We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small quiet and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magellan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small quiet and friendly”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A small hotel in a great part of Costa Rica. We found a laid-back environment that was attentive when we wanted something and offered quiet privacy too. The town is a little too far to walk but had pleasant restaurants. The Chocolate Museum initially sounded expensive but was well worth the price. The Magellan Inn is not really geared for small children but is great as a couples get-a-way.

Room Tip: Only six rooms and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    39
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
89
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perfect location, quiet, peaceful, fresh delicious breakfast including real farm raised chickens (their own!), big comfortable rooms, many activities to choose from including my horseback riding. Take a nap in your own hammock with the sound of the ocean, birds, and monkeys. Meditate in the Yoga Shrine, soak in the pool, or go to the ocean (only 5 minutes from the Inn). Terry, the owner, will definitely make you feel at home. At Magellan Inn you will feel so at home that you'd want to move in!

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms, I just know that my room had the AC located right in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernanda_beccaglia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We came here for the first leg of our Costa Rican excursion and were happy to find Magellan Inn. It's a small, quiet spot near cahuita. It was perfect for us, being close to the beach and the town, but far enough away to get the quiet isolation that we were looking for. Terry and the staff here were great and very helpful. It's a 30 minute walk from here to town, so be prepared to do that or take a $5 cab ride, but the road is beautiful and quiet, so we were happy to get the exercise and make the trek each day. They only served breakfast (which was delicious) while we were here, so be prepared to travel for your other meals. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in Cahuita, and this hotel was beautiful, clean, helpful and the staff was very welcoming. Great place for a chilled out stay by the beach. I would especially suggest it to couples.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely inn for 3 nights with our teenage girls and absolutely loved it. The peaceful garden setting was exquisite, the private hammock in front of the room a favorite spot and the breakfast of tropical fruits and fresh bread delicious. Owner Terry was very attentive and helpful with any advice or suggestions one may need. We did not want to leave this oasis of tranquility and have missed it ever since.

Room Tip: We selected a room without A/C, which was just fine. Fans provide breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I travelled to Cahuita on work related matters and brought my family with me. We were received by the owner Terri who is a very pleasant and accommodating lady. We were housed in room number 6 and my mom in room 5.

The hotel was full of greenery and lushious foliage and had a farm like atmosphere. It was very quiet, clean, scenic peaceful and tucked away from busy city life. To my surprise there was a huge and tame dog called Roxy. At first I was a little worried about my two year old son who is not used to big dogs but we were alright. Roxy was only out in the mornings. There were also two parrots, one of which liked to give a show, two horses and a few chickens.

Breakfast was lots of fruits with the best hot home made bread I had tasted in a long time. The pool was good fun and my husband and son enjoyed their swim.

The shower and bathroom set up was different but workable.

Glad we had the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irumirum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Terry at Magellan Inn runs a small hotel tucked away in the serenity and a short distance from the Cahuita national park.
The whole ambiance of the hotel is so comfortable. A place to chill or keep active with the various tours that Terry and her staff are happy to suggest and organize. While there indulge in a massage and walk round the corner to do yoga with Jo.

A walk away is the town of Cahuita and not to be missed is the Reggae bar and restaurant.

Highly recommend staying at the Magellan Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irumIrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magellan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magellan Boutique Hotel

Property: Magellan Boutique Hotel
Address: Playa Grande, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Magellan Inn)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magellan Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, 3-star boutique hotel is an ideal setting for a leisure stay in the heart of the Caribbean! Only 150 meters away, you can enjoy a walk to one of the prettiest beaches in Cahuita. Just a few more kilometers away, all with in walking distance, you will find the Cahuita National Park and several blue flag beaches along the way. Located in a private jungle oasis, our recently remodeled hotel will delight the spirit, with decor inspired by the vibrant colors and life of the rainforest. A tranquil setting to unwind in, with tropical GARDENS, a POOL dramatically sunken into an ancient coral reef cavern, a YOGA studio with weekly classes, BARBEQUE area, and BAR/ LOUNGE area. The hotel features 6 stylish, recently remodeled guest bedrooms, with a comfortable atmosphere and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Magellan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Magellan Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing