We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 5 days in this great place!”
Review of El Nido Cabinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Nido Cabinas
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We first arrived in Cahuita where we stayed two nights. The second day we went to Puerto Viejo to find a nice place to stay for the last 4 nights of our holidays. We looked a whole day and nothing was availbale as it was weekend and holiday in Costa Rica. Finally we checked out El Nido which looked great and still had bungalows availalbe. It turned out to be a great choice! We never had such a nice room/bungalow for that money. Breakfast was amazing and included and the pool had a jacuzzi (which worked!). The manager is an Italian who lived a long time in costa rica and gave us great tips about what we could do (eg. where to eat, what to do if it rains, how to get to Panama,etc.). Really great place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Lying on the hammock at the porch of my cabin, watching the exuberant gardens and hearing the monkeys hauling, while was raining (more than what I expected), gave the moment a mystical touch….. later on, watching the stars at night on the comfortable chairs by the swimming pool, made a very romantic evening… Stayed there for almost 10 days and at the end felt was missing time...
As you see, I do recommend with out any doubt this magical place, more so if you plan a quite, peaceful and inner experience time, at a very comfortable location. I was able to appreciate it even more after staying in two different hotels from the area, that end up being almost a scam.
Karinga, Gabriela, Victoria and Paolo, thank you for making our stay soooo nice!! And special congratulations for the artist that takes care of the gorgeous gardens!!
Hope to see you soon again!
PD... Frida and Lupita where such a nice hosts ;)...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariahg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I had a lovely time with my wife and two children at El Nido Cabinas! It sure was very neato :) I found the surroundings calming, the breakfast tasty, and the rooms relaxing and clean....not to mention the pool! I would definitely recommend this experience to other guest who are looking for a place to put up their feet and take a break from being on the road. Look forward to a visit in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

El Nido brands itself as affordable luxury, that is certainly true if you are staying in one of the four cabinas. Not if you are staying in the "suite". As all the cabinas were booked, i found myself in the slightly cheaper "suite" room. A world of a difference from the cabinas!

I visited the cabinas where my friends were staying, they are beautiful and stylish. I was forced to visit them in order to use their shower, as the shower of my "suite" didn't work. A mere trickle of cold water came out. And when you've been on the road for hours, and you are paying a good chunk more than a youth hostel, you'r really looking forward to that hot shower. Not so.
The hosts tried to fix the problem, but alas, a few trickles more didn't make the difference. So for the 2 days i was in my "suite"; i went to use my friends' shower in the cabinas. Rather uncomfortable first thing in the morning...

The ceiling also wasn't more than a thin layer of wooden planks so i could hear the couple above's every move. No details such as shampoo or space to place your suitcase. All there was was an old cupboard with an old TV (i don't watch much TV so didn't try if it worked) and an old kitchen bench. Other than that, no useful furniture. So my luggage was more or less left to lie on the floor. It would be nice if the owners could add a piece of furniture to put things on, or an extra little bed table with a clock.

Also certainly no orthopedic mattress, as promoted on the El Nido flyer. In the "suite" room it was an old matras covered with an even older foam layer.

I keep writing "suite" in quotation marks, as you cannot really term it a suite. It is a simple and basic room (probably converted from something else before) that finds itself suddenly added to the Cabinas Resort.

I think it is wrong to throw in such a basic room under the overall banner of "affordable luxury" and certainly misleading. I had no choice to move elsewhere as it was a busy weekend and all of Puerto Viejo was booked out.

To add though, the couple running the place tried their best and were very friendly. But whoever is the owner, should seriously reconsider the "suite" addition to the accommodation offer as it doesn't do justice to the overall resort quality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Loved our stay at El Nido...Peaceful cabinas fully equipped with everything you needed. Felt like a little house, clean and comfortable. Was nice to have the kitchen for days of dining in and storing extra water :)Victoria and Paolo were so nice and welcoming and were able to help with anything we needed. The pool was awesome to have a cool dip whenever. They also offer a tv and dvd`s for when it was pouring out...nice was to let time pass and still be occupied. The atmosphere was very peaceful and welcoming, great up keep of the grounds. We enjoyed our homecooked breaky`s that were included with the stay.

I had some great photos but they were letting me upload sorry!

Room Tip: All the cabina`s are equipped the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family and I stayed at this newly developed cabina resort. I actually did a ton...I mean a ton of review searching before driving from the San Jose area to Puerto Viejo and booked actually booked a reservation at another neighbouring hotel before arrival. I am really glad that in Costa Rica you can get away with making reservations without providing a credit card. No comparison (at least upon visual contact) between the two hotels and let me forewarn those who have never been to Puerto Viejo...almost all the hotels in the area are extremely rustic and many over charge significantly. If you are paying more than $50-$80/night you are paying too much. I can't speak for every hotel but when I drove the strip I couldn't believe some of the prices being asked. You are better off on the Pacific beaches for the price being charged (sorry branching a little)

All that said, I naturally did pay more than what I quoted above at El Nido, but the price was at least accurate. The price is worth it and this is a very new development so the cabins have a nice new feel to them and are very spacious with awesome little kitchettes. Also great for kids. Really nice pool area and the surrounding lush gardens are beautiful and very well manicured. We were travelling with a 10 month old.

Paolo & Victoria are two very hospitable people who were meant to be in the hotel business. You couldn't find two nicer people. The stay came with a great COOKED breakfast.

I think my only criticism with this place was that there was no comp soap in the bathroom and I forgot to bring.

After reading other reviews on Puerto Viejo hotels, I am stumped as to how this hotel doesn't get rated amongst the top 3-5 hotels in the area. What a shame to have to build a long term reputation for such a great new hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domgargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in the Caribbean Coast in mid July and were recommended to stay in El Nido. We were so happy with all the hospitality offered by our host Paolo and Vittoria that we would not think twice about returning. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the decorations are in good taste. The beach is a very short walk and the on site salt water pool is refreshing. El Nido offers all the luxuries you want at an affordable price.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed9thg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
676 reviews
13 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 2 in Playa Chiquita
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#19 of 55 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#78 of 118 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Cabinas

Address: Frente Elenas | Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 9355, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £79 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New! Beautiful craftsman bungalows set in tropical gardens with salt water pool and jacuzzi. Bright and Spacious bungalows with king size bed, 300+ cotton sheets, kitchen and eating bar, TV/DVD, sofa bed, hot water and AC. Warm hospitality and full service tour booking. 200 m to gorgeous Playa Chiquita beach, 3and a half miles from lively Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Nido Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Cabinas Hotel Puerto Viejo
El Nido Cabinas Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing