We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Stay”
Review of Bungalows Ache

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bungalows Ache
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our stay was quite unenjoyable, and unless Doris makes some easy, but much needed changes I would not recommend her bungalows to anyone. Lonely Planet's 10th edition (2012) has the bungalows rated as their top choice, and describes them as 'spotless', which they are far, far from. I believe Doris is resting on her laurels. We were in the middle cabin, beginning of January 2014 for our honeymoon. The floors are swept, the linens are clean, but that's about it. The fan was so caked in dust and grime we didn't turn it on for the first two nights because it looked like it'd catch fire. The light switches were revolting, the ceiling screens were broken and also caked in grime, and the mosquito net smelled of hot dust and had multiple holes, some of which seemed to have been repaired by previous travelers with whatever they happened to have on hand - including tape, which just attracted more grime. The cold shower would have been fine, except that the shower head sprays in every wonky direction, and none that are useful, resulting in long, cold, rather torturous shampooings. Also, a large chunk of the bathroom counter is completely detached. While the design of the cabin is great, in that it can be opened wide, and completely shut, the lack of screens means that airing out at night is not an option. While all this was enough for a poor review, what really made us abhore our stay was firstly: The periodic barking fits of her German Shephard, whom she leaves tied in the yard; In rainstorms he howls. And Secondly the fact that during our stay the cabins electricity fried my husbands iPhone and charger, not only resulting in the loss of the phone, but over a week of out honeymoon pictures - fortunately, once home, we were able to find a specialist who could recover them. We stayed in equally priced rentals during our time in Costa Rica and had vastly better experiences. We also stayed in an extremely rustic tree house IN the jungle and had a vastly better experience. The last night I counted two things: One, I was woken by the dog 12 times, and two, I received 8 mosquito bites. When we left our interaction with Doris was her counting our money and failing to ask us how was our stay.
The crabs and monkeys were cool, I will give her that.
Additionally, if you chose to stay in the area I would recommend Puerto Viejo over Cahuita.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MojoTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

luckily we could stay 5 nights in bungalows ache without booking in advance (usualy its completly sold out), this stay was a huge highlight on our travel in costa rica! very nice wooden cabins with a hammock, perfect to observe all the playing monkeys right in front of you! its very close to the national parc in cahuita, a quite spot to relax and be, close to nature and the beach. The owners are very friendly and helpful, you feel very welcome. for us it was just perfect. we would recommend this place highly and wish the owners all the best for their future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fclivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was the first place my husband and I stayed at in Costa Rica and it set our standards high for the duration of our South American adventure.
We arrived very late at night and the owner gave us the key and lead us straight to our rooms, happy to sort out all the administration details the next day (which we were most grateful for after 20+ hours of flying).
The rooms are spacious, equipped with mosquito net (which you will need, bugs everywhere due to proximity to the beach and national park), tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and safe. No air con, wi fi didn't reach our room. Shower 6/10 for temp and pressure.
Great value for money. As per other reviews, very short walk into main town where there is a supermarket, restaurants, bus terminal and atm, wi fi everywhere. There is nothing else to do in Cahuita other than explore the beaches and national park so bungalows ache location is perfect- you are close enough to town to get what supplies you need, but feel secluded and can enjoy the tranquillity of the beautifully rustic beaches and national park. Overall 9/10, definitely recommend to people wanting to travel on the cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitneyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

These bungalows are, as per my title, absolutely charming. They are sweet octagonally shaped little wooden lodges right on the edge of the national park and five minutes walk from both the beach and Cahuita town centre. Relaxing on your individual balcony in the hammock or reclining chair for just 5 minutes, you'll soon spot the crabs in the ground, capuchin monkeys running up, down and underneath the trees, various birds (including humming birds) and even an iguana. You can also hear howler monkeys very close by.

We loved it here and would definitely recommend. Although not as luxurious* as other places we stayed during our trip, this was one of our favourites - due to its charm, peacefulness and the ease of spotting the wildlife from your hammock! The monkeys were just amazing - one of the highlights of my trip - we watched them playing for about an hour!

*Although not particularly luxurious as such, they are very clean and have everything you could wish for (including a safe, fans, mosquito nets over the beds, hot powerful shower, and a fridge).

Looking around Cahuita we agreed this would definitely be one of the best places to stay and it is very reasonably priced for what you get. Don't hesitate to book and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

the location of the bungalows is very good!
near the entrance of the park & the beach.
a small supermarket and restaurants are very close.
the owner is very nice. just ask her if you need something, she always organised it.
there are a lot of hummingbirds in the nice garden and sometimes some monkeys in the trees too.
there´s a hammock for each bungalow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After hiking and touring through costa rica for 3 weeks,this place was perfect to simply relax and enjoy the beauty of costa rica....nice,clean,friendly staff, sodas and supermarket within 3 min walk,close to the busterminal and the bank, as well as to the beach of the national park cahuita...if you enjiy nature,the cabinas here directly face a bit of the nationalpark...hammock,terrace,howling monkeys and everything else is also just around the corner...the wooden cabins are nice,mosquito nets, big beds...super,we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beautiful place little off Cahuita center. Clean, pretty bungalows, nice owner, monkeys, two friendly dogs. Ah, also nice price. Walk to the center or to the nearest beach takes about 5min. Bungalows have fridge and coffee making ability. There is no A/C but a fan takes care of that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli-Pekka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Cabinas Caribe Luna
#14 of 43 in Cahuita
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Ache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Ache

Address: 150 m al este de Restaurante Sol y Mar | Playa Blanca,, Cahuita 7300, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range: £37 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bungalows Ache 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahuita and its National Park are an irresistible attraction to nature lovers. Cahuita maintains its Afro-Caribbean style; its characteristic houses, reggae music and calypso in the air. We are situated on the edge of the Cahuita National Park. It is an ideal place for those who wish to relax and appreciate the local flora and fauna, listen to birdsong and watch the monkeys high in the huge trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Ache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing