We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Encanto Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent last night here and what an unexpected surprise! Very nice, clean, comfortable, very friendly staff, can hear the surf from our room. Restaurants on premises and near by. Quaint little town with plenty of bars/restaurants to choose from. Quite enjoyable and relaxing!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoyTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    39
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
211
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this little piece of paradise in Cahuita! Tucked away on a quiet road just a few minutes from the centre of town/National Park and across the street from the ocean, Alex and his staff have created an oasis for their guests! The grounds are lovely, with gardens and a small pool; we had a studio - with a small kitchen and a balcony overlooking the garden. Breakfast was varied every morning - but always with homemade bread and fruit. I cannot say enough about Alex and Juanita - they were so friendly and helpful in every way - it felt like home away from home!

Room Tip: studio was perfect for 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docjoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a gorgeous place to stay. Perfectly sited 5 minutes walk from the village, which is a fun place, and a further 5 from the National Park, El Encanto is set in beautiful and lovingly maintained gardens. The service is impeccable and yes, Alex is as great as other reviewers have been saying. Our loving thanks to him, Juanita and the others.

Room Tip: The suites are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Encanto Inn for several days during our honeymoon and we could not have chosen a better hotel for this occasion. The staff at El Encanto Inn was the most attentive, friendly, and accommodating group of people that we have ever come across during a hotel stay (and we have stayed at many hotels). In fact, the hotel owner gave us a local souvenir to celebrate our honeymoon. The rooms at El Encanto were pristine, the grounds were amazingly beautiful and private, and the breakfast included with your stay was delicious. While there are many great activities to do in Cahuita, you will find that staying on the hotel grounds is fun and relaxing in itself: you can choose between napping in a hammock on your villa porch, playing cards or dominoes in the lounge area, or swimming in the refreshing pool. I highly recommend El Encanto Inn for your stay in Cahuita and in the surrounding area, such as Puerto Viejo. This hotel is well worth the drive to Puerto Viejo and definitely worth reserving!

Room Tip: The best hotel you can stay at in Cahuita and the Puerto Viejo area. Absolutely wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-in-Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We found El Encanto after another hotel messed up our reservation, and we are so glad we did. It may have been more expensive but it was worth every penny. Our bungalow was spotless and the bed comfy. Breakfast was delightful, with home made bread and a cooked dish each morning as well as the usual tropical fruit. Complimentary coffee and tea are available all day. There is a small pool to cool off in and the gardens are peaceful and beautiful and full of birds. On our first day Alex showed us a humming bird nest with a single chick. It is a 5 minute walk into town, well-lit and safe at night, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. Another five minutes takes you to the lovely National Park.
Alex and his team were always helpful and smiling and we loved our 4 nights here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I very much enjoyed our three night stay at this hotel. It's in a great location only five minutes walk from town and also five minutes walk in the other direction to playa Negra beach. The room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and attentive. A big thanks to Alex for all his good advice. Also a big thanks for the fantastic pizza that we had on our last night. We would definitely recommend this hotel and found it very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We just spent 5 days in el encanto, and we regret not having got there earlier. We are a professional couple with a passion for traveling. And, of all places we have ever been this is by far the best. The room we were staying at was beautiful, and always very clean. the place in general lush with vegetation (very well maintained gardens). The location is perfect, walking distance from the National Park and the town, and the beaches for surfing (we recommend Cahuita over the overcrowded Puerto Viejo). But the best was the service. Alex, the manager was incredibly agreeable and knowledgeable of Costa Rica's wonders. He was always very flexible and accommodating (and he has this aura of positivism that is contagious). Juanita was the kindest person ever. She prepared us beautiful breakfasts, and always regaled us smiles and tenderness. We felt welcome at all times, and we regretted not having spent all our holidays there. Worth every penny. Thank you, El Encanto!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Property: El Encanto Inn
Address: Metros Oeste Delegacion de Policia 300, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Encanto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto is a small first class bed and breakfast inn located within 5 minutes walking distance from the village of Cahuita on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. It is close to the Cahuita National Park where sloths, monkeys, birds and other types of wildlife can be seen. The closest beach is within 100 meters from El Encanto. The inn has four tastefully decorated bungalows and a fully furnished house with three bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, living room and dining room. Each bedroom has a private bathroom and balcony. El Encanto is renowned for the quality of its personalized service, the generous and healthy tropical breakfasts, the beautiful surroundings and artwork. Above all, it is admired for the peace and serenity of its garden. It is a place that appeals specially to those for whom harmony and well being are priceless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel Cahuita
Breakfast Bed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing