We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a tropical Caribbean setting”
Review of Bungalows Malu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows Malu
Ranked #11 of 20 Cahuita B&B and Inns
fremont, ca
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a tropical Caribbean setting”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were a group of 3 families that vacationed at Bungalows Malu in Cahuita during fourth week of June in 2011. We stayed there for 5 nights and were occupying 3 different bungalows.
Each bungalow were self contained units. Some were bigger with more additional amenities than the other. All of them had a separate bath with shower. There was a locker for safe deposit too. One of the families had a unit with two rooms. Since the place was sparsely occupied we got an opportunity to see the other units. One of the units even had a kitchen with a stove and refrigerator and all.
For us the location was the best attraction here. We were just by the beach side. There was just a small unpaved stone road between us and the beach and we heard the crashing of the waves all the while which was very nice.
The beach which was called Playa Negra was not the cleanest beaches :) But it was okay to get into the water. The best beach however playa blanca was along the coast line to the south about 2 kms away. The down town was also about 1.5 km away. We enjoyed dining out trying out the different Caribbean styled hotels and cooking.
Bungalows Malu also had a basic restaurant cabana where we used to get breakfast everyday. We could get eggs or bread butter and jam. We could also get a sandwich any part of the day. The people who run the place are very friendly accommodating and nice.
The vegetation like the plants and trees inside the hotel compound is awesome too. One night we saw huge crab walking along, one of us almost stepped on it! There were lots of lizards all around not to mention mosquitos and other flies! Bungalows Malu also has a pool but the water color was not at all inviting. They need to work on maintaining the water there I guess, and none of us (save for one adventurous one) dared to dive into that pool!
There are lots of stray dogs along the unpaved stone road. If you decide to walk along, just be warned that these dogs come pretty close to smell you and can make one quite uncomfortable!
Cauhita itself a very nice small caribbean town that has not been spoiled by tourists a whole lot. Most of the people who come there are the unpretentious tourists who come to enjoy the beaches and the caribbean lifestyle without all the luxuries.
Just a few kilometers south maybe 15-20 I think there is a bigger town called Puerto Viejo. This is a typical beach town. We used to go hear almost daily for dinner and spending the time on the beaches there as well. The waves on these beaches are just out of this world!
In all I would not mind going and staying back at Bungalows Malu the next time I'm there!

Room Tip: The rooms are of various sizes and fits the needs of different individuals and families. I would tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed with our Family for 5 nights in apartment nr 8. It was really very good! THE children had an own bedroom. THE location was very good, you just can walk with your swimmingtrousers to THE beach.THe staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here three nights during our round trip through Costa Rica. The location is out of town down a 4x4 type road. When entering through the gate you notice the attention to detail of the owners. A lot is made with natural stone and wood which gives it a very nice atomosphere. Each rooms is in a seperate cabin (all with air conditioning - which is nice with temperatures in august). The staff (I believe all family members) are very kind and service minded. The pool is great (again with a natural look). Breakfast is great with fruit, eggs, coffee and fresh juice (different kinds). Cahuita as a place small with appearantly quite a bit of drugs use. If you are staying in cabin #2, do not leave belongings on the porch of your bungalow as this is visible from the street and people will come and take it (as we experienced). The place is highly recommended for its relaxed atmosphere and outstanding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remon_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is a great place if you want to stay at Playa Negra. The bungalows are nice and quite isolated. Even tough there are 8 bungalows, you can't see you neighbors from your room. The swimming pool is really great! There is not a real restaurant, but they do offer breakfast and can prepare sandwiches, burgers and batidos on request. The only drawback from this place is that it is far from "downtown" Cahuita. The choice of restaurants in Playa Negra is very limited, and there is not much to do there, except go at the beach (but I can not comment on that because during our stay the beach was covered with wood debris from a recent storm and was thus not really accessible). With two young kids, the 25 minute walk to downtown Cahuita seems like an expedition every time! Despite that, we had a wonderful stay at Bungalows Malu

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzzpouding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Group of cabins apparently built from beach stones, and the insides are of the same material making everything very very dark. But there is air-conditioning. Breakfast charged extra. Common facilities OK.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed the first week of May 2009. We were the only ones in the place and at 64 pewr night quite a steal! Our room was 100 meters fromthe ocean( across a dirt road)
Room was clean and they came and made it up at least once during our four day stay there. staff was pleasant and help ful, but it is a hump to get to town down the dirt road, but wow the beach is as nature intended it to be, limpia and isolated. no golf courses or swinging nite life, they leave that for Puerto Viejo , down the road. Inter net is up stairs and they bring the cable used on the phone to connect it, not exactly high tech....Staff was very accomodating but then again we were the only ones there!

Long way from the park( other side of town) and no hot water but the pool is quite lovely especially at 8pm at nite. Rooms are DARK, but really peaceful

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The staff and location are outstanding at Malu. Located down a quiet road, only about 15 minute walk from Cahuita along the sea, in a lush and very private setting. We would wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys everyday, truly amazing! The bungalows are extremely clean, the pool area is a real bonus and beautfiul, All of the staff were excellent to deal with. Pricing is really fair for what you get. If you are looking for something quiet, peaceful and out of the hub that is Puerto Viejo, I highly recommend Cahuita and Bungalows Malu, wouldnt stay anywhere else if we go back.
Al and Brooke, Toronto, Canada

  • Liked — Lush Setting
  • Disliked — Have to take cabs at night as the road can be unsafe at times when alone
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
0.9 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
2.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Cahuita
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 20 in Cahuita
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Malu

Property: Bungalows Malu
Address: Cahuita, Playa Negra | 2 km (1 mi) north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens in front of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Malu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Malu Hotel Cahuita
Malu Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing