We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was not what we expected!”
Review of Cabinas Arrecife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Arrecife
costa rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was not what we expected!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I called to have info about an equipped cabin,(with kitchen and its stuff) the owner told me they have one with that description, private kitchen, just for us, who were requesting it, and that the kitchen will be next to the cabin, not inside to avoid bad smells, once we get the the kitchen was for free use for all the guest, just one small fridge and no forks, a couple spoons, 3 plates, 3 mugs. also they dont take trash out everyday, we put 2 bags , they were full and no one took care of it, till our last day in there.

****pool more than small so deep***

****** the flush for the toilets was not working, we had to keep filling the water tank manually everyday** (they knew about it, just dont take actions for that***

******** the beach that is next to the cabin, is full of boats, its like a port (pretty dirty) no sand to stay in, just coral and rocks.


********** the housekeeper, never arrange the room, she just put towels and clean the shower, no broom, no nothing****

actually i dont recomend it, at least you dont any other option

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Unna, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August 2010 and I can recommend it to other travellers without any hesitation.

It is, however, a budget choice. Rooms are pretty basic but have either AC or ceiling fans. There is a small pool, but please do take notice of the word small. The location is great, right by the ocean. ALthough you can't really swin at that particular beach, it still makes a great atmosphere to sit down in front of your rooms or in the breakfast area and listen to the gentle carribean waves.

Its location by beach also has the advantage that although it is near the lively center (which you can reach by a slow'n'easy three minute walk) you are not affected by ANY of its noise, to the contrary, it is completely quiet near and around the hotel. The entrance to the Nationalpark is also within a five minute walk.

All in all, its location, the good value for your money, the location and its atmosphere make it easy for me to recommend the place.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank alemantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed in Cabinas Arrecife with my boyfriend, it is a very nice and small place. We arrived on saturday evenning and we were going to leave on monday morning, 2 night at $30.00 each. The room was nice, one twin bed and a full bed, the bathroom needs an upgrade, it was very difficult for me to wash my hair (it is very curly and long) ' cause of the low pressure shower. The pool is small and not very flat, hehe! The place also has a nice hammock area that overlooks the sea. There was a big deck with rocking chair with a nice view, I spent hours there.
The place is very close to the center are very good restaurants near by, also supermarkets and bike rentals. The National Park and the Bus stop are walking distance to the cabins. The restaurant that is next to the cabins is very good, best fish ever!!!!!

Overall, the place is very nice, small pool, great deck and good location, bathrooms need an update

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broccoli_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2008

when we arrived to that hostel, they offered 30$/night. At last, if we spent 3 nights, they reduced the price to 25$/night. We payed the first day 75$. At last we spent 2 nights and he did not want to give us back the 15$ we have paid in excess.

The reason to check out 1 day before was a big storm that push us to go, cause of the risk for cutting the road to S.José, and we have to get the fly the next day. He took advantage of our situation.

Also the ceiling leaks.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Laudeator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cahuita hotels

Blowing Rock, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We saw this place listed in Frommers and just happened to stumble upon it at the far corner of town. From the outside it's not much, but once you get in the gate, it's like a little paradise which feels very secure. The rooms were nice, clean and adequate, with chairs under a covered veranda. There is also a covered deck with tables and chairs where you can purchase a nice breakfast, coffee, beer, etc. The Caribbean is just 100 feet below, with a great view through the palm trees. A small dipping pool is extra clean. The owners were very nice and helpful. The place is far enough off the main drag to be very quiet. Cahuita itself is over-rated, and Miss Edith, who runs a rasta restaurant next door is crabby as hell, but her food is tasty (if a little pricey for the area). All in all, if you plan to stay in this area, Cabinas Arrecife is a great find. Cleaner, safer and quieter than Puerto Viejo but only 20 minutes away. We ended up staying three days instead of only one! (We took photos but haven't downloaded them yet. The trick is, go inside before you decide!)

  • Liked — Price, location, security, views
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gbsbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Cabinas Arrecife
Cahuita,Costa Rica
Aug./Sept. 2006

This is a gem among the Cabinas.Rooms are Spotless.The make you a great breakfast .Breakfastarea great for relaxing.The nice little Pool is fun.Wellkept throu-out. Minutes to town and beaches. Managers helpt me and my husband ( disabled) with everything. Thank you. A few steps down, you will find a great Restaurant which
serves local cousine. Will go back anytime.

Barbara and Bob Hilker
Hollywood / Florida, U.S.A.

  • Liked — Surroundings friendliness, convinience.
  • Disliked — No complains at all.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank interestingthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Hostel Hakuna Matata
#5 of 43 in Cahuita
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Cabinas Caribe Luna
#14 of 43 in Cahuita
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ciudad Perdida EcoLodge
Ciudad Perdida EcoLodge
#24 of 43 in Cahuita
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reggae Cabinas
Hotel Reggae Cabinas
#37 of 43 in Cahuita
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Piscina Natural
La Piscina Natural
#10 of 43 in Cahuita
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Arrecife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Arrecife

Property: Cabinas Arrecife
Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Arrecife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Arrecife Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing