We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave this wonderful oasis”
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Encanto Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Did not want to leave this wonderful oasis”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

You just can't stay at a better place than this! it is a wonderful little oasis in the dusty, charming town of Cauhita, with a small and slightly wild-growing garden, wonderful pool, incredibly nice and helpful manager (as well as the rest of the personnel);, good and rich breakfasts, cosy pizza restaurant some evenings, clean and very nice rooms - there is simply nothing NOT good about this place (except possibly that beds were a bit too hard - but never mind). Alex, the manager, also arranged trips of his own that were really interesting.
We did not want to leave after a week - and we definitely will try to come back!
Very warmly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely, ground level bungalow - very nice and perfect for us. If you have more money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia_melin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    41
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
215
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a surprise to find such a wonderful spot in Cahuita! That was the most beautiful (and huge) room we have ever stayed in, and so convenient too. After coming into Cahuita in the dark, we were not sure what we were in for, so it was more than a pleasant surprise to find such opulent lodgings.

Alex, the manager, is delightful, very outgoing, fun, and friendly. Alex went out of his way to help us, since we both got an intestinal bug there, bending over backwards to help us in our misery.

Before we got the bug, we enjoyed the excellent food. We could not get over our rooms, how beautiful they were, and the grounds and pool also. We loved our time there.

Room Tip: We had the suite, and it was the most beautiful room we have ever had, anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice place, set in beautiful gardens. Jut off the main strip so peaceful as well but only 5 minutes away rom restaurants and bars. Great for a couple. Very very relaxing. The room is really nice and cozy, perfect size for 2. Glad we found this place and cancelled our other reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at El encanto and would definitely stay again if back in Cahuita. The staff are very hospitable and the garden is lovely. This all provides a good relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. The hot tub in the garden was also a bonus. Location less than a 5 minute walk into the main street of the town and even less to playa negra. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent last night here and what an unexpected surprise! Very nice, clean, comfortable, very friendly staff, can hear the surf from our room. Restaurants on premises and near by. Quaint little town with plenty of bars/restaurants to choose from. Quite enjoyable and relaxing!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoyTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this little piece of paradise in Cahuita! Tucked away on a quiet road just a few minutes from the centre of town/National Park and across the street from the ocean, Alex and his staff have created an oasis for their guests! The grounds are lovely, with gardens and a small pool; we had a studio - with a small kitchen and a balcony overlooking the garden. Breakfast was varied every morning - but always with homemade bread and fruit. I cannot say enough about Alex and Juanita - they were so friendly and helpful in every way - it felt like home away from home!

Room Tip: studio was perfect for 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docjoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a gorgeous place to stay. Perfectly sited 5 minutes walk from the village, which is a fun place, and a further 5 from the National Park, El Encanto is set in beautiful and lovingly maintained gardens. The service is impeccable and yes, Alex is as great as other reviewers have been saying. Our loving thanks to him, Juanita and the others.

Room Tip: The suites are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Property: El Encanto Inn
Address: Metros Oeste Delegacion de Policia 300, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Encanto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto is a small first class bed and breakfast inn located within 5 minutes walking distance from the village of Cahuita on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. It is close to the Cahuita National Park where sloths, monkeys, birds and other types of wildlife can be seen. The closest beach is within 100 meters from El Encanto. The inn has four tastefully decorated bungalows and a fully furnished house with three bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, living room and dining room. Each bedroom has a private bathroom and balcony. El Encanto is renowned for the quality of its personalized service, the generous and healthy tropical breakfasts, the beautiful surroundings and artwork. Above all, it is admired for the peace and serenity of its garden. It is a place that appeals specially to those for whom harmony and well being are priceless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel Cahuita
Breakfast Bed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing