We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed 5 nights”
Review of Jenny's Cabinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jenny's Cabinas
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We stayed 5 nights”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We had been busing around the Pacific Coast of CR for 2 weeks and decided it was time for a "Caribbean vacation" during our 3rd and final week - i.e. head for Cahuita, check out the trails, beaches, Puerto Viejo, Manzanillo and more or less just hang out.

We were lucky that when we arrived at Jenny's in Cahuita the large, separate cabina was available We rented it for a 3 nights, went to Manzanillo for a night, then returned for 2. It was a great place to stay and to come back to (we didn't stay in the main "hotel" unit, so we cannot comment on the quality of that experience).

The bedroom is spacious and the bathroom is even bigger - tile floors, 2 sinks, large, walk-in shower, all the hot water you could want. Came equipped with a mosquito net (had to be washed) fridge, drinking water (nice not to have to keep buying plastic bottles!), coffee maker, good Costa Rican coffee! and cups, plates, etc.

The veranda is large & open on 3 sides and has a hammock, air chair, table & chairs, etc. - a perfect place for bird watching or just watching the waves and sunrise over morning coffee. The rocky shoreline is just yards away and, while not suited for swimming, Playa Negro isn't too far a walk. Downtown Cahuita is 2 blocks away, the bus station/ cajera automatico 4 or 5, so it's a great location to access restaurants, cash and future travel.

The bed linen was a bit rough & "pilly", so we really appreciated the smooth, lightweight cotton bag liners we picked up at REI for $20.

We loved the sound of the ocean every night - great to fall asleep by - and it drowned out voices, roosters, Jenny's TV, etc.

Jenny, Marcellino & Sabina were accommodating and easy to get along with.

Room Tip: Suggest the separate, larger cabina, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman_MontanaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This place is great for the price, maybe unbeatable! The rooms were spacious, though the bathroom was a bit cramped, and the ceiling fan looked as if it might fall on us if turned up to the fastest setting. The bug nets were great, and the sound of the ocean pounding the natural sea wall in front of the hotel made for great sleeping. The owner was a bit mercurial, and the fact that she lives in one of the rooms is kinda' off-putting for some reason. I should add that the parking was wonderful and safe, which is always a concern in CR, especially the Caribbean coast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We got really lucky and got to stay in the suite (the separate room) for only $50. It was an absolute palace - huge bed and living room with fridge, free water, coffee maker, and kitchen utensils.

The bathroom and balcony were the same size as the bedroom - amazing luxurious space.

The linen smelt so lovely that I would literally go back just for the smell of the sheets and towels.

The bathroom is huge with a massive walk in shower - like a whole unit in itself.

There were hammocks on the verandah and the sound of the ocean was so loud it was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Loved the location- less than 10 yards from the water. Really enjoyed being able to hear the waves, but unfortunately we were in the downstairs room next to the owner's room, and could hear her tv all evening through her open door and window. Sortof spoiled the atmosphere. But it was a good value- decent bed, the only true hot water I found during my 10 day stay on the Caribbean coast, and the fridge and towels were much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Stayed there 3 nights 2nd floor room.It had medium size fridge hot and cold spring water dispenser(nice touch),also a toaster oven.Very clean.Beautiful view of the bay areas.Very relaxing at night with the sounds of the waves lapping up against the nearby shoreline.Met Jenny on last night of stay ...she was very nice.Overall well run you get more than you pay for.A nice little place close to town ..felt secure ...safe...and relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headin-to-Costa-Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

- recommended: one of 1st floor cabin,
- own large balcony with marvellous view on Cahuita National Park & Caribbean Sea
best accomodation during Costa Rica & Panama round trip

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StefanieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The first night we were here we had a downstairs room, the second night we had an upstairs room. The upstairs rooms were really nice and airy and had a lot of space. I recommend staying upstairs. It was a very busy weekend in Cahuita when we were there, but we felt that we could come back Cabinas Jenny and just hang out on the balcony which was good.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny's Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny's Cabinas

Property: Jenny's Cabinas
Address: Este Central Park 250m, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in front of the ocean. all our rooms have and ocean view. The upstairs rooms and suite have a private balcony with hammock. All rooms have hot water, cealing fan, mosquitoe net, a small fridge, coffee maker, toaster oven, and bottel water dispenser. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenny`s Cabinas Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing