We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful place to vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 20 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful place to vacation”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Gorgeous grounds, spacious and relaxing bungalow, terrific breakfasts and hosts who were so helpful in navigating places to go and activities. Cahuita is very laid back and playa negra is a 5 minute walk from coral hill. The park is within walking distance as well and is gorgeous - so terrific to walk anywhere essentially and see wildlife! Monkeys, iguanas, sloths, poison dart frogs, birds - just so amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleenandasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    23
    0
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
215
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a GREAT time at Coral Hill Bungalows in Cahuita. Joe and Chris, owners, are wonderful hosts and are happy to assist with your adventures. Breakfast is amazing and they are flexible with the menu- willing to fix you just about anything! The property is very well maintained and we loved sleeping IN nature with the creatures of Costa Rica (a sloth (sometimes two) appeared in the tree above our bungalow every morning)! After waking to howling monkeys in the morning- the beach is just a quick stroll down the road (as well as local bars and restaurants). Loved it!

Room Tip: There is not a swimming pool, but the beach is nearby! All three bungalows are excellent - have a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tlbogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at Coral Hill and had a great time. The bungalow is actually bigger than it looked on the website, and the front porch is fantastic. We spent several hours on the porch reading and enjoying all the wildlife. At night and in the early morning it is like a symphony with all the birds and howler monkeys going crazy...if you are a light sleeper consider bringing ear plugs (it was not an issue for us). There are a multitude of birds, frogs and lizards to be viewed in the garden, and we saw two sloths and two agouti as well. The beach is a short walk, although I would recommend one of the beaches in the national park for more seclusion and peace & quiet. There are not many dinner options around, but Sobre Las Olas is very good although overpriced in my opinion.
Overall we had a great time, and Joe and Chris were extremely accommodating and helpful in all respects.

Room Tip: Mono Congo is the most secluded bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Coral Hill Bungalows is a peaceful jungle oasis near the beach in Cahuita. Joe and Chris were the consummate hosts and their property is really relaxing as well as providing all the elements of a jungle oasis with the ability to view amazing birds, howling monkeys and other animals from the time you wake up throughout the day. Joe and Chris's breakfast were outstanding, healthy and filling to get you started for the day. Their hospitality is impeccable and makes you feel you are visiting family and friends. Cahuita is a bit away from the action but Coral Hill Bugalows gives you a peaceful respite away from the busy nature of Puerto Viejo and is really great for romantic couples or invividuals looking for a peaceful and serene getaway from the rapid pace of life. Their bungalows are clean and impeccably decorated and to me one of the best bargains for room size in the whole area.I would highly recommend Coral Hills Bungalows for anyone considering accommodations in the Cahuita National Park area and Joe and Chris will not disappoint as hosts.The property is well maintained and a place that travelers would feel safe and extremely comfortable. I look forward to my return visit with Chris and Joe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBryan1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a fantastic experience at Coral Hill Bungalows. It is very secluded, quite, and beautiful. You are a walk to the beach and town, where there are many activities to do. The owners are extremely helpful as far as planning any activities for you, or simply just sharing information about Cahuita and surrounding communities. The bungalows are spacious, clean, and have a "home away from home" feel. If you're looking for that time to really getaway, Coral Hill is the the perfect place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place was so amazing. The owners are great hosts and were able to provide really nice information about the area. It was also nice to see that the honor system is still in effect. Grounds were well maintained and beautiful. Each cabin was like a private oasis. Lovely breakfast and the sound of the waves at night was a lullaby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plobban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our stay at Coral Hill was perfect. For us, the location was great, as we were 2 minutes from the beach, resteraunts, surf board rentals, etc. but at the same time still allowed privacy, comfort and security. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. They could answer all our questions and helped us book our trips and tours with ease. The property and bungalows are beautiful, and we slept wonderfully. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. With all this in mind, Coral Hill is a great place to stay for one day, or for a week, especially if you are looking for a relaxing getaway for two. We must reiterate that the owners are very approachable and easy to contact. They will respond quickly, honestly, and with any and all information that you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
167 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Property: Coral Hill Bungalows
Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing