We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is OK not more not less with some lacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Island Lodge
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hotel is OK not more not less with some lacks”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

the hotel is more or less OK and it seems clean. It was very important for me to have Internet access but the Internet is not working most of the time and once working it is extremely slow. Service is nothing special - there seems to be a certain routing and things work in an unspectacular way. It was for sure not a hotel that I might remember too long.
For my opinion it is too expensive for the value you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Petra and David made us at home instantly. We spent 6 days at La Isla Inn and loved it. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is amazing! You can't beat the location and prices. The only negative to the experience, not even a negative really, was that the jacuzzi was actually just a mini pool, no heat or jets. We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IttyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, going to Puerto Viejo is a must. But prices are increasing and sadly the local tourism is being managed mostly by foreigners. This place is partly an example, but if one thing I can say is that they definitely work to help the local industry grow by the locals.

The place itself is great, clean and comfortable. A very nice pool that usually has not so many visitors as the guests remain taking advantage of the area, the beach and so on. It's managed by one of the 3 owners and she has kept a familiar atmosphere with cozy spaces.

You would be able to find a cheaper accommodation if you are searching for a hostel, but in the hotel standards of the area is reasonable. I'd recommend you to keep this place in mind because of the location, the local partnerships and the comfortable spaces. I noticed that they also have dorms or rooms with 6 beds in case you are traveling as a group.

Ps. Very nice and friendly dogs in the morning that might bark you a little when you are coming back at night time.

Happy roads.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

La Isla Inn is right across from Beach Break - the surfer's beach. It is a beautiful wooden structure with a warm comfortable feel. The current can be strong at Beach Break but La Isla Inn has a lovely pool you can enjoy. The owners are quite friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Petra really came thru for us when friends of ours had a guest staying with them at their home, who was a Vietnam Veteran having severe leg problems with infection. While we were staying with our friends, they had a situation where a renter/housesitter became very ill and had to be taken to the doctors. Our friends contacted Petra where a room became available for us for the remainder of our stay. Room was clean with airconditioning, hotel across from the beach but has a pool, and breakfast is included. Try Petra's cookies with a cup of coffee--OMG! Jose and the german shepards look a little ruff. But get friendly the longer you stay. I enjoyed they kept beach traffic out! and guests securely in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter not over the bar-it closes at 9 pm If you choose the Pico breakfast b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I read reviews about the manager (owner?) being somewhat gruff, but figured I would try it anyway. When I first walked up to the window, not knowing where the desk was, he tried to ignore me and then I got his attention just motioned to a door and said "in there". Later, when I asked someone for a taxi, they told him to call and he did, but didn't even say a word to me after he hung up. Everyone stayed in the kitchen and laughed and talked and totally ignored me, even when I stood in front of them looking at them. When I first arrived about 2:45, my room wasn't ready. The lady yelled at someone to clean it and had me wait in the dining area (at least she did get me a coke). About 45 minutes later, I walked over to find my room ready to go, but I guess had I not gone to look I would have sat there all night because they didn't care to inform me it was ready. I got to my room, which was not too bad, a big bed and a bunk, but there were 3 windows, one of which was nailed open with no screen or grate. I have no problem with a fan and open windows when I am there, but I am supposed to leave all my stuff where someone can just hop right in and get it? Why even put a lock on the door? The safe was barely big enough to hold my camera, but my laptop would not even come close to fitting. On a positive note, the room was big and the shower was fantastic, and the shower was clean, although there was solid mildew on the painted parts of the bathroom walls. I took a quick shower, packed my things back up, and left. When I checked out, I simply told him to cancel my second night, keep my money for the first night, and we would call it even. It wasn't worth the 60 bucks to even try and argue with him. Sad, because it is such a good location and has such great potential, is a great looking place from the outside, but just a run down "I don't want you here feeling".

Room Tip: Pick a room in another place?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingTexan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My brother and I stayed at La Isla for 2 nights in May. This was the second time I have moved to La Isla after bad experiences at another hotel and a private home. Petra and Jose have always been very accommodating and gracious. The rooms I stayed in were somewhat small but had great bathrooms and A/C, as well as a double bed and wood bunk beds. The breakfast was good and cooked to order. I also stayed here with my wife in 2009 and my brother in September 2010. I have family living in Puerto Viejo with small kids so we all really enjoyed the pool. La Isla is right across from the beach and close to town. I would recommend this hotel for the nice rooms, hospitable owners, and great location.

Room Tip: First floor rooms will stay cooler longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyDoodleDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Lanna Ban Hotel
Lanna Ban Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cocles
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Finca Chica
La Finca Chica
#3 of 8 in Cocles
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#23 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Merlin Lodge
Casa Merlin Lodge
#24 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
#27 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Lodge

Property: Paradise Island Lodge
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel La Isla Inn)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island hotel is in front of the beautiful Playa Cocles and near the forest, with capacity for 45 people in 11 fully equipped rooms as well as tours and restaurant service to make your stay in the Caribbean Paradise unforgettable. Paradise Island has room for all kinds of groups, 10 are standard rooms with A /C, satellite TV and amenities. We also have an apartment equipped with kitchen, refrigerator, sofa bed, a small balcony and table, special for families or groups of friends of more than 4 people. All rooms and the hotel includes: -WIFI -Terraces Or balconies -Hammocks or rocking chairs -Book exchange -The Rooms have air conditioning -the showers have hot water -Service Breakfast a la carte (or bed) -Parking -Security 24/7 -Towels And sheets -Information of tours in the area -Swimming pool Additional services: -Beach lifeguard in Cocles -Rent of bicycles and snorkeling equipment -We spoke English and Spanish -Restaurant service * Children under 7 years free lodging * Children under 12 pay half Reception is open from 7am to 9pm Restaurant is open from 7:30am to 2pm There is no restriction of age for children Pets are allowed in our hotel with previous request by mail or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Isla Puerto Viejo
Paradise Island Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing