We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming”
Review of Bungalows Ache

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bungalows Ache
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beautiful place little off Cahuita center. Clean, pretty bungalows, nice owner, monkeys, two friendly dogs. Ah, also nice price. Walk to the center or to the nearest beach takes about 5min. Bungalows have fridge and coffee making ability. There is no A/C but a fan takes care of that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli-Pekka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Close to the beach, wonderful food, amazing people, tons of wild life and exciting adventures in the forest! Doris is a wonderful hostess and always willing to point you in the right direction. The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. We saw crabs, white faced monkeys, lizards, colorful birds and heard the loud roar of the howler monkeys every day at this site. Inside held a small kitchenate area, fans, 2 beds with nets and a wonderful shower too. No A/C or TV. Recommend walking maybe 5 minutes to the Cahuita national park to swim when it's hot. Eat in town or a fridge snack; no microwave. Super close walk to all food, grocery stores and beach. Our only let down is we had to leave.

Room Tip: Bungalow on the end is on the edge of national park and most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

These bungalows are set literally right next to the national park; it feels like you are actually in the park. They are breazy bungalows with sleepy hammocks on the balconies from which you can watch the dozens of resident mud craps, listen to the howlers and pat the friendly alsatian Max. The bungalows come with a fridge and the complementary filter coffee is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamoandSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We've been to Cahuita in feb 2013 and stayed 3 nights in Bungalow Ache.
We stayed in the 1-bed Bungalow. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable, but the blanket was a bit thin, so I was cold the first night. There was a second blanket which we used then. I guess Doris would have hand us some more if needed.
We saw monkeys out of our window, mainly capuchins. Something we didn't have in any other place in Costa Rica. There is also a tree next to the property where the vultures gather together every evening.
It's a short walk to the main road of Cahuita, where all the life in Cahuita takes place.
All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbinistrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Traveling all over costa rica for a month bungalow's Ache was the nicest place we stayed, lovley rooms set in a garden ,just lay in your hamock and watch the monkeys play in the trees' I cannot understand any one giving a bad review about this place its magic!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anney686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Only stayed 1 night on our way back from Panama .beautiful place lovely surroundings on edge of National Park near to beach 2 mins to town.peaceful & quiet.Very clean & spacious light & airey great fan ,fridge & crockery.I noticed they also had disabled bungalow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

After arriving in Cahuita without a planned place to stay we walked down the most inviting roads until we ended up at Bungalows Ache, a place to stay - full of natural wonder!
It lies on the edge of the national park and feels like a completely different world. During our two night stay we were surrounded by wildlife we'd never encountered before. From our bungalow we saw:

1. White faced monkies that which were a joy to watch as they jumped around in the trees and stole each-others bananas!
2. Howler monkeys which sounded totally awesome - especially in a rain storm that happened while we were there.
3. A tapir - just hanging out in the back yard looking like a stripped pig bunny thing looking for snackies in the dirt.
4. Vibrant purple and orange crabs that are very shy but occasionally peeped out of their crab holes to say hi when we were still long enough.

The Bungalows themselves are really fun. Especially if you've ever wanted to stay in a yurt like structure (but better). Each Bungalow has a deck with a hammock and a bench to sit on while you enjoy the delicious fruit you picked up at roadside jungle fruit-stands. The main living area has a relaxing vibe to it and feels pleasantly open. Windows opened wide to let daylight and cool air - also the bathroom in our bungalow was clean and fancy.

Bungalows Ache clearly stands out as the best place to stay in Cahuita - Especially if you don't mind a little adventure. Cahuita was a lovely town that we'd love to go back and visit again. The natural beauty, awesome people, food and crazy animal life made this a highlight of our trip. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and next time for longer! If you visit don't forget to go check out the sloth sanctuary as well, and take an early morning tour when the sloths are most active.

Doris if you're reading this we had a great stay and thanks so much!
Sincerely Aaron & Rosie!

Room Tip: Any of the three bungalows would be ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROSIEandAARON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
156 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
3.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
1.7 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Ache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Ache

Address: 150 m al este de Restaurante Sol y Mar | Playa Blanca,, Cahuita 7300, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bungalows Ache 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahuita and its National Park are an irresistible attraction to nature lovers. Cahuita maintains its Afro-Caribbean style; its characteristic houses, reggae music and calypso in the air. We are situated on the edge of the Cahuita National Park. It is an ideal place for those who wish to relax and appreciate the local flora and fauna, listen to birdsong and watch the monkeys high in the huge trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Ache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing