We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We kept extending our stay”
Review of Casa Las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Las Brisas
Reviewed 27 January 2012

After traveling for a week in central and western Costa Rica, chillin on the Caribbean side was a welcome improvement to an already amazing trip. I can't imagine anywhere better than Casa de las Brisas, and the warm, genuine, and helpful company of Michel and Wilbur. My husband and I were on our honeymoon, and these guys really made us feel like that was something special. Michel knows where to send you to eat, what to do, and he engenders an awesome sense of calm. The place is simple, quiet, clean, and in a beautiful location. We planned 2 nights, and stayed for 5.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Casita at Casa Las Brisas on Black Beach outside of Puerto Viejo is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing, affordable beach getaway. It's the best of both worlds in that you have access to all the amenities at the larger resort Banana Azul (100 yards away) and the privacy and relaxation of a quaint cabin on its own along the beach. Host Michel is top notch in every way and you will feel safe throughout your stay. Breakfast on the beach and a rest in the hammocks was ideal. Highly recommend for couples or solo. You will also love Michel's trusted dog Zeena who will fast become your beach buddy.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for part of our honeymoon. It was so amazing! It is right on the beach and you can actually see the water from the window in the Casita. Miehel and Wilbur were so wonderful. Our every need was taken care of, often before we knew we needed anything. We were served breakfast on the beach on this awesome table made of cut logs every morning. It was just the two of us, even though the lodge was full! Breakfast was always wonderful and included lots of fresh fruit. The coffee was sooo good! On the day we left we had to leave before breakfast and Miehel made us coffee as soon as he hear us get up, then packed us snacks for our trip to San Jose! I could go on and on, but you should stay here. It was wonderful and I would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aedickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon in September. We stayed in the "Casita" separate from the home for 5 nights. We loved our stay there. Michel was an amazing host and we had a great time spending late afternoons with him. The location is perfect. You can hear the waves when you wake up and the town is very close by. The breakfast on the beaches were great too. Lots of fresh fruit and fresh baked goods. Having access to Banana Azul's ammenities was also a plus. It gave you that many extra things while still being able to stay at a quieter style accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Staying here was absolute paradise. Michel is an exceptional host; very accessible just when you need him, yet he knew when you needed privacy. My husband and I stayed at Casa Las Brisas with my husband's brother and girlfriend and had a wonderful time. Every morning we were served Michel's culinary delights, whether it included his moist and delectable banana bread, eggs, sliced fresh fruit, toast with exotic guava or pineapple preserves, or sweet and custardy french toast. Weather permitting, we had our breakfast right on the beach, with gauzy white tablecloths laid upon a table and seats made from old tree stumps. One evening we sipped our drinks (Michel with his red wine, us with our rum!) and laughed and talked late into the night. On another evening a bonfire on the beach was lit just for us, and we shared beers and got to know a little about Michel's fascinating life prior to coming to Costa Rica (he used to work in fashion!).

The decor and furniture was simple, but that is really all you need in this life, you know? No TV, no noise, no distractions. Just the wonderful simplicity of ocean breezes, lush tropical fauna, simple good food, drinks, and good conversation. And if you ever wanted more of a pool scene and full bar, Banana Azul is a stone's throw away and access to their facilities is included with your stay at Las Brisas.

Michel was absolutely amazing. I left feeling as if I were saying goodbye to an old friend. If you are looking to experience the simple good life for a little while, be sure to book your stay here.

Room Tip: Two rooms with a full size bed. One bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bostonian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I rented an apartment separate from this building for the month of July! It was a secluded gem in the jungle. We had a wonderful time on the gorgeous beach and loved the privacy. Michel was always there to give us great tips on where to eat and things to see. Our apartment was cleaned with great care and detail. This was a great place to stay for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dohajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed again at one of our favorite spots in the world and enjoyed it tremendously. Michel is a fantastic host and he's making this place and our vacation very special. His eye for details comes out in the decoration of the rooms, the yummy breakfast right on the beach (!) and his helpfulness in any way. This time we stayed in the cute casita and slept well as always with the ocean sounds in the background. Stay away from the busy town center and relax at this wonderful B&B, listening to ocean waves, reading in the beach hammocks and just enjoying life!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 2 in Playa Chiquita
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
64 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Las Brisas

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Las Brisas Hotel Puerto Viejo
Casa Las Brisas Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing