We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Great personal service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My boyfriend and I ended our 8 day trip to Costa Rica with three days at the Coral Hill Bungalows. We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived since we know online pictures can sometimes be deceiving. I'm so happy to say that we were beyond pleased with our stay and accommodations. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place in Cahuita. Rooms were beautiful, very clean and the front porch with rocking chairs and hammock was amazing to relax on in the morning. Breakfast was prepared daily by our wonderful hosts Joe and Chris. Beautiful and delicious display of fruit, fresh coffee, assortment of crossants, banana/apple bread, and my favorite was an egg and grilled onions on a potato fritata (I think that was the name of it) --whatever the name it was amazing. They always made sure to ask if we wanted anything else like pancakes or eggs. We always left breakfast full and very happy with our meal. They were helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. Their German Shepard Rocky is so playful and was a lovely addition to our trip. The beach is a quick 3 minute walk away and town is in walking distance also. A great place to relax...we would definitely and recommend it to any of our fiends or family traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmylife18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the Coral Hill Bungalows for three wonderful nights. The bungalows were very clean with a lovely porch. The breakfast was delicious and very well presented. We got great advice for things to do and places to eat from Chris and Joe. Location is a short walk to a beach area and restaurants. We would stay here again if we are ever make it back to Cahuita!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912Brigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We arrived at Coral Hill Bungalows late in the evening after a flight from Hartford, CT and a long drive from San Jose. Our hosts, Joe and Chris, graciously greeted us at the gate, and welcomed us to their beautiful, tropical oasis. Although it was well past dark, as we approached our bungalow, the quality of craftsmanship and detail both in landscaping and architecture was immediately evident. It's a rare treat when reality so far exceeds your expectations!
After unpacking a few things in our well-appointed, cofortable cabin, we followed the owners' recommendations and grabbed a quick and delicious dinner at the reggae bar just down the road. It was great to get outside and listen to the spunds of nature all around us. But the real surprise came first thing in the morning, when we were slowly roused by a chorus of birds and howler monkeys in the surrounding jungle. What a great way to begin our week in Cahuita!
The complimentary breakfast at Coral Hill Bungalows is prepared by the owners with great care each morning and included fresh fruit (mango, papaya, melon, pineapple and more), an abundance of locally baked pastries, eggs, freshly squeezed juice and a bottomless pot of coffee. We were delighted and impressed with the floral and herbal garnish and overall beauty of the plate and table presentation each morning. The patio setting is the perfect way to start a day; surrounded by gorgeous, well-designed tropical gardens filled with heliconias, hibiscus, flowering ginger, and hundreds of other flowering plants. I found myself looking for excuses to walk back to the bungalow, just to enjoy the the magic of the garden paths.
Both Chris and Joe are generous and knowledgable hosts. They showed a genuine interest in our plans and had plenty of wonderful suggestions for our itinerary. We particularly enjoyed our visit to Chauita National Park and the Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue and Botanical Garden.
Although our area excursions were fantastic, some of our favorite vacation moments (and photos!), happened right on the property; sloth sitings, bird watching, frog spotting and simply swinging in the hammock on our porch, listening to the soundtrack of nature all around us. It was the perfect romantic-adventure retreat, and very difficult to leave.
Thank you, Chris and Joe, for a wonderful stay at your incredible home! Ee hope to return one day. M & B

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Curious_Mr_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We spent 6 beautiful days in Cahuita and it was made so much more special by the hospitality of Joe, Chris and Rocky at Coral Hill Bungalows. The bungalow was roomy and beautiful, the food was a terrific way to start the day and Joe and Chris were so helpful with making excursion reservations and giving us great advise to make our day trips easy and comfortable. Give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The bungalows were spotless, the included breakfast was incredible, the location was very nice(a short walk to the beach and town). I can't recommend this place enough. If I were to ever head back, I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you are going during the rainy season, the metal roofs can be quite loud with the rain. This is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Coral Hills for four nights and had a great time. The bungalows are very clean and well kept. Joe & Chris (the owners) made sure that we had everything we needed. They made a great breakfast every morning with the best costa rican coffee. In the beautiful grounds of the bungalows we were able to see the sloths, and hear the howler monkeys every morning. We truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend these accomodations to anyone. Thank you once again Joe and Chris, you are wonderful hosts.

Richard and Anna
bradyfarms@mymts.net

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I spent five wonderful days at Coral Hill. The hosts were amazing, the breakfasts were delicious, and there are so many animals to be seen on the property! The bungalows are very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Great location with lots of peace and quiet- aside from a howler monkey or two! Anyone visiting Cahuita should defiantly take a look at these bungalows.

Room Tip: All the rooms (only three!) are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: £109 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing