We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What else can you wish….”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Diosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Diosa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What else can you wish….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

If paradise exists it must be here… this small family hotel at the ocean with its beautiful gardens is perfect for a special vacation. After a Yoga course was it the ideal place to enjoy some extra days at The Caribbean. We had a wonderful suite with Jacuzzi. If I could I would life there forever…

Room Tip: For family and friends take a bungalow, for couples suites with Kink size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esafat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    28
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Spent a week and a half (as a couple) in Cahuita a year ago and knew we'd be making a return visit. This time around, however, my husband and I returned as newlyweds. :-). We wanted our experience to be a bit more romantic because of this, and were given nothing short of the best accommodations from Marcello and his staff. :-).

The room was spacious and clean, was situated right on the edge of the garden that faced out towards the ocean, & came equipped with a jacuzzi and panoramic window, giving us the perfect view to wake up and fall asleep to every day! We later figured out when biking around Cahuita, that it was actually the room that's advertised on the billboards! Can't get any nicer than that. Lol.

The breakfast was a plus; light, refreshing and a good way to start the day, when you're as active as my husband and I are. And yes... there was an ocean view at breakfast too! Lol. The hotel only offers breakfast but they were willing to heat up any takeout food we had, and you can purchase anything from bottled water to bottles of wine from their front office. There's also a restaurant directly across the road from the hotel that's open throughout the the day.

The grounds were extremely quiet and peaceful. I can't remember the last time I slept that well. We saw loads of wildlife on the property (always nice if you're an animal lover), including an adorable two toed sloth in the tree right outside of our window when we arrived!

The thing I will take away the most from this experience though, is the extreme hospitality that was shown to my husband and I by Marcello. From the efforts that were made on his part, to accommodate us in our initial booking, to the personal attention and assistance we received from him while we were there. Truly a good man. I will not forget it. :-).

(A side note- just something to think about... if you're staying for an extended period of time on the Caribbean coast, right on the water, it's a good idea to hang all of your clothes up so they can air out. The humidity and the cramped space in a suitcase will have them mildewing after a few days).

Room Tip: Room Number 4 (Pachamama) is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

If you want to stay in a calm, lovely place in Cahuita, go to La Diosa Hotel. I stayed there for 11 nights (including one week meditation retreat in their sister hotel Goddess Garden) and simply loved it. My bungalow was clean and spacious, the breakfast was yummy. But the real treat is their garden, with many rainforest plants and flowers, many animals (I saw a big green iguana, agoutis,frogs, lizards, and many kinds of birds and butterflies), some benches to watch the waves coming in and out, a small beach strip (though swimming is not advised, there are strong rip currents on the whole coast of Cahuita) and a lovely, clean pool to get your swimming exercise. And oh, did I forget the hammocks with view of the garden?
It is quite far outside of Cahuita, but there is an amazing Italian Restaurant close by, a Tico/German Restaurant just across the street and if you want to, ask if you can eat at the Goddess Garden, they have heavenly, organic buffet food for lunch and dinner.
And the cherry on the cake are the nice owners, Jaqueline and Marcello, who helped me with everything I wanted to know and gave me many rides.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christin474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

La Diosa was a peaceful tranquil refuge. Close enough to Cahuita to walk to all attractions and restaurants but far enough to feel like your in your own private piece of heaven. The landscaping was beautiful, the staff was welcoming and very helpful, and the pool and beach were gorgeous. If you're looking for the perfect high end room, maybe not. We thought the room was great but the jacuzzi did not live up to its promises. Not quite enough hot water to make it a "hot tub". But it definitely had the ambiance. The bathroom also left something to be desired. The shower door didn't exactly close but it was definitely clean and comfortable. We would go back any time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prfssrpeacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews and the hotel web site, I was disappointed in this hotel. Perhaps the larger cabins are nicer but we stayed in one of the single cabinas facing the parking lot. The four cabinas are joined together in a row with no privacy between the patios. The room is very basic with no extras, not even a drinking glass. The room certainly didn't look like the photo in the web site. There is a jacuzzi tub but seems like a waste is space to us, especially with little hot water available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. Nice little pool, well-maintained. Very easy access to a beach also. Nice breakfast. Cabins were neat & clean. Walls within units stop a foot or so from the ceiling for ventilation, so sound & light carry a bit from one room to another, but that was no big deal for our family of 4. Would definitely recommend this place. They suggested that we should not walk to town after dark, but it seemed pretty safe to me. Short drive to Cahuita, only 5-10 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Some cabins have A/C, so be sure to ask for it if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plt1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My friend and I stayed in Costa Rica for 10 days, the whole time at La Diosa. It is the only black beach waterfront hotel in Cahuita, which is a very quaint little town on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica.

We knew we were arriving late at night and the owner (Marcello) recommended a hotel to stay at in San Jose that was very good and really its own piece of paradise, and from there they recommended a driver ( I highly recommend as well) that drove us straight to La Diosa - which was about 5 hours.

Our room was simple, clean and the beds were good.With the window open you can hear the ocean tide all night long or sleep outside in your hammock on the front of the porch to really get the relaxation you deserve.

From our hotel, the owner arranged a rental car, snorkelling, horseback riding (which included a boat ride to a banana plantation), a viewing of the Cahuita National Park, and a day trip to a secret magical waterfall. Breakfast which is included with your stay, always fresh picked fruit and coffee with eggs and/or pancakes/toast. Although its a bit of a trek in the hot sun, from the hotel you can walk to the town, it is a beautiful walk with so many things to see along the way. I saw hawks, opossums, tropical birds, howler monkeys, and beautiful butterfly's as well - don't forget the tropical flowers!

Food was so easy to find, and just a short walk is three different restaurants with reasonable prices and huge selection of good home cooked food. if you prefer to bring your own back to the hotel, not to miss is the local farmers market on the weekend in town, the hotel has a fridge that we used to store our cold drinks which are also available at the office.

On the property is its own magic that includes a resident 3 toed sloth, butterfly gardens and your own private beach front access.

Really, La Diosa is simply paradise that you don't want to miss, and true value for your money!

Room Tip: We had the one with the jacuzzi tub, it had a king and a single... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderment_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
11.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Diosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Diosa

Property: Hotel La Diosa
Address: Playa Grande | 2 km north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#3 Green Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Diosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Diosa is located on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. We are located 2 km north of Cahuita. Cahuita is a small village with a lot of mixture of different cultures. Our hotel is located in front of the ocean. We have 4 rooms on one side of the hotel and on the other side 3 duplex bungalows. Breakfast buffet is included with our rates. We have a swimming pool and offer free wifi at our palapa. This is the perfect place if you would like to discover the beauty and charm of the Caribbean, staying in a relaxed and peaceful place. There is a restaurant across the street from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Diosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing