We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great secret spot”
Review of Hotel Uran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chirripo National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uran
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great secret spot”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is a great spot to spend the night in an outstanding location. It only takes a few minutes to reach the Chirripo trailhead or (even better) the Cloudbridge Nature Reserve from the front door. The owner, who is at the front desk most of the time, speaks english-spanish and is a tico! I love supporting a local instead of yet another American (or German) hotel owner.

Please remember that it is a hostel, not a luxury hotel. The rooms are sparsely decorated but the beds are good and the blankets are clean and fluffy. The price is affordable and Close by are the thermal pools which are fun too. The owner can arrange a ride for you if you need it. I did not have any problem with noise but the owner very sweetly made sure we were in a quiet room since we were traveling with kids. Just ask, he goes above and beyond to make sure you are happy. There is a nice variety of people staying here and some great conversations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    33
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed next door but ate at Hotel Uran a few times over a period of two weeks and I would say that the food is very good for this town. Its a good place to grab a nice meal before or after you get off of the MT. It is also the first restaurant that you see when coming back so that helps a lot also. It is true that they are not the warmest of people here but I think it is more of a culture thing than a dislike of tourists. If you want warm then go next door to sleep! Its very friendly over there, but if you like a hotel over a hostel then I think Uran might be the best chose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandD_VentureOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Why do people rate 4 or 5 reading their realistic bad comments? The host is unfriendly, the rooms are extremely basic and small, just wooden compartments not even closing at the top of the walls. So you hear every noise. It's far overpriced compared to other places. For the hike the host tries to rent you old and wornout sleeping bags and hiking poles for a fortune. Strange that the restaurant attached is the opposite. We moved out after a first night and luckily got a place at much better neighbor "casa mariposa".
Sleep at mariposa, eat at uran. Thus you'll be fine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven_on_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The location just at the trailhead for Cerro Chirripo is good. The owner knows that, so his attitude is not the most welcoming. The walls don't close up to the ceiling so it's loud (many people get up from 3am to go hiking). The showers are clean, the rooms so so. The food was terrible, they served us a rotten meat that smelled bad through the whole restaurant! If we would have eaten that, we would have spent the rest of our vacations in a hospital.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We heard our first "Pura Vida" from an old tico, who served us our first Gallo Pinto (for the "cilantro" lovers)! Was an good stay, clean, safe, close to the beginning of the parque national Chirrupo. Nothing really to complain, they let us put our meal into their freezer and we let them our luggage for safe keeping during our ascent to Chirrupo.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A very nice hotel that is reasonably priced and perfectly situated if you plan to hike Chirripo National Park. The restaurant is very good and there is a small store in the hotel that sells food for the hike.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here the night before I hiked Chirripo and was disappointed. I stayed in the value rooms for $20 which included breakfast. The rooms consisted of a bunk bed shoved into a tiny room with openings near the ceiling that connected to the next-door room. This meant you could hear everything your neighbor did along with the other 30+ people who were also tucked into the exact same rooms down the same hallway. If one person snored, all 30 people got to experience it. And when one person woke up in the morning, everyone woke up. I felt a bit like cattle herded into a cold stall. The showers were unwelcoming, there was no common area to organize anything, and the sleep that I got the night prior to the hike left a lot to be desired.

The restaurant is nice, the location is great for starting your hike, and I think the owners will come pick you up from the bus station which is a plus, but there are definitely other options that provide more comfort, hospitality, and amenities for the value.

Room Tip: Choose a private room. Don't go for the bunk-beds in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Uran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uran

Property: Hotel Uran
Address: en la Entrada Al Parque Nacional Chirripo | San Jose Costa Rica, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chirripo National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Uran Costa Rica/Chirripo National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing