We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Guarana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is lovely when you first walk in with all the jungle around it, we got a private room for $30 a night if we paid cash before 9pm, otherwise if you paid with a card it would have been $35. The room was nice but a bit dark as the jungle offers no light through. We had a hammock outside our room. The bathroom was clean, it had an electric shower with hot water. The room was cleaned daily. The staff were friendly one minute, but then rude the next. There is a communal kitchen. Close to great cafe Bread and Chocolate. We hired bikes for $5 each a day which was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    83
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
123
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of March during Easter. The room was great, it had a porch overlooking the central garden around which all of the rooms are built. Although people walked past on the way to their rooms it still had a sense of privacy and was very chilled. The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The owner in particular went out of his way to help us with our onward travel. We had just come from a very action packed week and were moving on afterwards to do more activities, so this was the perfect place to recharge some batteries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska_grobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

we stay at this hotel for 3 days in march of 2013. It has nice main area for hanging out and good kitchen for making simple meals. free coffee was nice too decent price per night . we got got a room on the main path way that was pretty busy with people walking by. our room was very tiny and VERY HOT only a ceiling fan to cool you down and in march it can get pretty hot. plus the hotel is on a back street so you don't get any ocean breeze. we got stuck next to a loud family that let their kids stay up all night and make barking , animal noises ?? lol also the shower had one of those crazy old school eletric shower heads that kept shorting out while i was in it making the main bathroom light turn into a strobe light ha !. it did have a sorta nice hammock and porch to get out of my mini oven of a room . it was pretty clean tho and the sheets smelt good so thats always good. it is right in town and is close to just about everything you need supermarket is next door and main street is like 3 min walk beach 5 min walk nice for that . the staff was pretty nice the one guy that work the desk is a good guy . however i did ask the white women that i think was the owner that was behind the desk if i could book a snorkelling trip for that day and it was still only 8am but she told it was to late in the day and couldnt even tell me a place to get a trip booked ( didnt seem to care ) me and my girlfriend would likely go back if we wanted to be in town but id rather some other place a bit nice in all id give it a 6 out of 10

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrix1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Friendly staff. Charming grounds/rooms. Just around the corner from Bread and Chocolate, an American-owned and operated breakfast/lunch cafe. The Italians Paulo and Andrea were welcoming, willing to converse at length and, when we decided to leave a day early, refunded a portion of our bill.

Unfortunately for us, we had the misfortune of being there during the tail end of Semana Santa; we had to put up with after-hours noise from a trio of American girls in the room closest to ours. The point is, voices carried a little too much for our liking. Slept like a baby, however, when the girls quieted down.

Otherwise, great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We came to the hotel by chance and without reservation. the rooms are cosy, clean, situated in a lovely tropical garden and the prices are absolutely fair.
there is a nice kitchen that can be used by the guests, laundry-service, bikes can be rented for only 5 dollars a day.
receptionist Andrea is great and makes the stay at the hotel enjoyable - he's always there to help you, give you informations or arrange further traveling.
all in all: a great choice to stay in puerto viejo!!! stay there :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annar208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We loved both the town of Puerto Viejo and the hotel. Bed was super comfortable, it was quiet (other than the roosters in the morning) and the staff was incredible. They made not just our stay comfortable but our entire trip to the area as they were extremely helpful in helping us figure out things to do. The only negative was the hot water rarely worked (we figured out early evening showers were the one time it worked) but after several weeks in different places in the country, we definitely figured out this was to be expected. The shared kitchen was great as it saved us money on food, and the location was ideal as it was in town but not in the noisy area. It isn't safe to travel on the main road at night (by bike or walking) so staying in town gives you alot more options for a fun evening. We rented bikes and travelled to all the different beaches during the day but at night was good to be in town. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and it was great, but they all seemed equivalent as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent five days here after a very wet trip to Tortuguera. At least here when it rained I could relax on my private terrace on my hammock in front of my cabin. Clean cabin with hot water in the bathroom. Friendly staff. Best of all situated close to the main drag, restaurants and beach, but very quiet even on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Property: Hotel Guarana
Address: Puerto Viejo Center | 200 north bridge 50 meters east, 25 north, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of owners charm. We have 12 rooms individually uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. Only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, safe in room. English, German, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing