We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Encanto Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
355
44
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
44
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhomemade breadcosta ricanational parkthe ownerbest featurehighly recommend it to anyonebeautiful gardenpeaceful stayfrogs and lizardscomfortable roomspata negraenjoyed fresheggs or pancakesfive minute walkswimming poolplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We arrived in Cahuita after dark with no reservations. I had researched El Encanto so crossed our fingers for a room. Cami was quick to answer the bell and showed us the beautiful room and beautiful grounds. We loved everything about this place. The rooms were clean, grounds very secure with a locked gate, the breakfast delicious and the dog Clapton very entertaining. We only stayed 1 night but would have loved to stay more if we had the time. I definitely recommend this lovely oasis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Merci Brigitte and Danielle! Thank you for the fantastic hospitality! It was exactly what we needed.
Unlike the comments below, I also did a lot of research before heading into the jungle and otherwise unpopulated region of the Limon province to specifically stay in Cahuita. It was amazing to have indigionous poisonous dart frogs outside out door every morning and especially waking up at 5 am to our neighbours the Howler Monkeys!!!! When you go into the jungle I couldn`t imagine what you need a blow dryer for.... I do speak fluent french and a little spanish, but regardless of the lack of english or spanish, my boyfriend who only speaks english was able to get exactly what he needed. At one point I even saw them communicating with other guest via google translator.

The rooms were made everyday with fresh linens and always extra towels if you asked. Brigette and Danielle even made us a homemade meal one night!!!!!!!!!! If that isn`t going the extra mile to please your guests I don`t know what is.

They may not have had all of the information of what was going on in town, because that is not their job, there are there to take care of their meticulous garden and care for the guests they have. They did tell us some places to go in town and the rest we figured out on our own! That is what travelling is all about!!!

All in all we had a fantastic time in the sleepy village of Cahuita and if you are going to see any part of Costa Rica I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamBeau25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Let me preface this by saying that I did A TON of research before booking the El Encanto, including reading reviews here, browsing pictures, and checking out their info on the Cahuita.cr website. I even made a spreadsheet! I feel veryVERY mislead. What is with these five star reviews?? Ultimately, I transferred over to Hotel Vaz, which is nothing special at all, and still outdoes El Encanto in every respect. And for 50% less!!

The owners are French and speak veryvery limited Spanish and no English. The attending staff were easier to communicate with (fluent in Spanish obviously, and had infinitely better English). They have no idea about the events occurring in their own town. I wanted more info on Dia De La Rez celebrations in Limon, and they didn't even know what I was talking about. I asked about the Sloth Sanctuary and would you believe it, they had no idea what the heck a "perezoso" even was. Seriously!!

IT IS NOISY. A lot of the reviews for hotels closer into town often complain about the noise from the bars and clubs. I don't see how this is any worse than the noise from the rainforest. Why don't people ever mention this? Noise is noise. Once the sun goes down, you will subjected to some of the loudest bugs on the planet. At one point I actually thought my fan was squeaking. Nope, just the bugs. Is that an alarm going off a few doors down? Nope, just the cicadas. At least the bars in town close early. The bugs will go all night long.

BUGS, bugs, bugs!! The first thing I notice upon entering my room for the first time, is geckos. Four of them, and probably more hiding about. I don't mind geckos. I grew up with geckos throughout my house while living in Okinawa. But you know what geckos mean? It means: "There's bugs in here." And I had the not-so-extreme expectation of a room that at least shields me from the crawlies outside. If geckos can get in, so can other larger bugs. And yes, there were bugs. EVERYWHERE. I stayed in room 3, which had no mosquito nets. *sigh* The bugs also got in my suitcase. They got in my bath products. They were all over the bathroom windows and vanity. While I was taking a shower, a gecko popped out from behind the soap tray and scared the bejeesus out of me!

At my first breakfast, served in an open-air setting, I opened the sugar bowl to find bugs skittering about. So I went for the sugar packets instead. Nope, those had bugs in them too!! You just can't keep them out of anything here! I went to sip my coffee and there were four dead bugs floating in it! I think they must have been in the grinds or the pot.

I love the rainforest. And I love getting down and dirty. But only when the time calls for it. I booked El Encanto with the expectation that I'd at least be in a clean, bug free environment, but I guess I was asking too much for $85 a night??

Besides not speaking English and having poor Spanish (while saying on their website that they speak both), my room didn't have a mosquito net (even though they say they all their rooms do), there was no TV (even though they say you get Satellite TV), and they don't have hair dryers (again, they say they do). This is just all sorts of misleading. In Costa Rica, having a hairdryer is almost essential, as your hair will never fully dry otherwise.

The bed is also terrible. The mattress is very thin and has hard springs. The sheets are scratchy. The pillows smelled musty.

The owners disappear after the sun goes down and there is no way to phone or reach them unless you go outside your room and walk to the outdoor "office" to ring them. Inconvenient. El Encanto is also a good 10 - 15 min walk from the center of town. Even more inconvenient.

I enjoyed a few hours lounging by the pool even though there is no hot tub, there were lots of bugs crawling and floating about, and some tiles needed to be touched up. And I liked my breakfast even with the bugs in the sugar and coffee (I just opted out of coffee for the rest of my stay) and the fact that I always got an omelet no matter what I ordered. And the dog was really SUPER adorable. But I just can't recommend this place to anyone because of all lies and all the flaws. I don't get how El Encanto has a 4.5 average on here while Hotel Vaz has a 3. El Encanto has too many issues to warrant a stay for $85 a night. Consider staying at Hotel Vaz and apply the extra $40 savings on something pretty.

Room Tip: DONT STAY HERE. And if you do, at least bring a hairdryer!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilleliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahuitainn, Propriétaire at El Encanto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

I know that we can’t please everybody but I don’t accept the unfounded criticisms.
One can’t say an establishment is dirty just because there are lizards/geckos; here in the Caribbean, it’s the regional emblem! There are everywhere but they are harmless. And those who don’t like nature should not come here. You are the only one to complain about the noise of the rain forest.
Unfortunately, ants are part of the scenery. We watch to ban them but the nature regains its rights fast. We apologized for this inconvenience and we changed the sugar.
All our bungalows are provided with mosquito nets and we don’t have much because we treat our garden with natural products against mosquitoes.
You forget to say you arrived at 1 am, we was waiting for you and you didn’t even call to inform us and apologize for coming late.
I lent you my hairdryer during your stay. I don’t understand why you booked in our hotel if you prefer downtown cabins without greenery while the other comments praise the fauna and flora of the area and our garden. We are not those to incriminate, you are responsible for your choice.
Regarding the Sloth Sanctuary, we called and asked for information because you wanted to go there on public holiday and we wanted to guarantee you it was opened. We have true relationships with our guests and we would hope for reciprocity. It is necessary clients speak their mind during their stay in order to do our best to rectify the inconveniences as possible… but we can’t act on the nature and that’s fine!... I could answer each point of your comments but I don’t consider it useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at two nights and could have stayed all week. The property is beautiful and relaxing with several covered seating areas where you can read or chat while the rain pours down around your oasis. The french owners are incredibly warm and helpful and the town of Cahuita is small enough for you to easily walk. Cahuita also had the best food in all of our Costa Rican travels. We hiked in the national park and saw sloths climbing down from their perches as well as monkeys and bats. Skip the chocolate farm, however, the chocolate we purchased was not good and didn't even taste like chocolate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This bed and breakfast was a lovely place with a nice garden and small, clean pool. We stayed there for the last couple days of our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The french owners are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eme12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews