We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
culturewatcher
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2008

My husband and I traveled to Cahuita for a much needed vacation. Much to our surprise, Coral Hills Bungalows was exactly as all reviews said...Wonderful. Joe and Chris are great people, and helped us to book tours of the surrounding areas. We could tell that Joe and Chris put a lot of forethought into the planning and running of their establishment, which makes for a superbly wonderful experience. The location of the bungalows is ideally located for accessing the beautiful Black sand beaches and is a short bike ride or walk to town. This is truly a diamond in the ruff. We fully recommend these bungalow to anyone interested in a quiet peaceful vacation.

George and Crystal
Memphis, TN

  • Liked — the beauty of the place
  • Disliked — some of the bugs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank culturewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    23
    0
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
214
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2008

July 10,2008
Coral hill Bungalows, Cahuita, Costa Rica
From: Jeff in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

The Coral Hill Bungalows are located about a stone's throw from Playa Negra (Black Beach) and about 1/3 of a mile from the town of Cahuita. The town has quite a choice of excellent restaurants at reasonable prices.
Upon entering Coral hill you are met by proprietors Joe , Chris, and their wonder dog Lady. They are quite a team possessing the qualities of hospitality, local knowledge, cleanliness, and excellent service skills. You can book just about anything through them to enhance your vacation whether it be tours ( Canopy, Fishing, Snorkeling, horseback riding, national parks, hiking, and sight seeing). They also can assist in travel arrangements from bicycles to private cars or bus schedules. Speaking about bus schedules you can take a bus from San Jose right to Cahuita and eliminate the necessity of renting a car ( bus fare a little more than $7 per person).
The accommodations are cabins that are not only cool and comfortable but also functional with double painted sinks, floor safes for valuable protection, ceiling fans, and shaded decks with hammocks and rocking chairs. The beds are extremely spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were great with fresh local fruits, fresh baked breads, choice of eggs, juices and cereal.
The grounds surrounding you at Coral Hill are botanical with flora both pleasing to sight and smell. The inhabitants of this garden are truly remarkable from the howling monkeys, sloths,
agoutis, tucans, humming birds, and many more.
Congratulations Joe and Chris you have truly created a little jewel in the jungle. You will see us again real soon.

Jeff & Marie

  • Liked — Cleanliness and qualiyty
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Coral Hill for five nights during our honeymoon in June. The grounds were amazing, and our bungalow was beautiifully crafted with great ventillation, a very comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom with a huge shower.
Joe and Chris were extremely helpful and friendly, serving a delicious breakfast every morning and coordinating tours for us. We would definately return to Coral Hill!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coreeeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianaTheDude
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Joe and Chris are the best. They took such great care of us while we were there. When we arrived, Chris was out to Yoga..Joe showed us to our A-1 crafted bungalow and assured that we were taken care of. The owners have provided each bungalow with keypad safe access for your valuables while you're out gawking at the black sand beach and devouring the local cuisine. I agree that the grounds were immaculate. you're only a short bus ride from a Sloth Refuge as well as the happening town of Puerto Viejo. You will not regret your stay at Coral Hill...it was picturesque. Sorry about the sink guys.....

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank TheDude007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Our family of 4, which includes 2 picky teenagers, had a wonderful stay at Coral Hill Bungalows this past month for a week. It was beyond our expectations! The owners Chris and Joe Cannon spoiled us with their hospitality. The bungalows were first class, immaculate and very spacious. And the breakfast, which is included in the stay, was fabulous! It was no surprise that the couple has worked on private yachts for many years and that they bring those high standards to Coral Hill.
They were also very helpful in arranging activities for us along with advise on things to do in and around Cahuita.
Although we stayed in a couple other places while in Costa Rica this trip, the stand-out favorite for all of us was our charming visit to Cahuita and Coral Hill Bungalows!! My son actually said the trip went "downhill " from there.

  • Liked — immaculate and very comfortable, beautiful setting
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My fiance and I recently returned from a 14 day vacation in Costa Rica. We travelled the entired country, starting in Tamarindo and ending in Cahuita. By far, our "most favorite" place was Cahuita and our stay at the Coral Hill Bungalows. The bungalows were spectacular. They were brand new and designed with Costa Rica in mind. You could tell the owners had high standards for their construction and materials used. They were open, airy, with a high ceiling and plenty of ventilation. The room was tastefully decorated and extremely clean. Our favorite activity was sitting on the porch and watching our own private sanctuary of birds and the resident sloth. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The owners are delightful people who offer a wonderful breakfast and great conversation. We definately recommend Coral Hill for your stay in Cahuita. We will be back!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank BeGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2008

When we first arrived at Coral Hill we were highly impressed with how aromatic the grounds were. There are several varieties of beautiful plants that smell wonderful and were gorgeous on the eyes. As we walk through parts of the grounds up to the bungalows we were delighted to finally see our accommodations for the next week. At first sight we thought we were entering a tropical hideaway, but once we entered the bungalows we thought we were in a luxurious hideaway filled with amenities such as high thread count sheets, beautiful hand painted sinks, lots of hot water, and gorgeous woods finished to a high shine. We truly felt like we had discovered a place to which we could return to time and time again. The grounds are wonderful, the accommodations are everything we hoped it would be for a high end B&B, and the breakfast was superb. Every morning we had fresh fruit, local bread and wonderful French toast which filled our spirits and fueled us for a day full of adventure. The Hosts were available and extremely helpful which allowed us to have an insider’s view into traveling and daily adventures which was so helpful. The best part of every day was at the end when we got to return to our bungalows and would sit in the hammock just listening to the animals and enjoying the nightly breeze. We particularly loved the nightly glow of the moon and dim lights on the bungalows, it created a feel of luxury and wilderness at the same time. If you are interested in staying at a place that has great hosts, fabulous food and a wonderful bungalow with great amenities this is the accommodation for you. We will absolutely return.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank birde222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Property: Coral Hill Bungalows
Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing