We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down my favorite Hostel EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocking J's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocking J's
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hands down my favorite Hostel EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Rocking J's was by far the highlight hostel of my trip to Costa Rica. If you want unique, fun, interesting, exciting and welcoming then this is the place for you. Every inch was decorated in a unique way. You can even do your own mosaic! My bf and I stayed in the observatory and it was seriously like being a kid again. Who wouldnt want stay in treehouse like place? Having the hammock in there and 360 views of the entire hostel was the best part. Some of my favorite memories of this trip was staying here. J was always around. He was friendly and easy to talk to and was always part of the fun. I can only hope to visit again someday. My only regret is not staying longer. I couldnt believe anyone rated this place poorly. I can only guess that they are too old to enjoy awesome things or they require 5 star accomodations, in which case you shouldnt be staying at a hostel. You will never find another place like this one. DO NOT MISS!

Room Tip: Stay in the observatory! You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    135
    94
    60
    59
See reviews for
5
80
104
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was honestly skeptical about coming here after reading reviews but decided to try it out. This place is absolutely amazing. I just went back a second time to Puerto Viejo to the same hostel. We stayed in the hammocks which is one of the fun and cheap options which includes a locker. Everyone there is friendly and the bar serves the best coco locos in the world. There are three times for happy hour so make sure to take advantage of that. Honestly there is nothing bad I can say, if you're looking for a cheap, fun hostel in Puerto Viejo this is the place to stay and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Only spent a night here, rushing through costa rica but it was very cool and alternative hostel.. Massive massive place with lots of room, beach access, lots of bathrooms and a hot shower which was awesome! Power went out in the whole town but lots of candles by the bar kept it open, still serving food aswell.. So full credit to them!

its located about 5 a minute walk from town, i hired a bike in the morning for 5 bucks and went to the animal rescue centre about 15-20 minutes away.. Was really cool!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you come to costa rica, and you have low budget but you really want to get in touch with the caribean this is a must go on your list.. cheap, great service, J is one of the coolest guys i ever know, so if you would like to visit one of the most beautiful places in costa rica you must go and check this place

Room Tip: if you go by yourself the best you can do is just rent a tent or hamcock 8$/night or if you go in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csoto115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you've come accross anyone in Costa Rica who's been to Puerto Viejo, chances are they stayed at Rocking J's and chances are they'll recommend it. Even the guide books note this one and claim it is the party hostel. While it is THE backpackers hostel, it doesn't neccessarily make it a crazy party hostel. People also say Puerto Viejo itself is a party town so I decided to go there for New Year's last year. I can tell you the party was underwhelming as much inside the hostel as it was outside. Everyone was just sitting drinking, talking until about midnight when we went to the beach in the back for firqorks. This was nice. Then I went to a pretty good party which ended around 2 or 2;30. Not much of a party town if you ask me. And keep in mind this was New Year's.

The town is nothing special if you as me. But back to Rocking J's. It's cheap given you ca camp and rent hammocks but it is also hot. There's little ventilation where the hammocks are and the place is jampacked with them, so forget a slight swing on the hammock because you will surely hit your neighbor. Any noise is also so easy to hear in the hammocks area. While I didn't go into the dorms, my understanding is that it was those shipping containers out in the yard and word was that they were hot!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisanaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Rocking J's offers hammocks, tents, dorms and rooms for 400 people who do not expect a clean place to stay! BUT: The hostel is crazy, food is brilliant and it is a cool location for parties. I went there in September when only a few people stayed there, it was ok and I had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rocking J's is unique because of its hammocks, resources, and people. Sleeping in a hammock is one of the most relaxing nights of sleep you will ever get, since the gentle rocking combined with the sound of the ocean is just too peaceful. In addition to hammocks, they also have unique suites, which are also really nice (they have strategically placed mirrors if you catch my drift). Rocking J's will pick you up from the bus stop in a taxi if you call ahead! They have delicious food in their restaurant, and have access to the beach just behind the resort. The bathroom facilities are better than average for a hostel, and the kitchen has everything you'll need for a nice communal dinner. There is even a small convenience store across the street for your beverage needs ;)

Rocking J's is such a unique, amazing place. I spent a semester studying abroad in Costa Rica, and of the 14 weekends I was in the country, I stayed at Rocking J's 5 weekends. The mix of people there is lively, fun, and eccentric. I met backpackers there from all over the world who were ready to party and have a good time. The atmosphere is so chill - it makes it impossible to want to leave, until you just get exhausted from having too good of a time.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this place to families with small children, but if you are traveling with friends and looking to have a GREAT time, J's is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrimm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingjs, Owner at Rocking J's, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Heey!! Thanks for staying in Rocking J's come back soon!! and next time do a mosaic for us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#61 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Selina
Selina
#47 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#15 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#68 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking J's

Property: Rocking J's
Address: Puerto Viejo | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rocking J's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking j`s Hotel Puerto Viejo
Rocking J's Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing