We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite spot in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Island Lodge
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We have stayed at La Isla several times and always return. This time we stayed for two weeks and were not disappointed. As a matter of fact, we were pleased to find the only thing we thought the place was lacking - a swimming pool has been added!

If you're looking for a posh resort -- don't bother with any of the hotels on the Caribbean side. Go to the Pacific side where lots of huge, overpriced resorts exist. But if you're looking for a tranquil piece of paradise, this is your place! La Isla is perfectly located within walking distance of Puerto Viejo, but far enough away from the town to be quiet. There is a great restaurant at the hotel, or walk two doors down for pizza and italian at Totem.

The inn is rustic - constructed of natural woods. All of the furniture is hand made. The beds are comfortable. The cleaning staff is amazing - you won't find a cleaner hotel. Keep in mind this is a tropical climate - if you want cool comfort spring the extra cash for A/C. I have read a couple of posts about the plumbing... it is true the water pressure is probably the only thing in this hotel that is a bit lacking. But it is the same everywhere in Puerto Viejo. The area is not well-developed -- exactly what makes it so wonderful.

The staff is exceptional. The owners, Petra and Jose, are friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make your vacation relaxing. This is also a very secure hotel with security 24/7. And the beach in front of the hotel is the only one with a lifeguard on duty.

If you want a peaceful, relaxing place for a beach vacation - this is it!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaVa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2010

Me and my wife were in la isla for 7 nights, coming from bocas del toro (we also loved it) we were expecting big things in puerto viejo, and these were fulfilled:

1 - location - the hotel is meters away from cocles beach (one of our favorite ones at puerto), if you will stay at punta uva or manzanillo you need a car to get into town, otherwise staying at cocles you are just a 10 minute walk from it.

2 - clean and comfortable - the hotel is builded nicely with lots of wood all over the place, making you feel more inside the forest. beds give you a nice rest. the food there is great and there is a refreshing swimming pool.

3 - jose - the owner was great with us, we had nice conversations every day after we finished our day, he is always suggesting things to do (and organizing), he also has the coolest dogs in puerto.

the whole experience was peaceful and just what we needed. not to mention it was one of the few ones with private security at night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel based on reviews on this site. We were disappointed with the room. It offered no frills and was stifling hot. We got the room with the fan thinking it would include a ceiling fan. There was an old, barely oscillating fan in our room. Moreover, the water pressure in the shower left a lot to be desired. I would not recommend this hotel. There were a lot of nicer hotels near Punta Uva

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashamh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Seriously. You could probably throw a baseball from the registration desk and hit the ocean. Our 4 nights there were definitely relaxed. They clean this place religiously! Of the 4 places we stayed on this trip, this was definitely the cleanest. If you stay here, definitely plan on renting a bike or golf cart. Though its situated perfectly on cocles beach, you're about a 15 minute walk from town on the jungle trail. The restaurant at the Inn is good, but there is much better food to be had in Puerto Viejo or Manzinillo if you are mobile. Oh and the two massive german shepherds that greet you when you check in make you feel safe at night!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all4megrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

this hotel was great.. the only draw back was there was no pool when I was there. BUT they are in fact putting a pool in now. this hotel is right across from the beach. The staff is helpful and friendly, the room was very nice. The breakfast that comes with your room is very good, you get a choice of 3 different meals. They are closed for dinner so you will need to go to town which is a little bit of a walk at night. But they will call a taxi for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparksdaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

A group of 18 of us who just graduated from college decided literally last minute (b/c of swine flu in mx) to visit costa rica for about 1 week. Boy, Can I say......there are NO regrets. We stayed at laisla inn for 3 nights. I must say...they catered us to our every need. ASK FOR MS. PEDRA OR MR. JOSE.
1.Food: A must: Banana pancake, red snapper at laislainn. The local food around the area are alright. Beans and rice (Pinto) are costa rica's main dish.
2.Room: Very clean. Remember you are in the forest area. There will be bugs creeping around. You might see a few crabs crawling around, too! Cleaning service was excellent. They refused to take tip. Put it in the jar box by the kitchen area.
3. Beach: You cross a small road to get there. It is beach view with nice waves (surfing water)
4. Puerto Viejo: The town itself is unique. Jamaican. Lots of flea markets and fruits.
5.Excurison: A group of 18 of us booked through geckotrailadventures.com or bananaazul.com. We did white water rafting, volcano hike, horseback riding,waterfalls, canopy and zip lining, bike ridings throughout the rainforest. Ask for Ms. Nina.
HAVE FUN ON THE TRIP. COSTA RICA IS A BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY. A MUST VISIT AT LEAST ONCE IN YOUR LIFETIME!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is the nicest hotel on this stretch of beach. It has all the comforts of home and right across from beach. I especially enjoyed the dogs and cats that are there. They made the stay much nicer as did the people who own/work there. I hope to return. Thank You

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fantasia424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,063 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Isla Inn
Hotel La Isla Inn
#37 of 55 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Lodge

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel La Isla Inn)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island hotel is in front of the beautiful Playa Cocles and near the forest, with capacity for 45 people in 11 fully equipped rooms as well as tours and restaurant service to make your stay in the Caribbean Paradise unforgettable. Paradise Island has room for all kinds of groups, 10 are standard rooms with A /C, satellite TV and amenities. We also have an apartment equipped with kitchen, refrigerator, sofa bed, a small balcony and table, special for families or groups of friends of more than 4 people. All rooms and the hotel includes: -WIFI -Terraces Or balconies -Hammocks or rocking chairs -Book exchange -The Rooms have air conditioning -the showers have hot water -Service Breakfast a la carte (or bed) -Parking -Security 24/7 -Towels And sheets -Information of tours in the area -Swimming pool Additional services: -Beach lifeguard in Cocles -Rent of bicycles and snorkeling equipment -We spoke English and Spanish -Restaurant service * Children under 7 years free lodging * Children under 12 pay half Reception is open from 7am to 9pm Restaurant is open from 7:30am to 2pm There is no restriction of age for children Pets are allowed in our hotel with previous request by mail or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Isla Puerto Viejo
Paradise Island Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing