We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent service and good location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent service and good location”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Special for resting and visiting the National Park, at just 10 mins walking from main town. A+ +

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josalvmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    43
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

A nice place with kind staff, really close to Cahuita National Park.
Be aware, though, that you are going to be awaked by really noise monkeys around 5AM, but you can also be luck and see lots of birds and a family of raccoons while relaxing in an hammock.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMakyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in late June and can't say enough about how nice the owners and their daughter are. There are a selection of pretty little bungalows each surrounded in its own little garden, there's both air conditioning and ceiling fans, fridge and coffee maker (both stocked).

The bungalows are almost literally backing onto Cahuita National Park which means its inhabitants are also on your doorstep. For the entire two days of our stay the tree's in front of the house we also "well stocked" with howler monkeys who kept us amused.

Its a short walk to both the centre of Cahuita and to the National Park entrance. You'll be glad that it's located up a quiet road away from the centre as Cahuita seems quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Biddlecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayed for 8 nights in a villa at the edge of the rainforest. Howler monkeys and sloths in the big trees just outside our window. Great service and caring hotel staff, we absolutely loved the atmosphere! A 10 minute walk to the village and the entrance to Cahuita National park. We were offered free transportation to and from the village as often as we needed, but preferred to walk ourselves, even though it got a bit spooky in the dark. No problems though. Hummingbirds, Morpho butterflies and toucans could be seen along the way. Unfortunately, a bit of bad luck with the weather made snorkeling impossible during our slightly damp stay, otherwise (and perhaps given a bit more information from the start) we would have taken more advantage of the knowledgeable guides at the family-run hotel. Warmly recommended - we'd love to come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaakanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

What an incredibly lovely place to stay! Each bungalow looks like it’s straight from a fairytale and built with great care – lots of little details, rich woods and comfortable beds with clean linens. The units are far away from one another so guests get a sense of privacy and peace. We stayed in Unit 1, and enjoyed air conditioning, the use of a small kitchen with stove, refrigerator and sink, as well as dishes, silverware, etc. There was also a small private pool, an outdoor shower, a platform to feed the colorful tangers bananas, and a hammock on the porch. Like many of the buildings around Cahuita, the bungalow has a metal roof which—when the rain fell at night—was magical to hear. In the morning, we awoke to the howler monkeys in the nearby forests before enjoying a complimentary hot breakfast. The main town of Cahuita is reached after a 10-minute walk along a dirt road. The town consists of only a few streets but has two well-stocked grocery stores, great restaurants (I highly recommend Restaurant Relax on the highway nearby and Coral Reef in town) and a post office with one of the nicest postmasters I’ve ever met. This is also where you can access the National Forest, where visitors sign in and for a small donation can hike along trails to see the flora and fauna or spend time on the white sand beach in a gentle cove with clear, warm water perfect for wading or light swimming. The black sand beach – which is more remote and less crowded is about 15 minutes further. Snorkeling along the reef is available by boat rental, and guided rainforest tours are also available (where you’'re more likely to see animals). Would definitely recommend renting a car as we were repeatedly discouraged from walking anywhere at night along the dark, dirt road—and there is no on-site restaurant for lunch, dinner or snacks. Also, after one day in Cahuita you’ve pretty much seen it all! Which is ideal for unwinding and relaxing, but having a car would make it easier to explore more of the outlying areas, get groceries, or go out at night. Would also highly recommend visiting the nearby Sloth Sanctuary--where you can see adorable baby sloths and take a lazy canoe trip along the river. Lastly, I really want to say how friendly and warm the staff is at Ciudad Perdida – this place is run by a family who couldn't be nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggulalume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This was of the places we liked best on our vacation, even though we were unlucky with the weather. The room was nice, everything worked, breakfast was great. When we got there Antonio introduced himself as our guide for the two days, and he really did his best to plan the best things to do taking into account the bad weather. Cahuita NP was partly flooded because of the rain, but we attacked it from two directions and I think got to see most of it. We saw plenty of animals and some birds, also we were pleased to find that Antonio was pretty good at plants and trees, with the help of his mother and sister who both also work at the hotel, we were able to put names to most of the plants we had photographed. We also went to the Veragua rainforest reserve
which was very good for birding. Talking of birds this was one of the places where they had their bird feeding sorted, they put out bananas in the morning and we soon had some gorgeous Tanagers feding outside our cottage. They also went out of their way to arrange an early breakfast for us when we left.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2008

This one is worth a look. There are cheaper places in the area, but we looked around while we were there, and this one was a great deal. Perfect for a group, with the kitchenette in the middle. Also great for romance, as each cabin is a distance from the others. The people are friendly and helpful. The place is brand new and sparkling clean. You will find this one suitable for all. The beds are good, the bathrooms are clean, the cabins are cleaned daily. It is walking distance from town, but not right in the heart. Take a look at the photos and website, it tells it all. We were pleased with our time here. (and go see the sloth sanctuary while you are there)

  • Liked — Clean, fresh, location, new
  • Disliked — A little too far for our older family members to walk
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CGENGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
3.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge

Property: Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge
Address: Cahuita National Park | P.O.Box N°1 Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing