the trees.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aljen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend in Atlantida Lodge more then one month. We had a great time here. This Hotel have their own positive atmosphere. They have beautiful green area, big and comfortable swimming pool with a bar. Rooms are very simple but nice and cozy. Beach is on the opposite side of the hotel and as for me this part of the beach is the best one. 10 minutes walk you can get to the center of Cahuita and to National Park of Cahuita with white beach and interesting reef. They have Spa in a hotel. If you really love nature you will love this place. A lot of flowers, birds, monkey and slots...everything what you will looking for in National Park you will have in your hotel) Very Very Good Staff, you feel that they really love their job and this hotel.If we will come again to Cahuita we will choose this hotel again! ...Sorry for my English)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place was really nice, the rooms was not that great , but the facilities around where so great. a cozy little bar and a great big pool. the beach was just 100 mts away. the host was really nice, and speak perfectly english , french and spanish. - the only bad thing was that the dog was pretty noisy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Atlantida Lodge is a very nice hotel, near the beach ! The room was comfortable, service more than OK. And ... there is beautiful swimming pool with coctail bar. An extra surplus is the friendly personnel.
I plan to come back to Costa Rica and will certainly stay here again when I am in Cahuita.

Pascual from Belgium

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The lodge is located a mile or so from Cahuita center. It has a very nice large pool and is directly across from the Black Beach. The Black Beach and the White Beach refer to the color of the sand. Playa Negra is a much safer place to swim. The White Beach has strong waves and currents.

The first problem I encountered was the price. They wanted a good deal of money for a very basic room - more than much nicer hotels were asking. I negotiated the price down and the inclusion of breakfast. Still no deal, but I really wanted in the pool and in the ocean.

The room had a private bath, ceiling fan and a couple of chairs in front by the garden. No AC or TV. The next problem was that the rear window, the only one with security bars, faced the parking lot and there was, at times, a lot of noise there - loud music from the hotel workshop, barking dogs, late-night arrivals, etc. Mostly, it was quiet at night.

The breakfast was perfectly fine and the dining area was very pleasant. Parking is ample and secure. WiFi is only available in the reception/dining area. The pool is very large and clean, but the music starts around noon and is oppressively loud. The staff was very nice and helpful,

The beach across the road is perfect for a dip in salt water. There doesn't seem to be much here in the way of strong currents or waves. The slope out into the water is slight and easy.

Room Tip: The basic rooms (23 - 30?) have a rear window facing the parking lot. This can present a noise probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
168 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
10.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Property: Atlantida Lodge
Address: In front of Playa Negra, Next to the soccer Field, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Located right next to the soccer field, in front of Playa Negra Cahuita and a few steps from the beach, and only 20 miles km south from Puerto Limon. Description: Perfect place to capture the atmosphere of peaceful that exists in the Costa Rican Caribbean. The Reception, Swimming Pool, The Brown Pelican Restaurant and Gardens are a "Tropical Adventure Center" where the forest over 30 years around the hotel, will immediately captures you. It features Massage room, restaurant for 70 people, Pizza oven, Kukula Bar with musical activities all months, Private Parking lot, Bike rent, wide pool and Frogs observation center among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing