We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Great, With a Few Minor Exceptions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Punta Uva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Punta Uva
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Great, With a Few Minor Exceptions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Great location on one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen. Paradise. If you are going just for the beach, stay here. The rooms were pretty good, large bedrooms with bureau and nightstands. Bathrooms were fairly disappointing. Lack of water pressure, and often lost water altogether. That being said, we found times throughout the day to shower. We never went without water for too long.

The three that run the place, Javier, Magda and the Boss (don't know his name), were really great. A little far out there, but helpful nonetheless. Javier took me and my wife bodyboarding for free, which was pretty cool. The Boss gave us a ride in and out of town one night when we wanted dinner, which was great. Magda was quiet but nice.

The kitchen is a great aspect of these cabinas as well. We cooked here every day for 5 days, and it was fine. A huge open air kitchen with everything you need to cook a meal, so we were happy.

As for the minor exceptions:
1) It wasn't close to anything, really. A grocery store was a 10 minute walk, a restaurant was 10 minutes as well. It is not close to Puerto Viejo at all! We are big walkers, but this one is crazy. Would have taken us a 1.5 hrs, minimum! Probably more in the scorching heat.

2) The rooms only have a ceiling fan, and it is HOTT there! I was dying most nights. Thank God they are close to the ocean.

3) You need to ask the hosts for things such as: change of towel, or bedspread. They are happy to help you, but they don't really think to go out of their way for stuff like towels.

All in all, it's a pretty cool place. VERY chill, so if you aren't in the mood to relax and take a break from your travels, then don't come here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Being a young college student/musician, I was looking for places to stay in Costa Rica that fit into my teeny tiny budget that didn't feel like I was getting skimped on. After not being able to book at Pachamama, the lovely couple over there referred us to Cabinas Punta Uva.

We arrived on a bus to Puerto Viejo at around 9PM(about a 6 hour trip... make sure you make the person in front of you open the window unless you like being hot and sweaty!) and Lola, our host, came and picked us up at the bus station. It's about 3 and a half miles from Puerto Viejo and only a 50cent bus trip (or a BEAUTIFUL bike ride... they have 2 bikes for rent at the Cabinas)

Our cabin was right next to the house and was made of the most beautiful rainforest woods you can imagine. We had a short tutorial on how to make the mosquito net work to our benefit and headed off on a 30 second walk to the beach.

At night, you not only hear the waves crashing, but you also hear the sounds of the rainforest as you're drifting off to sleep. In the morning, you wake up to the sun and if you're lucky, you can spot the black howler monkeys searching for fruit in the trees.

This place is perfect and the staff is so incredibly nice and helpful in anything you need (they'll lend you food if you're hungry and even teach you spanish... if you teach them some english!)

This place is for people wanting to see the real Costa Rica... it is no frills! You get a bed, a bathroom with a warm shower, sink, and toilet, a mosquito net, and a room with no A/C, but the best views you could ask for. Oh yeah! And a little fridge to stash away your Imperial beer! I know that some of my friends would not have been able to appreciate this place, but for the culture lover and devoted traveler out there, this place is the coolest find!

Our favorite saying while hanging at the Cabinas was: It's the Caribbean Way! Oh! And thanks, Lola, for everything!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theelectricdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

I was looking for the dream cabin on the beach and I found it! Cabinas Punta Uva had everything I wanted -- and more. Cabinas Punta Uva is a small, quiet place on the beach.
Our arrival brought us down a short unpaved road and over a quaint bridge. We arrived to the sights and sounds of ocean waves and our "cabina" was right there-- as close to the beach as safely possible! We stayed in a large room (adjacent to the owner's home rather than a "cabina") When we arrived, the room was clean and we were supplied with towels. Domingo asks that you not take his towels to the beach. TIP: bring a beach towel or buy one in town. Also, don't expect daily housekeeping service.
The room had two queen size beds with mosquito nets, a bathroom with hot and cold water, an overhead fan in the room, a dresser and a place to hang clothes.
The outside veranda was equipped with a hammock, adirondack style chairs with a table, refridgerator, kitchen sink, table and chairs. There was plenty of room for sleeping, eating and hanging out during rainy periods. The cabinas and rooms are far enough away from each other that there is a sense of privacy.
Our host, Domingo, made sure that we were equipped to have a good time. Since he was going into town for an errand, he dropped us off at the local grocery store and gave us beer bottles so we wouldn't have to pay a deposit. The store had everything we needed. Domingo picked us up 20 minutes later and we had provisions for a few days.
There is a common kitchen for guests to share. Don Domingo provides coffee, milk and drinking water for the guests. There is a common fridge and it seems like departing guests regularly leave food and supplies for those who stay. Each morning we chatted with the other guests as folks seemed to gather for breakfast at the same time. We shared stories and occasionally shared adventures -- Cahuita is not far away and the bus to Puerto Viejo and Limon are close by.
The beach is visible from the breakfast area so we could check to see whether we would spend the morning elsewhere or right at "home". Domingo provides beach chairs and there are play toys like snorkels and masks, fishing line to fish from the reef, kayaks and some old surf boards. We used the chairs but not the other equipment because the water was a bit rough for play. It didn't matter since the water was often perfect for swimming and wading. There is a reef directly in front of the cabinas and it's nice to have reef shoes to protect tender, winterized feet from sharp coral.
The beach itself is not heavily populated. Most people who stay at this part of the beach are looking for relaxation and peace. There is a young man who patrols the beach to help keep visitors safe. Yes,, theft on the beach is a concern so most of us never brought anything of value to the beach. The rooms are safe and Don Domingo has a safe for passports and other valuables.
This is a natural beach -- it is not raked or pristinated in any way. You'll find plenty of algae, a few shells and lots of driftwood and other stuff. There will be the occasional piece of garbage but nothing like the town beaches. If you're looking for a tamer, quiet beach area --Arrecife is a short walk away. There are more people as well.
During our stay we saw lots of birds, a sloth and her baby and monkeys -- all from the cabinas. Don Domingo also has 3 dogs who enjoy ceach walking with the guests.
Cabinas Punta Uva doesn't have a restaurant but there are several within walking distance. There are two bicycles that are sometimes available for use. The neighboring property is Selvyn's, a wonderful restaurant that is open Fri-Sun
I booked a room for three nights and stayed for six. I so enjoyed Cabinas Punta Uva that I was hesitant to share the secret but I want Don Domingo to succeed and so many others have shared with me on this Tripadvisor site. Pura Vida for real!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Skippymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Its hard to find a classic cabina style lodge directly on the beach on either coast of CR, as I have been going there for 8 years, This little gem, next door to another favorite, Selvyns Cabinas (old man Selvyn Best chef on the coast) and its a great value.

My wife had never been to Latin America as she is from Beijing, the night prior we stayed in Cahuita at Alby Lodge, another excellent property and killer Bungelow open air rooms.

Punta Uva is one the prettiest beaches in Costa Rica, promise you that after 35 visits, and I like the no key feel, no development and afro caribe vibe, a real contrast to the gringo infested Pacific beach enclaves like Tamarindo and Dominical, though they are great for surfing and partying.

These cabinas and the property are no frill, simple, well decorated and serene and quiet, right on the beach. Not many like this on the entire coast.

If you want to escape, unwind, and be the only tourist on the beach most likely, this is the place, the caribe side is not for everyone, but in my book, the last real part of CR still intact.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

This was a great place to get away from hectic city life. You fall asleep to the sound of waves, howler monkeys and sometime the patter of rain on the roof (it is a rainforest after all). The cabins are clean, simple and rustic. Sonia, the hostess, is extremely gracious and friendly. Since it's off-peak at this time of year, several restaurants are closed but you can get groceries from Puerto Viejo (20 minute bus/taxi ride) or Playa Chiquita (5 minute bus/20 minute walk). The communal kitchen is a wonderful gazebo like structure overlooking the ocean. We walked along several beaches in the area and this was definitely the most beautiful swimmable one. So glad we didn't stay in Puerto Viejo! A perfectly relaxing vacation - we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My bride Melissa and I absolutely loved this place!
She and I were looking for something simple, peaceful, and relaxing, and Punta Uva had it! We are SO GLAD we did not stay in Puerto Viejo, which is a nice town, but a little too party oriented and a lot more people. Punta Uva is about as chill as it gets, with by far, the prettiest beaches, the best snorkeling (the reef is just feet off the beach), and less people.
The cabins are nothing special, but they are comfortable and clean, pretty spacious, and there is a great deck that we hung out a lot on. The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculate. There are pretty little walkways between buildings with ivy covered walkways, and blue crabs scurry ahead of you back to their homes. There are flowers and fruits everywhere, and we had some howler monkeys one morning. Each room has its own fridge was very convenient. The bathrooms are clean and have great hot water (without that weird and scary hot water showerhead you see at other places).
A 30 second walk, and you're on the beach!!! We liked the beaches to the left the most. it takes about a ten minute walk to get to some awesome "pools" and great snorkeling. but the beaches to the right, on the other side of Punta Uva point, Arrecife, were great, too, with maybe better snorkeling.
The caretakers, Sonia and Jorge (sp?) were fantastic. Sonia made us feel at home right away and was extremely helpful each and every day with restaurant suggestions, calling us a cab, helping us learn the buses, setting up a jungle tour for us, etc., etc., etc. We felt like old friends by the time we left.
For the price, it was such a perfect place to stay. There is no reason to pay more unless you want a much more pampered experience. There is no AC (but there is a ceiling fan) and there is no restaurant. There are plenty of restaurants in the area however. They have three friendly dogs that became our friends at the beach and alerted us to anyone walking onto the premise. Sonia encouraged us to lock up our room, but the area felt very safe.
All in all, a GREAT place to stay, an even better bargain!
A tip: use the buses as much as possible. Sonia provides a bus schedule. It only costs about a dollar to get to Puerto Viejo, and a dollar to get to Manzanillo (which is an awesome town!). Taxis, and food in the area, is not exactly cheap, but everything else is.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troutfishinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We just loved the cabinas, the hosts and the veiw and sounds. The cabinas are a few yards from the beach and you can hear the waves crashing the entire night. The bug issue was not an issue at all! The kitchen on the beach [ranchito] was great for cooking and relaxing as well as the cushion furniture on the porch of our cabinas. We did have to use a taxi for transportation, too afraid of bike ridding at night. Rustic but exactly the adventure we hadin mind.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
#14 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Punta Uva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Punta Uva

Property: Cabinas Punta Uva
Address: Playa Punta Uva 100mts South Rest. Selvin, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabinas in a beautiful JUNGLE surroundings. On front of Caribbean Sea. Jungle with ocean view. Room with double beds and private bathroom. We offer, relax, jungle and sea. Do you need more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Punta Uva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Punta Uva Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cabinas Punta Uva Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing