We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice. Worth trying your luck here first!”
Review of Pagalu Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pagalu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

30 dollars for double with bathroom, 26 dollars for double with shared bathroom and 12 dollars for a dorm. No breakfast but a decent kitchen.
We just got a double room and it was nice. Price is not super cheap but the alternatives for a similar price in puerto viejo don't look half as good. They don't take bookings in advance so you will need to try your luck but they had a few rooms available when we arrived. Also puerto viejo is tiny so if they don't have space, it's only a short walk from everything else.
We found the food in puerto viejo really overpriced so it was nice using the kitchen (and there is a supermarket over the road). Also very informative and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewisewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I really loved this hostel!
We were in a double room with shared bathroom.
The room had been cleaned for every day.
The kitchen and bathroom were well maintained.
The communal area is great.
Loved to stay there and will definitely recommend it!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shira_l_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was really happy with this place. The common area was spacious and open, in between the common area and private rooms were big trees. We got a private double room with shared bathroom - room was clean and tidy. It's a good location, not a party hostel, but everyone who wanted to go out just headed out to the bars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pagalu is a nice modern hostel, a nice place to relax, not a party hostel. It's located very near the center of Puerto Viejo, so everything is within easy walking distance. There's a supermarket across the street and a great restaurant right around the corner.

It's a pretty modern place. Nice dorm rooms, mine only had 4 beds (two bunks), I'm not sure about the rest. Each bed has a charging outlet and a night light. The beds are clean and comfortable.

There is a nice large common area, though I mostly saw people eating, reading, and smart-phoning there, as opposed to being social. That might say more about the people that were staying there at the time though, rather than the hostel itself. There's a pretty nice kitchen attached to the common area. They have oil, salt, etc. available for everyone to use so you don't have to buy that stuff. They also have water refills, 500ml (16oz) for 100 colones, which is about 18 cents. Cheaper than the supermarket.

The facility seems secure, with a gate that they buzz you through. The rooms have giant lockers plenty big for a backpack, and they have a built-in lock. The desk staff are usually friendly, and always helpful. They were happy to point me to a good restaurant, the nearest ATM, etc.

Overall quite a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying in Pagalu Hostel, wich is actually the best hostel I've been in all Costa Rica! The place is really clean, the commun space big and bright with a kitchen open all day long and full equiped, they even provide all the basic as salt, oil, spices, coffe,......The hot showers are just great , and the four beds dorms are quiet, equiped with fan ,reading lamp and huge locker. Most of all, the staff and the owner are really helpfull and genuinly kind, they give you good and neutral informations with a smile and share their good mood. I will definitly go back there and recommand it.
Giu

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in a private double with a shared bathroom and really have no complaints. Amenities are all close by, having the water refills is very useful too. The shared area is really nice and allowed everyone to be really sociable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. Bare in mind that they like it to be quiet after 11pm but there are plenty of places to go to in town so it isnt a problem. If I had any complaint it would be to request a mirror in the room as some mornings there were several people gathered around one trying to apply suncream, but that is a very petty request! would definitely recommend Pagalu to anyone visiting Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunprecedented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hostel and especially excellent stuff! We stayed there for 5 nights and we don't have anything bad to say. Very very clean, great shower and very comfortable rooms! The stuff is amazing helping with everything you need!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#3 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagalu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagalu Hostel

Address: Av. 69, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 121-7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this nice cozy hostel. Choose between Dorms, Singles and Doubles in in a good central part of town. The bus station, supermarket, restaurants and bars are within two blocks from the hostel as is the beach! Enjoy free internet, free coffee & tee, hot showers, nice common areas and great beds. Lockers are included with the dorms! Discover the Caribbean side of Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pagalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Pagalu Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing