We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way closer to the beach is to camp on the sand.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Island Lodge
Midway City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only way closer to the beach is to camp on the sand.”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Seriously. You could probably throw a baseball from the registration desk and hit the ocean. Our 4 nights there were definitely relaxed. They clean this place religiously! Of the 4 places we stayed on this trip, this was definitely the cleanest. If you stay here, definitely plan on renting a bike or golf cart. Though its situated perfectly on cocles beach, you're about a 15 minute walk from town on the jungle trail. The restaurant at the Inn is good, but there is much better food to be had in Puerto Viejo or Manzinillo if you are mobile. Oh and the two massive german shepherds that greet you when you check in make you feel safe at night!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all4megrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

this hotel was great.. the only draw back was there was no pool when I was there. BUT they are in fact putting a pool in now. this hotel is right across from the beach. The staff is helpful and friendly, the room was very nice. The breakfast that comes with your room is very good, you get a choice of 3 different meals. They are closed for dinner so you will need to go to town which is a little bit of a walk at night. But they will call a taxi for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparksdaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2009

A group of 18 of us who just graduated from college decided literally last minute (b/c of swine flu in mx) to visit costa rica for about 1 week. Boy, Can I say......there are NO regrets. We stayed at laisla inn for 3 nights. I must say...they catered us to our every need. ASK FOR MS. PEDRA OR MR. JOSE.
1.Food: A must: Banana pancake, red snapper at laislainn. The local food around the area are alright. Beans and rice (Pinto) are costa rica's main dish.
2.Room: Very clean. Remember you are in the forest area. There will be bugs creeping around. You might see a few crabs crawling around, too! Cleaning service was excellent. They refused to take tip. Put it in the jar box by the kitchen area.
3. Beach: You cross a small road to get there. It is beach view with nice waves (surfing water)
4. Puerto Viejo: The town itself is unique. Jamaican. Lots of flea markets and fruits.
5.Excurison: A group of 18 of us booked through geckotrailadventures.com or bananaazul.com. We did white water rafting, volcano hike, horseback riding,waterfalls, canopy and zip lining, bike ridings throughout the rainforest. Ask for Ms. Nina.
HAVE FUN ON THE TRIP. COSTA RICA IS A BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY. A MUST VISIT AT LEAST ONCE IN YOUR LIFETIME!!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, FL
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is the nicest hotel on this stretch of beach. It has all the comforts of home and right across from beach. I especially enjoyed the dogs and cats that are there. They made the stay much nicer as did the people who own/work there. I hope to return. Thank You

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fantasia424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We should have written this review a long time ago. But when you find a quiet gem of a place like this, sometimes you're reluctant to share it! Selfish, I know, but this place is so wonderful we just know it will get busier and busier! If you are looking for a quiet, rustic retreat with a fantastic staff and an incredible beach, look no further.

La Isla Inn sits right on the gorgeous Cocles Beach. It's quite and beautiful. We have been there many, many times over the last several years and have enjoyed all it has to offer. If you are into surfing go in January or February. If you want to snorkel -- we've been there in September and October and the water was like glass. The location is perfect. You are on the best beach in the area and the only beach with a lifeguard. You are an easy bike or scooter ride into Puerto Viejo (you can walk too, but's too much walking for me) for shopping and a huge selection of restaurants offering choices from all over the world. The best snorkeling and some of the best reef we have seen is just a short drive down to Punta Uva.

The accommodations can't be beat. The hotel is just gorgeous -- lots of native wood. Most of it was built by the owner himself, Jose. I have been in hotels all across the US and I have never been anywhere as clean as this place. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. Most of them could comfortably accommodate a family. The kids will love the bunk beds that look like something from a Flintstones cartoon -- cool! The plumbing does leave a little to be desired, but such is the case everywhere in the area (most of Costa Rica actually). There is plenty of nice hot water though - so no worries there. We always pay extra and spring for the AC -- I couldn't imagine doing without it in the hotter months, but I know a lot of people say they are just fine without it. They do provide fans, but be aware that there are no screens in the windows. Also be aware that they provide soap, but no shampoo - so stop at one of the stores on your way in and grab a little bottle. The entire property is fenced and there is 24 hour security, so you can rest feeling very safe.

The restaurant at the inn is wonderful as well. Breakfast is free and you won't want to miss it. The fresh fruit is amazing. The fresh baked bread is delicious and the banana pancakes are really yummy. My husband loves the classic Tico breakfast. We have also had lunch and dinner there and found the food to be fabulous, but a bit expensive. Worth dining there for a treat, but we usually have dinner in town. Be aware also that Petra sometimes closes the restaurant at dinner during the slower seasons and also one night a week to give the cook a night off -- so if you're planning dinner there, make sure to check to see if they'll be serving that night. If not, no worries just walk two doors down for delicious italian!

The real treasure at La Isla Inn is the staff. The owners, Petra and Jose, are simply wonderful. Petra is from Germany and Jose is a Tico (local). They are incredibly helpful and wonderfully kind. Over our years of going there we have come to think of them as treasured friends. Jose is a wealth of knowledge about local plants -- I had a very upset stomach one night and he fixed me a delicious tea from fresh leaves from the yard that fixed me right up - no charge of course. Petra kindly opens her kitchen to us after we go out fishing -- we always enjoy sharing our fresh catch with them and the staff. A review of the staff wouldn't be complete without mention of Caleb -- he's awesome -- a local who knows where everything is and is so willing to help in any way he can. And of course we can't go without mentioning the real stars of the La Isla "family" - the dogs. There are two gorgeous german shepherds that roam the property. Don't worry, they are extremely polite and will not bother you at all -- they do enjoy a scratch though!

This is simply a little corner of paradise -- there's just no other way to describe it. If you are going to the Puerto Viejo area - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica, most of which was spent in the southern Caribbean coastal town of Puerto Viejo. I selected La Isla Inn as our hotel after literally hours and hours spent on-line looking for the perfect place – we had no idea what part of Costa Rica we wanted to visit, much less where to stay, and there are so many different places, it was a bit overwhelming. We both love the beach and wanted to be located ocean front in a small hotel or bed and breakfast. I was nervous about staying at La Isla, not really knowing what to expect when we got there. How lucky we were to find such a wonderful place!

The hotel is right on the little road which runs from Puerto Viejo (about a mile north of the hotel) to Manzanillo. The road sits between the hotel and the beautiful white-sand beach called Playa Cocles, but for all practical purposes the hotel is right on the ocean. Traffic is leisurely, sporadic and slow moving, in large part due to the uneven paving and large number of potholes, with many more pedestrians, bicycles and motorbikes than cars. Playa Cocles is a popular surfing beach, with a great beach break that is usually active from December through March. The waves while we were there in mid-December were big and powerful and surfboards were available for rent right on the beach. There is also a lifeguard stand with two lifeguards on the beach just in front of La Isla Inn.

All of the rooms at this cozy and well-constructed hotel are unique – some are set up to sleep four or more people, others just sleep two, and there is also an apartment that can be booked that includes a small kitchen. Rooms in building one all directly face the ocean, with pleasant sitting areas, benches and hammocks. All of the rooms in the second building, just behind the first, have beautiful patio furniture and several of these also have ocean views. The hotel has wireless internet service, and I also had good cellphone service. But the thing that really makes La Isla special is the love that the owners, Petra and Jose, put into it, and the hard work they do to make sure that guests feel comfortable and at ease.

We stayed in room four on the second floor in the main building. It was small but very clean with native wood floors, walls and ceiling, three windows out three sides of the room along with a handmade double bed and hardwood furniture. The ceiling is high and despite the darkness of the wood in the room, it felt open and airy. Some of the rooms have air conditioning and others do not. Ours did and it worked very well, although we hardly used it. And as another reviewer noted, the entire hotel is kept spotless, and the rooms are meticulously serviced every day.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and there are four different ones to choose from. Each was excellent, as was the rich Costa Rican coffee. The hotel also serves delicious lunches. All the ingredients that are used in the open kitchen are fresh and homemade and the menu is big and varied. It is an easy walk (or a cheap taxi ride) into town where there are lots of different restaurants and bars. Walking south from the hotel, there is also a very nice little grocery store, as well as quite a few restaurants.

Our entire trip to Costa Rica, which ended up being much less expensive than we budgeted, was just amazing and we did not want to leave. We are already planning our next trip to Puerto Viejo and La Isla Inn (this time to include our kids).

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort and congeniality
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank azsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Just returned from Puerto Viejo having stayed at the Isla Inn for three nights. I can hightly recommend this place. I had originally wanted to stay at another hotel but it was completely booked as were most of the other hotels. My cab driver suggested I stay at the Isla Inn. Having little options, I decided to try it. The place has been lovingly built , and in some cases remodeled, by it's owners Petra, a German lady, and her Costa Rican husband. The furniture is handmade on site. The rooms were a bit on the dark side due to the natural dark wood panelling. My room had a queen bed, bunk beds, ac and a tv. The rooms and the hotel were spotless. A staff of ladies clean and reclean the hotel all day long (literally the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at especially the cleanest beach hotel). The rooms come with breakfast that is delicious. All of their food is delicious. The staff is friendly and the mother-in-law wonderful.

My one complaint is the receiptionist. When Petra is not around, another young girl works the front desk and she is dense and borders on being rude. Luckily, you don't have to deal with her for the majority of your stay.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — dark wood panelling
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarciaSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laislainn, Dueña at Paradise Island Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2009
Indeed during six weeks we had a recepcionista which did not know very well how to take care of the guests and this reason, among others, caused that she stopped working for La Isla Inn. At the end of August a new receptionist started working with us, and therefore the area of Reservations and Reception of our Hote has improved very much. I would like to thank you all for your commentaries and opinions, they are very important for us and valuable because they help us to improve our Quality and Service which worries us, It is in our hearts to make our guests feel very comfortable and very wellcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Lanna Ban Hotel
Lanna Ban Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cocles
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Finca Chica
La Finca Chica
#3 of 8 in Cocles
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#23 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Merlin Lodge
Casa Merlin Lodge
#24 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
#27 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Lodge

Property: Paradise Island Lodge
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel La Isla Inn)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island hotel is in front of the beautiful Playa Cocles and near the forest, with capacity for 45 people in 11 fully equipped rooms as well as tours and restaurant service to make your stay in the Caribbean Paradise unforgettable. Paradise Island has room for all kinds of groups, 10 are standard rooms with A /C, satellite TV and amenities. We also have an apartment equipped with kitchen, refrigerator, sofa bed, a small balcony and table, special for families or groups of friends of more than 4 people. All rooms and the hotel includes: -WIFI -Terraces Or balconies -Hammocks or rocking chairs -Book exchange -The Rooms have air conditioning -the showers have hot water -Service Breakfast a la carte (or bed) -Parking -Security 24/7 -Towels And sheets -Information of tours in the area -Swimming pool Additional services: -Beach lifeguard in Cocles -Rent of bicycles and snorkeling equipment -We spoke English and Spanish -Restaurant service * Children under 7 years free lodging * Children under 12 pay half Reception is open from 7am to 9pm Restaurant is open from 7:30am to 2pm There is no restriction of age for children Pets are allowed in our hotel with previous request by mail or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Isla Puerto Viejo
Paradise Island Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing