We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up with true jungle sounds”
Review of Kelly Creek Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelly Creek Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Rhenen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waking up with true jungle sounds”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Kelly Creek is situated right at the entrance of the National Park and it's beach, Playa Blanca. You are only a few steps away. Kelly Creek smartly provides free beach towels.

The hotel has an "Out of Africa"-look and feel. It is quite spacious; at first glance you would expect a lot more than the four rooms they have. The rooms are all hardwoord. Floor, walls, ceiling, window shutters; all wood. The room we had, looked luxurious, although the wood really needs new varnish. Sheets and mosquito nets looked very nice and clean. The rooms are quite dark, with only lights on the walls. We could not look into our backpacks that well.

There are no windows in the rooms, only shutters. Bring ear plugs if you wake up easily; the howler monkeys will surely wake you. We were woken very early by sounds of the howlers, birds, the hotel's dogs and very "romantic" noises from the neigbouring room. This is the main disadvantage of the hotel; soundwise it is as if you are sleeping in a little tent. Neither did I like that the the bathrooms of all rooms share ceilings. You can hear any sound from your neighbours and be able to follow the conversation next door.

The bathroom was clean, but looked quite old and dated. The shower only provided us with cold water. We stayed 2 nights; the beds were made after the 1st night and we received new towels.

We did not meet the owners. I believe they were not around. When we were staying at Kelly Creek, we saw several staff members. We thought they were working shifts. The women were very friendly, but did not speak any English. This made our stay a little impersonal. We tried to speak a little Spanish to have our basic needs fulfilled.

At one point one of the staff members came to fetch us to show the cayman lying in the creek next to the house. She fed the animal chicken bones to gives us a little wildlife display. That was very interesting! There are more animals around; 3 dogs live at the hotel and a parrot. The parrot came up to us and started speaking; really entertaining! It even wanted to sit on my leg and shoulder and wanted to be stroked. However, it did not like my partner. It started blowing at him when he reached out his hand.

Breakfast was not included. I believe you can eat breakfast there, but we did not try it. The hotel also has a restaurant. We did not see any guests, neither did we eat there. The restaurant is decorated with a lot of charming paintings.

Be informed that Cahuita is a tiny village, with not that many attractions. The main thing to visit is the National Park. I felt spending 2 nights in the village was more than enough.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you wake up easily or bring good ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    30
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
80
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This place is nearly perfect. We are a family of 8 who stayed in three of the four guest rooms for four nights. The location is absolutely incredible being right on the beach and for all practical purposes right in the national park. Indeed, we saw and experienced nearly as much wildlife right at Kelly Creek as we did in our incredible journey through the park itself.

The vibe of the KC matches that of Cahuita itself perfectly - as chill as it gets. A fantastic continental breakfast is put on by a Spaniard and a French woman - two people who know how to make Continental fantastic. The rooms are bright and well-lit and clean. It is true that the bathrooms have a shared open ceiling, so that could be a little disconcerting for some, but otherwise the rooms are really dreamy. They have almost a Tahitian feel to them with their huge ceilings and open shutters. There is wi-fi and more than enough space.

Price is fantastic, hosts are warm, location is second-to-none in the world, and the porch is perfect for spending a whole evening marveling at how many Imperials one can drink in the Caribbean air. Bring earplugs if the sound of Caribbean surf on the sand bothers you as you fall carelessly asleep!

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the restaurant have a bigger porch space. One room there has a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roquefort les pins france
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We left before we were supposed to as we did not like Cahuita much, except from the park that is very interesting, we did not get a good vibe from the town. Though, the location is good as it is just at the entrance of the park.
The guest house is a traditional old style wooden house that could do with a few coats of varnish, splited in 4 rooms and 4 bathrooms in the center. The rooms are very dark (bring a flash lamp to look for things in you bags in the evening), big but plain. As for the bathrooms, they are very bright but you can hear your enighbour on the toilet or in their shower as each bathroom doe not have its own ceiling.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Two grandma's just spent 2 nights at the Kelly Creek Lodge.We were very comfortable staying at the Lodge, nice facility in a great location. Couldn't have found a better place to stay for the money and location. Couple running it do a wonderful job and the food is excellent. Best meals we had while visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karhart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlín, Alemania
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I lived in C.R for many years, and each time we went to cahuita we stayed here! It's beautiful, the food is nice, the owners are very nice and interesting people! It's next to the national park, so it has the best location. The rooms are very big and the price is quite low, for costarican standards :) The best hotel in cahuita!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niconino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel enjoys the best location in town; where the main drag meets the national park and the sea. Wildlife at breakfast was amazing, from capuchin monkeys trying to raid the kitchens to the creek's resident caimans menacing the hotel's parrot.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5six73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My kids (6,10 & 12) and I were so lucky to find this wonderful place. We planned on staying 2 nights but stayed for 4. We did not have a reservation but after looking at and pricing out other options in town we were grateful that they had an available room. The location is fantastic! It's on the edge of the town- close enough to walk everywhere, but still removed from the noise of the town. It's also right on the ocean- we were lulled to sleep by the surf. The room was very clean and spacious- we were able to spread out a little. The best part, for us, were the very nice owners. They were great with the kids- inviting them to help feed a caiman near the propery and allowing them to invade their personal housing area so they could watch the monkeys. One day I hand-washed some clothes and left them hanging on a makeshift clothesline to dry. When we got back to the room they were all dry and folded on the bed. This was the first time in weeks that our clothes were truly dry!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
3.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Creek Hotel

Property: Kelly Creek Hotel
Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kelly Creek Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing