We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Quirky Hostel”
Review of Rocking J's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocking J's
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You don't often find such unique charm and beauty in such a gorgeous location. With its colorful Hamic's and quirky tile work I found it fun and memorable. You gotta read the rules, hilarious . Such a large property right on the ocean. It truly has everything you need, from community showers to the café and bar. The hotel/camp has a great helpful staff that answered all of our questions and made us feel very welcome. The lockers are great for storing your stuff while you're out exploring the beach and fun nightlife of this cute tropical town. just a short drive to the sloth sanctuary it was perfect for our location destination. Great for backpackers. Can't wait to get back here soon.

Room Tip: Tents upstairs are more private than the hammocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The roof where the hammocks are leaks so you get wet in the night, awful music, bad staff and attitude of staff, and the whole general place feels unwelcoming! For example they charge you for absolutely everything, including tap water, ice and the pool table - first place in 4.5 months where a hostel has charged for any of those things. Not a big deal in itself I know but just adds to the miserable unfriendly atmosphere!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place has so much potential to be interesting, but it fail miserably. I'm a regular dirty hostel stayer, but this place is a nightclub for underage gringos that also happens to rent hammocks. The bad mashups (redfoo with wreckingball, for example) blared till midnight as predicted. So i waited it out and figured these drunk fools will probly sleep in, right? No such luck. Screaming laughing partying for two and a half hours after the music stopped. Again at six AM. Oh and that roof over the hammocks? Leaks. Like I said, save the seven bucks and get soaked trying to sleep on the beach. At least then drunk kids wont be tripping on your hammock and throwing up all over the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at Rocking J's for two nights, rented a small private room. The room was clean and the bed, which was a loft, was comfortable. But climbing up the ladder to the bed was difficult especially when trying to carry something up there like your laptop. There are no electric outlets up in the loft so you have to string your electric cord across the room. The wifi was good. The artwork all around the place was very interesting. The shared kitchen was clean as were the bathrooms. The restaurant serves good food at decent prices with a varied menu. The bar has daily specials and there is a small store directly across the street. Bikes are available for rent at a very fair price $5 a day. The hostel staff were not very friendly or eager to assist you but the bar/restaurant staff speak English and are very helpful and friendly.

As a middle-aged female, traveling alone, i chose this hostel for the security which is excellent! Fenced perimeter, security cameras, and quiet time is enforced at 11 pm. When I saw the much younger travelers I was surrounded by partying and enjoying themselves in a safe environment, I felt I would be at ease if my daughter was staying there. I also felt this may not be the place for me since I don't really enjoy playing beer pong any more so I went out toward the beach to smoke a cigarette - strict non-smoking atmosphere - be warned! lol. And came upon the fire ring...there was a small group of people playing guitar, and exchanging travel stories. So, if loud party atmosphere is not your desire, there is an alternative.

I checked into another hostel up the road toward town for the next night's stay but late in the evening, my bunkmates discovered they had been robbed. They all left with the police to file their complaint and I was not going to be left alone there! So, at midnight, I walked out to the road lugging my suitcase, looking for another place to stay, no taxi in sight. By 12:30 am, I had knocked on 4 or 5 or 6 different hotels/hostels but no one would open their door. Then I arrived back at Rocking J's. I rang the bell. The security guard could see me on the camera and came out and opened the door for me. He checked me into a very nice sized room with a king sized bed. Thank God he opened the door for me!

I sincerely thank Rocking J's for coming to my rescue and would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Its definitively a place for younger people. They played loud music from 9am to over 11pm, I asked them if they could turn down the volume a little bit, they said yes in a polite manner but they didnt turn it down.
The people is very nice, always partying. Great place to have fun by the beach, but not a great place to rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were useless. Apparently they all decide to take their 30 min break at the same time leaving the hostel unstaffed being unable to figure out to take breaks in shifts. The amount of people needing reception in that time was immense and the line was out the door by the time these useless sacks decided their break was over. The snorkel equipment they hire out at crazy high prices is damaged and unusable. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place is crazy. Loved it so much I had to get a job. Way funn. The art is inspirational . The natural hangover pool in the back was were I spent the most time that or the bar. All employees work very hard for you. Reception is a bit slow. While your there go say hi to J. HIGHLIGHT... Way to man beautiful people

Room Tip: Go with a hammock. One person tent gets a bit hot when you bring in a second person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#6 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Butterfly Hotel
Blue Butterfly Hotel
#49 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#2 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Puerto Viejo
#68 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
114 reviews
4 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#75 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
120 reviews
1 mi away
Selina
Selina
#18 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking J's

Address: Playa Salsa Brava, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 63735, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £10 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rocking J's 1.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocking J's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking j`s Hotel Puerto Viejo
Rocking J's Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing