We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream at the Caribbean....”
Review of Hotel La Diosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Diosa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
summer european
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream at the Caribbean....”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We entered the Hotel by recommendation of friends. It was one of these beautiful sunny days at the Caribbean and when you pass through the entrance you see the dark blue ocean in front of the Hotel. It was amazing. At reception we were received very friendly. There are different options of rooms you may choose. We took one of the cozy bungalows with Jacuzzi. They are decorated with care and good taste. The swimming pool was nice and clean and has ocean view as well. We used the benches in front of the Hotel to watch a romantic sunset over the Caribbean. The gardens are beautiful and we could watch birds breeding, agoutis, a sloth in the almond trees, lizards, squirrels, toucans and a lot of tropical flowers. The breakfast was perfect with fruits, eggs, toast, coffee, tea, pancakes, etc.
The stuff was very friendly and the owners were extremely helpful with tips and info about Cahuita and possible tours. They organized our further trip and we could even use the phone without any charge. Instead of the two days we extended our stay to five nights and it was one of our highlights on our trip through Costa Rica.
We thank Marcelo and Jacqueline with Niko (the Rottweiler) for the beautiful vacations. We can recommend the Hotel for people who want to relax in a beautiful setting for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admirador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    28
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Nice location, a little away from town but very quiet and tranquil. Great breakfast.
Accomodations were very nice, clean comfortable beds. Conference center "Goddess Garden" is incredible. If you have a large group, book it!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinmamaAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

The first time I visited Cahuita I walked by La Diosa and said to myself 'I have to stay there next time'. From the road, it looks so appealing and the locals said nice things about it. I reserved a room and stayed for six days this past January. My point of view, things have changed, and not for the better. I think they are putting so much into their new place down the road (yoga resort) and I think they're sacrificing too much at La Diosa for it. There was an air conditioner in the room for those that really want it, we never used it and were happy to find a ceiling fan. However, the ceiling fan would only work if the room lights were left on. When we slept we, obviously, didn't want the light left on, so no fan either. The hotel did offer complimentary coffee and breakfast, but it's not available until 8:00 am. Our third morning there they had run out of coffee by 8:10 (with 6 guests). The breakfasts are skimpy. The server asked us one moring if we would like 'porridge or toast?'. Hmm. Not quite worth $115 per night. We began going to a local breakfast spot down the road in the mornings instead. Next door there was a group that rented three rooms. They had originally reserved one of the cottages but demanded different rooms because it smelled terribly of sewage. On a couple of occasions we had a question and tried to find someone. We looked all over the property trying to find one person, owner or employee, there was no one. We felt like we were more of a burden than guests. The owners were nice enough. Marcelo would chat with us occasionally, but I felt like Jacqueline didn't want to deal with us at all. I strongly felt that if we were one of their yoga guests visiting their retreat down the road that we would've been treated differently. It was obvious that those were the guests that were treated as people. The cleanliness of the rooms was okay. A couple of girls clean the rooms daily. They would make the beds and change out towels, overlooking the small collection of large dead bugs near the door every day. The positives; Their grounds are beautiful. It's one of the few places in Cahuita that is right on the water, rocky, but still quite beautiful. We saw Agouti every morning and afternoon. Two Kinkajou were in the trees above our porch every night. A pair of parrots visited for breakfast every morning, eating bread from one of the tables. The location was good for us, just a short bike ride into town and not too far from resteraunts (Bananas is just across the road, Sobre las Olas down the road a bit), and just down the road from our friends homes. The bed was big, not necessarily comfortable, and there was an ample supply of hot water (when the water pump was working!). There is a wonderful pool. The next time we visit Cahuita we will not consider La Diosa, there are plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArdaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We arrived to find a 3 BR cottage simply three closet size rooms with small beds and one window. The bed linens were very faded (or not clean) and the beds extremely uncomfortable just to sit on. We asked to see another cottage, 2 BR w/o air conditioning and it also was nothing like the photos you see.on the site. Don't be swayed by these pics! We actually drove to another B&B and luckily found a place there. Though most facilities in Costa Rica don't have AC, if you are used to it (we live in Texas), you may be disappointed trying to sleep at night with just a small ceiling fan. They were gracious enough not to charge for the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

This hotel (English translation: The Goddess Hotel) is a very good value. I paid $75 for a single. The hotel also offers bungalows with more than one room and spa tubs in some rooms. You can check out the property in a video on the hotel web site, but the narration by the owner is in Spanish.

The rooms are very attractive and exceptionally clean, although the tile looks somewhat dated. Each has a terrace area and a hammock. Although the terrace is partly separated from other rooms by a partial wall, there is not much privacy. The terrace has a table and chairs.

The owners are a friendly Italian couple who speak excellent Spanish, English and perhaps other languages. There is one other staff member who speaks English, and she is quite friendly. The other staff do not speak English and, even when spoken to in Spanish, were not as warm. The staff of about six maintains the property in excellent condition.

The hotel has a fairly large, clean free form fresh water swimming pool. The hotel is about 50 meters or so from the beach. Its section is separated from the rest of the long beach by rock outcroppings. Although the beaches in Costa Rica are all open to the public, this is as close as one gets to a private beach. The rocks mean that the beach is not swimmable at high tide, but you can swim during low tide. The beach includes a stretch of dark sand for tanning or lounging, although the area shrinks considerably during high tide.

The hotel serves breakfast (included), but not until 8 a.m. Breakfast includes eggs, bread, fruit, juice and coffee. The hotel also offers WiFi Internet service. There are no phones in the rooms. Some rooms have window unit air conditioners. Air conditioning is strongly recommended during the warm months if you will be in your room during the day.

On the hotel grounds, we saw agoutis (small animals related to the guinea pig), a kinkajou (a nocturnal mammal related to the raccoon), and exotic birds. The landscaping is very lush.

The hotel has less security than is customary in Costa Rica. The vehicle gate was not closed at night. The rooms have cylinder locks, not the preferable deadbolts. But the area seemed safe and a giant dog (at least 65 kilos) was on patrol. He never bothered us, but he barked at the kinkajou.

The hotel is in an extremely quiet location, but it is at least one kilometer from the town of Cahuita via an unpaved road. There are at least two restaurants and a tiny grocery within walking distance, and much more in Cahuita.

Cahuita has a wide choice of restaurants, bars, groceries, tour companies and curio shops. Both the town and its beach are far superior to Puerto Viejo, which is just 12 kilometers to the south. Only the night life of Puerto Viejo seemed superior, but there was live reggae music in Cahuita.

The star attraction of the area is the Cahuita National Park. This park has wonderful beaches and the promise of spotting wildlife, including monkeys.

The park's boundary extends right to the town of Cahuita. If you enter the park in the town of Cahuita, there is no entrance fee, but you are invited to make a donation. The beach near this entrance has bathrooms and showers. Glass bottles are prohibited.

The best swimming beach, one with perpetually calm waters protected by an offshore reef, is far from this entrance, however. Although you can walk a trail to this beach from the Cahuita entrance, it is a 12 kilometer hike and you are better served driving to the other entrance and paying a mandatory park admission fee. I was also told that a bus runs between Cahuita and the other entrance. Depending on tides, the beaches near the town entrance have only small waves. At times, however, there are rip currents and warning signs are posted.

You can reach the reef for snorkeling via either entrance, although the paid entrance is closer. You can also pay for a boat ride to the reef and for rental snorkeling gear. Inquire outside the Cahuita entrance.

The national park simply should not be missed. Hotel La Diosa is an excellent choice for either a base to explore the park or a relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Very quiet location near the beach.
  • Disliked — Lax security measures.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Compositor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

I spent nearly a week at Hotel la Diosa in May. This is a small bed and breakfast type inn. They have their own small beach on the Caribbean, part of the long black sand beach north of Cahuita, although the rocky shoreline separates their beach from the whole expanse, so it is very private. Their pool is wonderful. A breakfast each morning is served in a palapa style open air . Hammocks hang there and the proprieters can sometimes be found sleeping in them when things are slow. The rooms are very comfortable, with A/C (if you want at least) which you are requested to shut off when not in use. Bathrooms very nice, large, plenty of hotwater and the usual amenities. I had a room in a section of about 5 rooms that run along one side of the main building (where the owners and their son live, also has a large room for dancing, yoga, etc if desired). On the other side are cabins which are gaily painted and look inviting. It's a longish walk into town but I made it without difficulty. The one draw back if you don't have a car (which I didn't) might be that it is harder to arrange meeting up for tours, if you want them. But getting a taxi isn't difficult or expensive. Only one meal a day is served at the hotel, but right across the street is restaurant Bananas, which has dinner and lunch and friendly German/Swiss owners, and there are other restaurants and also a little roadside snack place within walking. Plus it is easy to go into Cahuita for dinner along the way at the restaurants that you find along the beach going into town.

I saw the little green frog with spots (poisonous, not that one contacts it) in the garden, and down the road aways was a sloth closeup in a tree. Really a very relaxing place. The black sand beach is long and a good walk. You can have a massage if you want, and they are building a yoga retreat and housing not far away. It is easy to strike up a conversation with other guests at breakfast and at least in the season I was there, people often just pulled in and got a room for the night without reservations.

Possibly one of the more relaxing places I have stayed. The rooms are reasonably priced. I think the place is a good value. it is very safe, the staff are friendly, and it is quiet . Like everywhere in Costa Rica, have a small umbrella at hand for the rain, which mostly serves to cool things off .Rain comes and goes, usually a predictable pattern. There is a small library of books to read and friendly dogs who like mostly to laze around the palapa. It's a good place to sit and read on a lazy afternoon.

I reserved this through Annette at travelcaribbeancostarica.com. I met her first through TripAdvisor where she gives good info on costa rica in forums.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — hard to say if there was anything really
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
171 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
11.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Diosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Diosa

Property: Hotel La Diosa
Address: Playa Grande | 2 km north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#3 Green Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Diosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Diosa is located on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. We are located 2 km north of Cahuita. Cahuita is a small village with a lot of mixture of different cultures. Our hotel is located in front of the ocean. We have 4 rooms on one side of the hotel and on the other side 3 duplex bungalows. Breakfast buffet is included with our rates. We have a swimming pool and offer free wifi at our palapa. This is the perfect place if you would like to discover the beauty and charm of the Caribbean, staying in a relaxed and peaceful place. There is a restaurant across the street from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Diosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing