We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Chillout Location”
Review of Cabinas Punta Uva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Punta Uva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Chillout Location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Punta Uva to relax.

Cabinas Punta Uva was exactly what we needed:

- It's situated in the jungle just set back from the best beach in the area. Doorstep beaching!
- There are 3 double cabins available, ensuring your stay always feels intimate.
- Cedric and Johanna are excellent hosts and are always available if required.
- Bikes are available to guests so that you can explore the area, go to the supermarket / restaurants etc.
- The basic kitchen facilities are extremely useful. We stocked up the fridge from the nearby supermarket with food which was perfect for breakfast and lunch.
- Cedric also offers an excellent home cooked breakfast option for $8.
- The rooms are basic, but clean, spacious and exactly what is required.

Overall, we had an excellent time at Cabinas Punta Uva. The location is perfect, its secluded, relaxing, the hospitality is great and it starts to feel like home as soon as you get there!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TimKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed by myself at Cabinas Punta Uva last week for 4 days.
Entering the premises you immidiatly see that this Place is filled with magic! A warm welcome from the lovely couple and their baby who own and live in main house and manage 2 studio cabinas and a seperate vacation house.
The owners were very kind and helpfull with recomodations and getting me a rental car.

The cabin was very basic, no electronics and a lovely shared balcony with a hammock.set inside the jungle and a few steps from the most beautif and secluded beach on the carribean side.

Wifi doesnt reach the room and only the shared kitchen area which is a bit of a bummer, but to disconect Was a nice experiance.

Get a car/motorbike if you want to visit puerto viejo, you wont need anything else.
Must be okay with the sounds of teh jungle - its amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillGreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a night at Cabinas Punta Uva. The staff who ran the place were so kind and so helpful. They helped with the luggage, helped us book our dives, made sure we could get onto the wifi, helped us call the jaguar rescue center when we wanted to visit it, allowed us to shower in their rooms when we returned after a full day out. You can hardly expect better service. Made us feel completely at home.

However, the place feels quite dated and maintenance is not fantastic. Ultimately, you get what you pay for. Also, Punta Uva is ideal if you want a quiet beach getaway, but do not expect activity around Punta Uva. If you want a town to walk around, Puerto Viejo is a much better option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

thank you so much Edi for making our stay so perfect! We enjoyed the best days of our whole Costa Rica trip at the Cabinas Punta Uva. The caribean coast and specially Punta Uva felt like paradise. The beach is unspoiled and the cabins are as close to the beach as you can get. Cabinas Punta Uva is small and private - only 3 cabins which make it very cosy to stay and with welcoming Edi who is always nice and helpful makes it the perfect place to stay for some days or longer.

Room Tip: - can't get any closer to the beach of Punta Uva than that - clean, beautiful cabins - Punta U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

For me the most relaxed, scenic location in Costa rica ! You have punta uva, chiquita manzanillo and arrecife all within 5-6 miles of each other. All unbelievable beaches with so much character. And with Puerto viejo 10 mins away you have a great little party town. The cabinas are clean and tidy and are literally on the beach. Eddie is a nice guy who is very willing to help and advise what places to visit during your stay. And the two dogs maki and lluna will happily provide company at the beach if wanted :) really enjoyed the stay, at for me the best coastline in Costa rica

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigandnatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Edi and Pepa were wonderful hosts for our recent 8-nite stay. We loved the close proximity to the beautiful beach, and the outdoor kitchen with the nice ocean breeze to enjoy. We used the bikes for trips to the great local restaurants- -especially loved Pura Gula and Le Refugio! One of the best features of Cabinas Punta Uva is falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves. Great therapy massage from Pepa also!
Ron and Lana

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cologne
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Absolutely recommendable!
Pepa and Edi made as such a great time in their cosy and nice bungalows. We had many good hangarounds with these to pleasant Spaniard.
Located directly at the beach, there is nothing better to do as swimming in the sea, relaxing, hanging around in hammocks, watching monkeys and sloths. You don´t need nothing than your bikini, a good book and fresh coconuts from the huge garden.
The bungalows are absolutely clean and equipped with a ventilator and a mosquito-mesh. There is well equipped kitchen that is used from to bungalows. Edi makes fresh coffee for the guests every morning. When I think about our great stay...I start missing Pepa and Edi and Cabinas Punta Uva! One day we´ll come back:-)...maybe to make a diving - lesson with Edi!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanasebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Punta Uva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Punta Uva

Property: Cabinas Punta Uva
Address: Playa Punta Uva 100mts South Rest. Selvin, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabinas in a beautiful JUNGLE surroundings. On front of Caribbean Sea. Jungle with ocean view. Room with double beds and private bathroom. We offer, relax, jungle and sea. Do you need more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Punta Uva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Punta Uva Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cabinas Punta Uva Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing