We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for our family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namuwoki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Namuwoki Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We has a marvelous time at Puerto Viejo and Namuwoki Hotel was by far a great highlight about it. Every detail within the lodges is taken care of and the high maintenance of the hotel is evident in every corner.


It's owners are present and take care of details. Specially when it comes to comfort.

A supermarket is very conveniently located about a block away.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    67
    23
    1
    6
See reviews for
48
107
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Anto Restaurante at Namuwoki Lodge is a wonderful seafood restaurant for both lodge guests and others. We have eaten there several times this month and find the service, food and atmosphere wonderful.

Room Tip: We were staying in the area and only visited their restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunnigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Namuwoki Lodge has a beautiful setting in the jungle, and a great location being close to Playa Chiquita. It was a very relaxing spot with cute bungalows placed throughout the grounds. The pool and dining area were very lovely and peaceful. The paths on the grounds were lit up nicely at night, giving a cozy feeling. We found the employees at the reception desk to be very friendly and helpful, and all spoke excellent English.

We chose Namuwoki due to its location, it was one of the few places that offered rooms with three beds at a reasonable price, and it had a pool. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom bungalow, which was a nice surprise, so that our daughters each had their own bedrooms. Friends that we traveled with also had a very spacious bungalow. Both bungalows had wonderful decks in front with hammocks and comfortable furniture. The beds were not the most comfortable, but not the worst we’ve slept in. They made a crunching noise whenever we sat down on them, or moved around a lot. A couple of the ceiling fans made noise, so we didn't use them. The interior of the bungalow could have used a little sprucing up – a fresh coat of paint and a good bathroom wall scrubbing would do wonders. There are definitely jungle sounds throughout the night, so if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We loved being awakened by the howler monkeys, but we also heard dogs barking throughout the night - we are not sure if it was the owner’s dog, or a neighbor’s.

We loved that they had coffee set out early in the morning and throughout the day for us to serve ourselves. Breakfast was good – fresh fruit, eggs, toast, and cereal, juice and coffee. We missed the gallo pinto and yogurt that most places in Costa Rica offer for breakfast, however. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, and found the food to be okay, but expensive. The sodas, Gatorades, and waters offered in the mini-bar are overpriced, but it’s a short walk to a small market with better prices.

Overall, our stay at Namuwoki was a pleasant one. With a few changes, it could really have a “wow” factor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The bungalow we rented was large but not well equipped (the showers in particular were not very comfy). The terrace was nice though
Service and breakfast were good
The best beaches are not that close
The swimming pool was a disappointment (quite small and very shady)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We recently stayed at Namuwoki Lodge for a week and overall it was a good experience. The cabins are basic, but clean and very unique as we expected. It reminded me of a 'cottage country' setting in Canada. The staff spoke limted english which proved difficult at times, but we managed. Do not expect any extra assistance from them, but they will help if you ask. We were told by a local this is a cultural norm for Costa Rica as they consider it rude to interfere with your family time. The WI-FI worked well in the common area, but there is none in the cabins. The setting amongst the dense jungle floor is incredible. On any given day there were half a dozen howler monkeys overhead. We saw a couple different frogs, spiders and a huge praying mantis.

We flew in to San Jose and hired a driver to take us 4.5 hours south to Namuwoki (approximately $60 per person; booked through www.geckotrail.com). It is a picturesque drive on rough, narrow roads at times. I am glad we did not drive it ourselves as getting out of San Jose seemed a bit crazy. One thing we learned early on was to get cash out of one of only 2 ATM's in Puerto Viejo when you can. They run out of money frequently and many places in the area ONLY take cash. They will accept colones or US dollar, so either is good. It was difficult to find anywhere the 4 of us could eat for less than 40,000 colones (approximately $80 US) so it is an expensive place to stay for an extended period of time with no kitchen.

I would agree with the majority of the reviews in that the beds are uncomfortable and if you are looking for 4 or 5 star amenities, you will be disappointed. The fridge in the rooms is an extremely small bar fridge, big enough for 6 drinks maybe and that's it. The included breakfast consisted of fresh pineapple, quava or mango and watermelon, tea or coffee, cereal, eggs, toast, crepes and usually sausage (hot dogs), ham or cheese. It was basic, but worked for us. There are plenty of other spots within walking distance, a short bike ride or taxi ride away. There is a great little market right at the end of the driveway used to access Namuwoki and they do accept credit cards there. The majority of the restaurants in the area do not accept credit cards and open for breakfast, close for lunch and re-open around 6 p.m. for supper. The restaurants will not bring the check until you ask as they do not want you to feel they are trying to rush you. Be aware that every restaurant has at least one dog with free run of the place and usually a cat nearby.

Our last night there, the phone lines went down, so many people could not call a taxi to go into Puerto Viejo and had to eat locally. We ate at Namuwoki which was a first for supper and 3 of the 4 of us were ill through the night and for a couple days after. We all had pasta with shrimp and the white wine, cream sauce. The owner asked why we were sick and simply said it must have been from somwhere else we ate.

Playa Chiquita beach was approximately a 10 minute walk and was one of our favourites. The sand was amazing and the Carribean Ocean had good rolling waves for body surfing and boogie boarding. Boogie board rentals are around $5.00/hour so you may want to bring your own or purchase one in town. They really soak you for the rentals. We also checked out Puerto Viejo beach which was in town and not a great beach for families at all. It was quite busy and was littered with garbage and there were street dogs running around quite close to everyone.

We used a combination of the public transit bus (MEPE), taxis and walking to get around which worked fine for us as we are pretty active anyway. One thing to keep in mind is as a pedestrian or cyclist you DO NOT have the right of way! You have to walk single file as the vehicles do not always slow down or move over. You are expected to give way to them and they will come extremely close to you when passing. I recommend bringing a flashlight as some areas are very dark after sunset at approximately 5:30 p.m. If I went back, I would look into renting a quad or golf cart as both are street legal and seemed adequate for the distance we planned to travel. There are many day trips and tours to do close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice jungle setting. Cabins are 15 to 25ft apart,so fairly quiet until morning arrives with howler monkey wake up calls. Screens & shutters only, ceiling fan,small bar fridge, no ac, tv or room safes. Locked boxes available at reception. Wi fi at coffee & tea lounge area. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, Small pool, it is in the middle of the resort, so no direct sunlight. Staff very friendly,helpful.Only issue was the breakfast buffet was very limlted.Plate of fruit was provided, always slice of papaya&pineapple 3rd slice alternate mango or watermelon. Eggs, fried, scrambled or omlette. One day you could have a slice of cheese, next day no, maybe two slices of bacon. Only one kind of plain sliced bread available or cereal and milk. Another hot alternative would be great, i.e local rice &beans and something more than white toast, muffins? buns? We went to the local bakery and bought cheese bread for our 3rd morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freqfler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The highlight of this place is definitely the local wildlife! A 3 toed sloth came visiting one day, the rest we were unceremoniously woken up at 5am by the very loud howler monkeys staking claim to the trees above our cabin!

The cabin itself is nice although water pressure in the shower is very low (apparently common in the area as the pressure from the mains is very weak) and the mattress felt a bit old. There are no glass windows so it can get quite cold at night.

The location is not that good for the beach, as you have to walk about 200m on the main road till you get to the local beach (Playa Chiquita) access. In any case, the beach at Punta Uva is much nicer, as it has a much wider sand strip, worth the drive or renting a bike.

One thing the hotel could improve on is the knowledge of the reception staff, who are very nice, but appear to be clueless about the local attractions and restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namuwoki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namuwoki Lodge

Property: Namuwoki Lodge
Address: Crtra. de Puerto Viejo a Manzanillo, km. 6 | Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Namuwoki Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Namuwoki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namuwoki Hotel Puerto Viejo
Namuwoki Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing