We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not rock that much!!”
Review of Rocking J's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocking J's
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Rocking J's did NOT rock that much!!! It is a nice and special place to stay at because of the artwork. But the staff was so unfriendly and did not care at all (the reception, not the bar!) They had problem with the water so in a couple of hours in the morning they did not have water at all. It is also quite a big place so if there are not many people staying there at the same time it feels kind of emty. I think for the same money you can get better deals at another of the many hotels/hostels thats located in puerto viejo and maybe only stop by for a drink at rocking j's.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belliz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingjs, Propietario at Rocking J's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello!! we are glad that you stay in our place! This is J, i'd like to know wich kind of service you receive at the reception and how does the person looks, just to know who is giving a bad service, wich is very important to our name! We'll appreciate so much your answer!! Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Maybe we got a bad night and it's our fault we didn't book, but we had a terrible experience here.
My girlfriend and I arrived in town from La Fortuna after a day of rafting - Saturday night, 7 other hostels/hotels full. Our last/only option. It's a party place and there is no chance of sleeping until 3-4am.
We got stuck in a tent as there was nothing else left (our other option was 2 hammocks in separate areas). Tent land is about 50 tents lined up in 4 rows on a second floor with wooden floorboards. We tried to go to bed at around midnight as we were tired from a long day. There was music going well after midnight and then we were woken up with every person walking past on the wooden floors, and again by loud talking drunken girls (after 2 people asked them to shhh, one of the girls told us where to go - Really? It's 3am and there are another 99 people in here! Some curtesy), then we were woken again at 3:30am by other drunkards having sex.
Besides that, having 200+ people in 1 place and only a handful of shared showers/toilets is not ideal.
If you want to sleep, relax and enjoy a quiet time in Puerto Viejo, do yourself a favour and stay anywhere else!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Dont worry about making a reservation here; they have over 100 hammocks, probably over 50 tents, amongst cabins and dorms. This hostel is the bigget I have ever stayed in. The mosaic is really cool; the place itself looks very attractive.
I thought the drinks were expensive, but it is costa rica ($4 rum and coke, but there is happy hour where theyre $2). The food was also expensive for a hostel ($9 for a vegetarian burger??)
There is a kitchen, but there is never any cutlery, no bowls, no mugs, no fridge space, which is frustrating.
The tents are good value; they're big and have mattresses and pillows inside.
They also rent bikes for $5. Music is off at 11pm which is good for sleeping.
No hammocks to chill out in as they're all for sleeping.
I would give this a "good" not very good, if I could!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If anything come for the art. This place is covered from floor to ceiling in collages, paintings and poetry. The rooms are clean and comfortable but if it hasn't been clear in the other reviews this place is a constant party. It can get very loud but we brought earplugs and it didn't bother us at all. The location is right on the beach and has it's own little coral reef right in the back. A great mix of people and when we went there were a variety of ages although the overwhelming majority were 20-30 somethings but we did see a few families too with small children. The place is fun, stay for a day or two to meet great people and hang out but then move on if it's not your scene. Oh and some really great food and 2x1 cocktail happy hour! I do have to add that they messed up our reservation by a day and even though it was packed there was no argument.

Room Tip: Choose the private rooms unless you're there to party ALL night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here by myself in a clean, comfortable dorm. Plenty of noise so bring ear plugs! It's almost a little too big to meet people if you're by yourself because there are so many places to hang out. But it's very comfortable with all of these places, short walk into the main town, beach on it's doorstep and a bar serving food and plenty of drinks! Lots to get involved with. Not the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed it but pretty good value for money. I would recommend staying here, definitely seems the place to be when staying in Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late so we're happy to found a bed. They have hammocks and campingsites but i stayed in a dorm. Thin walls but i had my earplugs. The dorm looked like a trailer but the beds were okay and big lockers. It was cold at night and people were coughing and sniffing a lot. There were tons of cool mosaic decorations and the kitchen was okay to use. But the place felt a bit cold and the very rude woman at the reception didnt make that any better. She doesnt look at you when you talk to her and doesnt try to help you at all!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AnneL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingjs, Propietario at Rocking J's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014
Google Translation

Hola! cómo estás? mira soy J, quisiera saber qué tipo de trato te dió la recepcionista y pues me gustaría que la describieras, pues esto nos ayuda a mejorar nuestros servicios en cuanto atención al cliente! Disculpa si te hicieron pasar un mal rato! Te agradecería que nos informaras :) gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We made a reservation for dec 30 until jan 2nd. It was surprising to see that now Rocking J's is charging the full fee of the reservation beforehand, something that I have never seen in a hostel before. I agreed to pay because I usually go there and I love it; however when we got there, they had made a mess with our reservation. Apparently they just ignored the request, so basically we did not have any room booked when we arrived. So not only did they charged us the entire fews 2 months ago, but when I got there, I did not have a place to stay. In the end, they gave me my money back and I had to go around Puerto Viejo looking for a place to stay. Definitely I am never again going to stay at rocking J's. It is sad to see that a place that says to be proud of keeping its costumers happy has turned into such an untrustworthy place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank catyquiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.0 mi away
Selina
Selina
#21 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#5 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#76 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#3 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Puerto Viejo
#49 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking J's

Address: Playa Salsa Brava, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 63735, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £10 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rocking J's 1.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rocking J's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking j`s Hotel Puerto Viejo
Rocking J's Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing