We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice style, bad execution”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocking J's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocking J's
La Serena, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice style, bad execution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late so we're happy to found a bed. They have hammocks and campingsites but i stayed in a dorm. Thin walls but i had my earplugs. The dorm looked like a trailer but the beds were okay and big lockers. It was cold at night and people were coughing and sniffing a lot. There were tons of cool mosaic decorations and the kitchen was okay to use. But the place felt a bit cold and the very rude woman at the reception didnt make that any better. She doesnt look at you when you talk to her and doesnt try to help you at all!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnneL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingjs, Propietario at Rocking J's, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola! cómo estás? mira soy J, quisiera saber qué tipo de trato te dió la recepcionista y pues me gustaría que la describieras, pues esto nos ayuda a mejorar nuestros servicios en cuanto atención al cliente! Disculpa si te hicieron pasar un mal rato! Te agradecería que nos informaras :) gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    135
    94
    60
    59
See reviews for
5
80
104
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We made a reservation for dec 30 until jan 2nd. It was surprising to see that now Rocking J's is charging the full fee of the reservation beforehand, something that I have never seen in a hostel before. I agreed to pay because I usually go there and I love it; however when we got there, they had made a mess with our reservation. Apparently they just ignored the request, so basically we did not have any room booked when we arrived. So not only did they charged us the entire fews 2 months ago, but when I got there, I did not have a place to stay. In the end, they gave me my money back and I had to go around Puerto Viejo looking for a place to stay. Definitely I am never again going to stay at rocking J's. It is sad to see that a place that says to be proud of keeping its costumers happy has turned into such an untrustworthy place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank catyquiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed as a family in a 4-person room. The mosaics were great! Hot-water shower. The food was basic but good. Would be a great place for young backpackers. It was a bit pricey on the second night (price went from $55 to $80).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Rockin js was really eclectic and unusually set out. The place itself is pretty cool with mosaic decorations all around the hostel. The amenities are very basic with outdoor shower blocks adn toilets with broken locks. the kitchen is functioning but just dirty which is probably not the hostels fault.
stayed in mixed dorm right near the reception which in my opinion was pretty filthy and uncomfortable to stay in (iron bunks), but we didnt have sleeping bags to stay in the hammock area. the sheets are stained and the tin roof is quite loud when it rains - stayed on a top bunk and got soaked from the permanantely open window overnight.

other than that, the travel desk was helpful, the reception let us borrow their phone, and the bar area was nice with a pool table, restaurant area and open gate to the beach. location is good and you{ll meet alot of reat travellers. probably would have chosen to stay elsewhere if we had another night

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffwiff1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Many different accommodation options including dorms, private rooms, camping and hammocks so they cater to every budget. Communal kitchen and restaurant within the hostel but breakfast was not provided. Bikes were available for hire and staff were helpful in booking future transport for us. Each person staying at the hostel is given a key for a locker in their room but we felt this was a ploy to make a bit more money - there was a $10 US fee for losing the key (and my friend lost hers unfortunately). Kitchen was a bit dirty but that was probably the fault of the patrons and not the cleaning staff. Beach access right behind the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsno6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Absolutely amazing place to stay, this place is a big hostel, but everyone is down to earth. Jay, the owner, is an awesome person and a fun time. If you're passing through puerto viejo this is the cheapest place to stay. It's about 10 mins out of town, but a very safe walk. You can get a free cab to the place, off the bus, and make sure you get your free coconut from the bar when you check in, lol, worth it. For long term, i would say not the best place. It can be loud at night, but i can sleep through noise. The bar usually closes at 11, but sometimes can be later. Make a mosaic on the wall, get here fast because the walls are almost full. I can't wait to go back! (:

Room Tip: The tents are like your own private room. The hammocks are nice too, i didn't stay in a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a fun place to stay! Lots of open, common areas make it very easy to meet people. The food at the restaurant is great, but kind of pricey. A couple of the bartenders are nice, but the rest of the staff isn't very approachable or friendly. There isn't any hot water or free coffee. The wi-fi is good as long as you're close to the reception area/restaurant, but doesn't work in the hammock area or in most of the rooms. It's a short walk from the main street in Puerto Viejo, which is a great little town! Overall, this was a fun place to stay, and I'd recommend it to social travelers who want to meet some new people!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#60 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Selina
Selina
#47 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#14 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#67 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking J's

Property: Rocking J's
Address: Puerto Viejo | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rocking J's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking j`s Hotel Puerto Viejo
Rocking J's Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing