We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is like a small slice of heaven! We had our own little 'house', which had a lovely porch where we could sit and enjoy the scenery or relax and read a book. There is no A/C in the house, which is common, but there was a ceiling fan and a separate room fan. It was a bit warmer at night than we tend to like it, but it certainly wasn't hot and the fans kept the air circulated. The grounds are beautiful. The pool water was the perfect temperature. There are plants and shrubs and trees everywhere. We could hear Howler Monkeys in the distance. We were able to watch a pair of Kiskadees building a nest - something we have never watched before! The food was delicious. Everything was excellent. We would absolutely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

After a horrible night in a horrible hotel in Puerto Viejo, we spent three wonderful days in el Suizo Loco Lodge. Very nice and clean rooms, amazing fresh breakfast that is more a brung, great swimming pool to relax after discovering the amazing surroundings.

The owners are great and took very well care of us all the days, giving us recommendations but without being pushy. I loved the personal relation, she always used our names when talking to us. She too took well care of a suddenly ants invasion in the evening.

Amzing is that you can hear the monkeys and see a lot of animals in the wel cared garden.

Thank you very much for everthing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalalaBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we are staying at the Suizo Loco Hotel and Resort on our journey through Costa Rica. What a little oasis. The hotel is off the main road to Cahuita in the southern Costa Rica Caribbean coast, approximately 2 km from the city of Cahuita and the national park there. It is run by a Swiss couple who have been in this country for years. The hotel grounds are manicured and beautiful, the pool is sparkling blue and clean, the rooms are comfortable in little bungalows. Breakfast (included) and dinner (by reservation) are incredible. Home made jam and gourmet fish with a fruity sauce are just examples. The hostess is warm and caring and you feel like a family guest. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloud1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Its a really nice little place, where you can relax. The rooms are nice with a big bathroom, you can tell they take care of the place. The pool area is very clean and you are surrounded by gardens. The breakfast was nice, the service excellent. I can recommend this place to anyone looking for a good relaxing time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4RN4LD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent two nights at this small inn, consisting of a real Swiss chalet and separate bungalows (3 units per bungalow) set among beautiful gardens. The heliconia flowers were gorgeous. Our room was delightful -- cool breezes in the evening made sleeping comfortable. I liked the idea of mosquito netting over the bed -- although not needed at all since there weren't any insects! We loved swimming in the pool and using the swim-up bar -- the Swiss owner made great gin and tonics. He's fun to talk with along with his Swiss manager. No complaints about this delightful place -- and finding a sloth in a tree nearby added to the experience!

Room Tip: Our room was toward to back of the property, which seemed to provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at the Suizo Loco for two nights, having been messed around with our reservation at a hotel around the corner which no longer had space. The Suizo Loco consists of charming white bungalows set in a quiet tropical garden around a swimming pool.
The bungalow I stayed in was nicely furnished, clean and had a small but pleasant outside sitting area where we could watch the abundant birdlife around the garden. The bathroom was modern, with a decent shower ( not the usual Costa Rican electric death showers) and the bedroom had ceiling fans, nets, bar fridge and coffee maker. The dividing walls between the adjoining rooms in the bungalows are rather thin- 'sound privacy' could be an issue.
Swiss managers Daniel and Bernadette were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The tasty breakfast was elegantly presented and made to order. You can have your evening meal there, which we did one night and it was first rate- Bernadette is an excellent chef.
Staying at any of the hotels in Playa Negra area of Cahuita is considerably easier with a car, although taxis can easily be ordered. It's a good base for visiting the beaches in the area. The 20min walk from Cahuita is not recommended at night. Suizo Loco is not on the beach, but only about 5mins walk away; this beach is good for walking, but may not be safe for swimming due to the waves and riptides.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have been traveling in Costa Rica regularly for the past 10 years and spent a lot of time in different hotels, including in Cahuita. This hotel is the worst place I have experienced. I expected to find nice and romantic rooms in a charming hotel to end my last trip. That was a mistake. It has no soul, it is shabby, and very expansive for what you get (more than 100 USD per night). You will find much better hotels near town along the "playa negra". The positive points of the hotel (tropical garden, tropical swimming pool, and breakfast with eggs and fruits) underlined in some reviews on tripadvisor are common to most of the hotels in Cahuita. The main reasons that should keep you away from this hotel are: the rooms are small and very rustic; there is no intimacy because there are no real walls separating the rooms of the bungalows (you can hear the other guests like if they were in your own room - that's not very pleasant when they flush the toilet ...); it's far from the National Park, from the town and from the bars and restaurants (you need a car, especially after dark - 5.30 pm); the coffee is horrible (that's a shame for Costa Rica); the rooms are overpriced in comparison with other hotels offering better services and nicer rooms and location; and, above all, this hotel does not have the Cahuita's spirit at all, it is impersonal, charmless, and has no soul.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonZacapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
182 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
11.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort

Address: Entrada Plaza Viquez | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing