We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most luxurious spot in Cahuita”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Coral Hill Bungalows. The owners, Chris and Joe were very friendly and super helpful. On one rainy day they directed us to the Sloth rescue farm up the road which was one of our favorite highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. The price was very reasonable for all of the amenities. You could certainly find much less expensive accommodations in the area but I would only recommend those for travelers that are more along the back packing set (not me) that prefer to leave the comforts of home at home. The breakfast was fantastic and Joe makes fantastic scrambled eggs.
If you don't rent a car I would recommend renting bikes (for a very nominal feel) in town. Also, the town of Cahuita is pretty dead after 9pm so I'd make it a point to get back to your place before then.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaandbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

The bungalows are even better than they look in the pictures. No detail of luxury or comfort was overlooked. The location is a short walk to the beach and our favourite restaurant "Chaos Paradise". The service was impeccable; Joe and Chris were perfectly attentive and yet very unobtrusive. Breakfasts were delightful and the scenary was spectacular. The monkeys, sloth and abundance of butterflies gave us a wildlife sanctuary of our very own and the gardens just made you want to hang around rather than go out and explore. Chris is a master at organizing any activities or extras that need doing and Joe's enthusiasm for the location is infectious. We loved everything about our stay at Coral Hill Bungalows and can't wait to go back and say hi to "Lady".

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tramath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Beautiful place , very friendly hosts , friendly dog and super breakfast.
Maybe not the cheapest ..but worth it. Go !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpdvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Pura Vida began as soon as the gates to paradise opened. The warm and attentive hospitality of Joe, Chris and Lady made our stay a pure pleasure. The bungalow was beautiful, immaculately clean and comfortable. From our beautiful porch we felt as though we were in the middle of the "action" (monkey wars, sloths perched in the trees and birds calling). Chris and Joe were very helpful arranging activities-- waterfall trip and snorkeling-- and recommending the best places to eat. We loved returning to the bungalow each night and waking up there every morning to a beautiful and delicious breakfast served to us in this beautiful garden. We recommend Coral Hill Bungalows to any one who would like to experience what the Garden of Eden must have felt like. After a day at the beach, a hike in the beautiful National Park or after a day trip, Coral Hill was quiet and peaceful haven, tucked away from everything.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayelet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Coral Hill and have only good things to say about the place. Chris and Joe are affable hosts, the breakfast are fantastic, the bungalows nice and comfortable. They will provide information, arrange for tours and transportation, make your stay more enjoyable. When you go out for lunch, try the Mandragora in Cahuita (across from Cabina Palmer) and for diner try Corleone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brokenshoelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I were looking for an interesting natural spot for a vacation together. When we came across Coral Hill Bungalows we thought it might be too good to be true... We decided to book, and are happy we did. Chris and Joe and amazing hosts, and the bungalows and grounds are immaculate, peaceful and beautiful. The Bungalow design is simply perfect. The bungalows are restful, elegant and spotless. Seek the porch during a rain. And if you are fortunate enough to awaken to an early morning downpour, you will never forget the sounds of the jungle, and then the rain...

The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast is beautiful. (Did I tell you how beautiful the bungalows are?) Joe and Chris work tirelessly and it shows. They are happy to help with information and booking outings, and are a pleasure know. (Lady too!)

The town is very relaxed with wonderful people watching, and great food. Our favorite resturant was on the Playa Negra. There are tables outside in back just a few feet from the sea. Local mussles and sea food soup mmmmm!

The Park is so convenient and offers jungle and beach in one lovely stroll. We saw tons of monkeys, sand crabs, lizards... (and no snakes!) We spent two days there just hanging out.

Lastly, I must recommend that if you travel to Caihuita you must not fail to visit Aviarios the Sloth Rescue Center just a few miles north of town.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Chris and Joe are a truly delightful couple who both have many years of experience in the hospitality industry. They have both travelled the world extensively and are very knowledgeable about Cahuita and the surrounds. If you wish, they are most willing to share such knowledge with their guests, and make recommendations on how to spend your time.

Immediately you open the front gate, it is evident an enormous amount of pride and passion and many, many hours of workmanship have been invested in creating this wonderful establishment. Chris and Joe have skilfully transposed the vacant land adjoining their house into a “paradise” which lucky travellers are now able to enjoy. Three beautifully crafted bungalows and manicured gardens make this a perfect choice for “boutique property” in Cahuita. Chris and Joe place an enormous emphasis on “quality” and they have volumes of pride in the way they present their business. In particular, the bed linen and towels are what you would expect to find in a 5 star hotel. Whenever the bungalows are unoccupied, the entire of the bedding (pillows, doonas, linen etc) are placed in a specially designed “dry room” in order to maintain their impeccable quality. I find this enormous dedication! I strongly believe that in many years to come, these bungalows will still be presented as impeccably as they have been from day one!!!

The breakfasts are also wonderful, consisting of a fabulous fruit platter, a “hot” treat (the onion and potato frittata is divine) and a bread basket consisting of about 5 different types, served with different spreads and the most fabulous cream cheese. You can also order a cooked breakfast if you wish, but why would you bother – this is just perfect!!

The gardens are filled with many delights – we saw sloths in the trees, agouti making a quick scurry, many different species of birds, butterflies and frogs. I will never forget the morning alarm clock – howler monkeys in perfect symphony in the nearby jungle and National Park. Noise travels in the wee hours of the morning and you would swear they were at the foot of your bed. Just amazing, and nature at its absolute best!!! The hammock on the bungalow veranda is extremely inviting – it almost makes you never want to leave the property, but it would be a shame not to experience some of what this wonderful Caribbean town has to offer.

We stayed for a magnificent 4 nights which included Christmas Day. The bungalows were decorated with hints of the Christmas touch and at breakfast Chris and Joe greeted us wearing fabulous Santa hats. Christmas carols played softly, the table was decorated with lovely Christmas trimmings and even Lady (the English Springer Spaniel) greeted us wearing reindeer antlers. Horse riding on the beach and Christmas dinner at Miss Edith’s (well respected restaurant in Cahuita) made for one of the best Christmas’ we have ever had.

Do yourself a favour and go stay – you won’t be disappointed.

Heather and Craig
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
195 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,522 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
704 reviews
0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
212 reviews
0 mi away
3 Bamboo
3 Bamboo
#4 of 21 in Cahuita
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing