We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singing in the rain...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
1 review
“Singing in the rain...”
Reviewed 27 January 2009

No one but good auld Frankie Boy could describe our experience at Coral Hill Bungalows better...

I´m singin´ in the rain
Just singin´ in the rain,
What a glorious feeling,
I´m happy again.

Despite torrential rainfall for most of our stay, Joe & Chris' hospitality made more than up for it. The wooden cabins have been wonderfully crafted with every attention to detail that you could wish for (we still suffer from withdrawal symptons when we think of those fluffy towels and 1000 count cotton sheets...). Leaving our bed has never been that hard... although the thought of another great breakfast always made us admit defeat in the end.

We went to Cahuita as part of our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Joe & Chris (together with Lady, their lovely dog) went out of their way to get us the best out of Cahuita ... by helping us organise our day trips or choose betweeen the many superb Carribean restaurants in the area.

If you are looking for a bit of luxury and want to be close to nature at the same time, this place comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompazoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    23
    0
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
216
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at Coral Hill Bungalows. Chris and Joe are superb hosts...so very down-to-earth and very well connected to the local community.

The bungalows are magnificent! They are beautifully crafted and the grounds are so lush and beautiful. You truly get a luxurious feel as you're sleeping in the jungle. The breakfast was delicious, with fresh local fruit and a wonderful assortment of breads and pastries, and they will also cook eggs or french toast to your liking. They really made it as comfortable a stay as could be expected.

Cahuita is a beautiful, peaceful slice of Costa Rica that isn't touristy and as gentrified as the resort towns on the Pacific Coast. Rich in Afro-Caribbean culture, it's a wonderful place to visit and meet new friends.

If you go, you MUST dine at Mr. Chao's Caribbean restaurant, a short walk from Coral Hill. You just may wind up eating there every day as we did!

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EarthTones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stumbled upon Coral Hill Bungalows, haphazardly searching for a place to stay in Costa Rica. This was our first time traveling to Costa Rica and because of our stay in Cahuita and specifically at Coral Hill Bungalows, it will not be our last. Beautiful and peaceful are understatements. Chris and Joe have created a hideaway in paradise, that I would recommend to anyone who would like to take themselves away from modern noise and reconnect to simple elegance.

  • Liked — Their hospitality and attention to detail
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticomoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

My girlfriend and I stay at the Coral Hills for seven nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The photos on their website are great but still does not do it justice. The bungalows were just amazing and the grounds facility is top notch. Chris and Joe went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one by helping us plan our daily excursions and offering insight on local life. With Joe being a gourmet chef, every morning we were met with a wonderful breakfast spread that really helped to kick-start our day. With the bungalows tucked in the rainforest, but only about a 200 yard from the beach it was the best of both worlds. One of my most enjoyable experience is laying in the hammick and being distracted from reading my book due to the sights and sounds of sloths, monkeys, tropical birds and my personal favorite the mighty guatusa. We probably saw more wildlife at Coral Hills than at the National Park.
We found Cahuita to be a very charming town with great beaches, rainforest, restaruants. But most of all we found the people to be very nice warm. We felt very safe interacting with the locals and had a few late nights where we opted to walk back to our bungalow from town. Some of our favorite activities we did included snorkeling, touring an Indian tribe, hiking Cahuita Nationa Park, Canopying, taking an overnight trip to Mount Arenal our last night and of course relaxing on the beautiful beaches!
Overall this is one of our more memorable vacations and we were so glad we decided to go off the beaten path discovered hidden gem. If you are planning to stay on the Carribean Coast there is no better place than Coral Hills it not only met our expectations but surpassed them all. Our only regret was not able to bring Lady (Chris and Joe's dog) back to Boston with us!

Thank you very much for your hospitality Chris and Joe and we hope to be back soon!

  • Liked — The facility and proprietors
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Coral Hill and had an excellent time. I emailed the owners (Joe and Chris) to book the room and they were very helpful. The bungalows were very well made and comfortable. Joe and Chris (who live in the main house on the property) provided a great breakfast every morning and made arrangements for snorkeling and massages. Coral Hill is a very short walk to the black sand beach via the road, and maybe a 10-15 walk to the main part of cahuita/white sand beaches.

We did not have a meal we didn't like in Cahuita, although our favorite was Cha Cha Cha. There are a few restaurants and bars around the corner from the property and lots in town.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2008

A friend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Coral Hill Bungalows during our stay in Cahuita. Located at la playa negra, Coral Hill is about a 15 minute walk from the center of town. This was probably one of the best aspects of the bungalows. We woke up each morning to the sounds of howler monkeys and really had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our surroundings.

Joe and Chris (and their adorable dog Lady) were amazingly hospitable, pleasant and accomodating. It must be said that the breakfast they cooked in the morning was spectacular! Ask Joe about his zucchini foccacia, its fabulous...really.

The day we drove back to San Jose, we had to leave pretty early in the morning. Chris and Joe were awake to say goodbye and Chris even packed us breakfast and waters to go! So sweet !

The bungalows themselves are modern, clean and secluded. We truly felt like this was a special place to stay and will be coming back on our next trip to Costa Rica!

If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, relaxing place to stay in Cahuita, Coral Hill Bungalows is definitely your place.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aliberto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Me and my boyfriend wanted to get away from the city for a quiet and romantic stay. Coralhill Bungalows exceeded our expectations. The place was beautiful, quiet and romantic, perfect for a honeymoon or to spend a romantic vacation.
Joe, Chris and their lovely dog Lady, welcomed us and made us feel at home with a gourmet breakfast every-morning. The bungalows were beautiful and had the necessary to be comfortable; loved the double showers and the his and hers bathroom sinks were so convenient. Their garden is so colorful, full of life and simply beautiful, sitting on the porsche and enjoying that was one of our favorite thing.
We also rented bicycles and felt that was the best way to get around town. The beach was beautiful and the locals very friendly and helpful.
There were also many activities like white water rafting, canopy, climbing, surfing or simply relaxing; but whatever you want to do Chris and Joe will help you plan your day.

It was sad to leave, we cant' wait to go back!

  • Liked — The romantic, cozy feeling the bungalows had and friendliness and help from the owners
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aymeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
173 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Property: Coral Hill Bungalows
Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing