We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge”
Review of La Kukula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Kukula Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lodge”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in November and both loved the place. Beautiful rooms with great staff (especially Pepo) surrounded by rainforest. Really makes you feel like you are in the middle of the forest. Plenty of wildlife even on the grounds of the hotel with monkeys, sloths and hummingbirds. 5 minute walk to the beautiful Playa Chiquita and a few nice restaurants nearby. Not really party place at all but a lovely place for rest and relaxation. Would love to be back there now! Pura Vida.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gingemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    43
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
186
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Amazing bungalow.. Location is very private but close to the the town of Puerto Viejo...the hosts are extremely friendly and very helpful.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable, bathroom is very big.. Loved it! Comfortable and modern.. But also very eco friendly..
Nature all around you.. BEAUTIFUL!!
Beach is 5-10 min walk from the lodge.. And if you need a taxi to go to town, they will call them every time.
People are extremely nice!!
Loved out experience there!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Pura vida, everybody greets you with in Costa Rica.......and it is beautifully that, Pura Vida !!!! .
Living in an absurd cement jungle, like most cities in the world are, my wife and I needed to get away ...We wanted to disconnect from the stress filled daily "modern" living, and re-connect with nature, our true source. And in our first visit, we got just that and much more. "La Kukula" is an amazing place if you want peace, relaxation, no stress, and the return to the natural cycle of life. No TV, no telephones, no clocks, no computers, no noisy bar scene, no music, no need to drive, no rush....Just us and nature, just us and the 24/7 serenade of the wildlife that surrounded us. Located in the middle of the rain forest, 250 meters from the road, this is the perfect place to relax and reflect. Constructed in wood, clean and comfortable rooms, security, a porch with a Paraguayan hammock and excellent service, gave us the peace we were looking for...some of the most beautiful, wild beaches in the world, and amazing activities available for you to experience, made this an unforgettable holiday which we will, with no doubt, repeat and recommend. Pepo, his family and employees were a very welcoming, accommodating, warm and informed group of people. We returned home with our lungs filled with pure oxygen, our eyes filled of the forest's diverse shades of green and flowers, our hearts filled with the experience of interaction and observation of the animals, and our blood pressure close to a comatose level.....The experience in this fairly new eco-lodge will make it easier for us to select our next vacation....Gracias y Pura Vida !!!!!
Ana y Edgardo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Edgardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A buddy and I stayed at La Kukula and had a great experience!

Having just stayed at another local hotel, I was a little bit disappointed when we arrived. There was no little bar or restaurant or people hanging around and it seemed really isolated. That disappointed lasted about 12 seconds before meeting Pepo and his family.

We had a couple of unforgettable nights with the jungle sounds and monkeys directly overhead in the trees. It's probably an 8 minute walk to two of the loveliest beaches you'll ever see. A handful of small restaurants, all good quality.

Best part was laying in the hammock on the porch at night in the darkness listening to jungle sounds.

We'll be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank SavvySeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in the lodge, a few years ago, close to its opening, for our honeymoon, before having children.
This was our most memorable, exciting vacation ever.
The location, in the middle of the jungle, a walking distance from the beach was perfect. The hotel is deeply integrated into its environment. Nothing like watching a sloth or an iguana in action.
But the most important part was Pepo And Sonia, the owners who are the most incredible, welcoming hosts in the world. It is already been a couple of years since we've been there, but we never stop planning our return there, together with our son who will surely love all the crazy animals and nature, surrounding this magical kingdom. We love this place an fantasize about going back very often. Love, Assaf and Nivi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was my second time at La Kukula, and it is an absolutely amazing place to stay. It is in the middle of the jungle and in front of the Caribbean Sea, in Playa Chiquita, easily one the most beautiful beaches you'll ever get to see. Rooms are super-comfortable, clean and safe. Totally recommended if you want to see all kind of animals around: frogs, lizards, sloths, monkeys, tucans... Thanks to Sonia and Pepo to make me feel like home. La Kukula is definitely become one of my favorite places on earth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Small size lodge ideally located 200m from beach and away from more crowded puerto viejo, "embedded" in the tropical forest.
Comfortable rooms with nice design and minimal environment impact.
Warm and helpful service from Pepo the spanish owner and his crew. Table-served breakfast (one of the best we had in costa rica) changing every day. Cheap laundry.
I wish we stayed a couple days more !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDifficultDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#2 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Kukula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Kukula Lodge

Property: La Kukula Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica | Carretera a Manzanillo, km 6, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Kukula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Kukula Lodge is situated in Playa Chiquita/ Puerto Viejo, next to Refugio de Vida Silvestre de Gandoca-Manzanillo and Cahuita N.P.Built in 2008, La Kukula Lodge follows the principles of sustainable architecture and only plantation wood (teak) has been used in its construction. With its tropical-contemporary style, the bungalows blend naturally with the wooded surroundings: an ideal location to enjoy the flora and fauna the region has to offer. A simple path system running through the garden links each bungalow, the “rancho-bar” and the swimming pool. There are only 8 rooms available, all are very spacious and airy, with their own deck, fans, bathrooms and hot water from a hybrid solar/electric system. All rooms have fantastic views from private terraces onto the sylvan garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Kukula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Kukula Hotel Puerto Viejo
La Kukula Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing