We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Selva Bananito Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Bamboo(Cahuita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenaki Lodge(Cahuita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
177
12
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
12
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree climbingno electricityeco tourismfolding doorshorseback ridingsolar panelsother guestswaterfall hikeriver crossingwheel drivenatural worldan adventurethe ownerbird watchingnature loversnight walkamazing environment
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Lots of other reviewers have covered the drive to the lodge and the bungalows.
We found the accommodation just fine for the sort of establishment this is. We were encouraged to sleep under our mosquito nets, but with the folding doors open, which gave a great experience of the surrounding country. Boy! the jungle is noisy -but in a good way. Great stars one night.
Rather alarmed that we had been book in as full adventure - but this was soon changed to "soft adventure" which was quite adventurous to us at 69 and 71 years of age,.
Did horse riding and night hike and wildlife hike (birding) and also the waterfall hike and abseil. I had never abseiled before, but it was fine - though I don`t think my style was all that it should have been.
The staff were all great - really dedicated to ecological living and wild life and very helpful. The food was fine and welcome beers available.
Our main guide _ Anselmo was a fantastic help, both in showing us the wild life and birds and it practically carrying me up the VERY steep short path up to the waterfall.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCoastBritRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Having travelled for an hour along a bumpy track 13 kilometres you come across an erea of natural beauty everything here is reclaimed from the forest there is no electricity every thing is solar powered you eat your evening meal by candle light go back to your cabin by torchlight the meals are simple but filling and everybody eats the same meal at the same time all guests sitting together my cabin was large with 2twin bed with mosquito nets you can leave the balcony doors open falling asleep listening to nature as it either sleeps or wakes up WiFi is located in the dinning area which also has power points to charge you phones /tablets there are many activities that can be arranged for you

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank tiler200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

from start to end everything was great during our stay!
we stayed 3 nights, and I Would recommend to, at least, stay 2 nights! but if you have time for more, stay longer!!!!!!!
we did the wildcat tour, and it was excellent option!!
it's such an experience to sleep on a platform in, literally, the middle of the forest on a hammock. and it's a short hike many don't get scared! you can make it!
all guides and all personnel was very nice, helpful, excellent people! Harvey is the best guide you can have! also the genius who build the platform (I can't remember his name) was also very nice, we talked long with him and was super helpful all the time (and not only because he carried our hammocks! -thanks!)
they care about the environment!
have a really interesting project with wildcats.
food was ok,
and just be patient, it's quite a drive to get there, but it's worth it!

Room Tip: the a bit more expensive rooms are worth the view :)
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This lodge is situated at the base of the Muchilla mountain in a rain forest.
The road up here is poor, and our driver never progressed above 2nd gear for the 1 hour journey from the village pick up point.
Each of the dozen or so wooden cabins is built on stilts and 80% of the wood is second class wood discarded by loggers from trees already cut for other purposes.
The cabins are comfortable but quite basic and the only power is for the lights. There are no plugs for charging electrical devices and no wi-fi.
By now it should be apparent that if you are used to 5* hotels, this place will be a big change for you! Perhaps though, this is what a lot of us need - a time away from ‘our devices’!
But fear not, charging areas and weak Wi-Fi is available in the central office / dining area!
If you are a fussy eater, just be prepared for there being no obvious choice at mealtimes either. There may be a pe-arrangement for special diets though.
Meals are communal and at fixed times. I would describe the meals as good.
Rooms are open plan, guests are encouraged to sleep with the patio folding doors open in order to feel more at one with the surrounding nature. There are mosquito nets over the queen size beds.
Harvey, the main guide is great. He has a passion for his work and this is very clear from the way he delivers information about this amazing environment.
The guided hiking was great, bird watching from your balcony and horse riding were just some of the opportunities we enjoyed.
We would have liked it if there were tea / coffee making facilities in the main dining area. Another criticism of the dining arrangements is that for a place with such high ecological standards, at the welcome cocktail, plastic straws were used for the drinks!
If I was to give a TA star rating based on the environmental ideals of this place, it would certainly be 5*, but based on the overall package I can only justify 3*

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

What a wonderful stay at this marvellous Eco lodge . A long interesting journey to a lodge in the middle of rainforest. The lodge is beautiful with views to the mountains or river . Solar power and very environmentally friendly . If you want fluffy white towels and modern amenities give this place a miss BUT if you are like me and want to be inspired by the natural world and the lodges true commitment to preserving and growing the rainforest then this is the place to stay .
We stayed three nights and although it rained a lot during our stay I wouldn't have missed it for the world! We walked deep into the rain forest and were guided by Nils and Harvey both so passionate about preserving the rain forest and wildlife within that I left with the same passion and desire to see this place succeed and show case the way to sustainable tourism.
The room and balcony are beautiful places to rest and observe nature. The colourful hammocks inviting you to lie and watch and listen to birds, and watch fireflies at night .
Lots to do , horse riding , tree climbing, walks in the forest and to a waterfall . Ended by tree planting. Drinks and delicious meals shared with welcoming staff and happy guests
To say any more will spoil the surprise but do go if you can .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews