We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Soesterberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the treasure”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

cabinas el tesoro is a real treasure!!!
nice and friendly... the new management is a real improvement!!!
the beach is really close. Puerto Viejo is close as well, but not to close!! so there is peace & quiet, surrounded by jungle...
Manuel keep up with the good work!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    5
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
14
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

It has been a nice surprise, pass by this hotel on the coast, close to Playa Cocles and find out that it has been completely renewed and now is under a different management.
Since you get in through the path you have the feeling to be inside the jungle and all the colors of the Cabinas and the painting in the reception welcome you in the Caribe.
My room (luxory) was equipped with air conditioning an TV: everything was clean and personnel carefully looking at customer's needs.
Bicycles can be rented at hotel and allows a short ride along th ocean to downtown.
Or if you have your car, it can be easily accomodate in a private parking inside, watched by security during the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bussola42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Rockin Js for a couple of nights but hated the vibe and immediately changed to El Tesoro by request of some of the locals. Manuel, the fellow who owns the joint, treated us too kind. Let us use his personal computer and personally greeted us and helped us with our groceries. Ask him about his story and he will gladly have a wonderful conversation with you. The rooms were clean and the SHOWERS WERE HOT!
Make your way down and give it a try.
Plenty of yoga around and right next to tasty waves.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielleetownsend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Cabinas el Tesoro is definitely the place to stay if you want to be away from the busier night life of Puerto Viejo, but still close enough to come and go as you please... It's right on the main strip, across from the beach, and next to a great yoga studio that also just started up zumba and hip-hop classes.

I traveled to Playa Cocles alone, but had formed a family of locals, fellow travelers, and even dogs (!) by the time I left. Charlie is amazing and will take care of anything you need and Tasty Waves is one of the best spots to hang out and chill or play pool and/or dance, especially on Taco Tuesdays! Make sure to ask for some Guara!

I stayed in the surf lodge & it was super cheap and comfortable. It's not a 5-star resort.. you're in the jungle of Costa Rica, so there will be bugs; but it's the closest thing to paradise I've ever known and will certainly be staying there many times to come!

~~Pura Vida~~

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vugrinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This place was nice and clean for a hostel. However, what was outstanding was the service/friendlyness of the people who work there including the owner and the other guests. Great place for backpackers, people who like meeting cool people, adventurers, volunteers, etc. Also, the food is really good and the bar is fun!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tt7945a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tesoro. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and gave excellent recommendations on where to eat, and what to do around town. I felt they were very invested and interested in making sure our trip was as awesome as possible.

The rooms were very neat, tidy, and comfortable. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The location is so ideal, because it is across the street from a beach (with lifeguards) just out side of the busy town area.

I felt very relaxed and at ease during my stay at Tesoro. Hanging out at the Tasty Waves Cantina next door was a big hit too! The stay were so friendly and down to earth, and its one of the best deals in town for yummy drinks and tasty carribean bar snacks!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Well the review before us says it all really. If you are looking for an economical, safe, clean, friendly home base, right across from the beach, this is it. I put five stars too, because everyone there made it feel like our home away from home. This place is not new, but like I said above it was very clean and comfortable. My husband and I are surfers, so to be able to walk across the street to the beach was important. The jungle surrounds you, and you can see birds, monkeys and sloths daily. Tasty Waves next door, makes it easy to stay close for the night and have good food and drinks. Other hotels near by offer breakfast lunch and dinner so you do not have to always go to town. You have yoga next door, and echo books right up a jungle road behind the cabinas. Any needs, or wants Charlie was helping immediately to make our stay as comfortable as possible. If we go back we would not stay anywhere else. Thanks everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Island Lodge
Paradise Island Lodge
#40 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#19 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selina
Selina
#65 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#62 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro

Property: Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tesoro has been in business since 1994. Located just 70 meters from the white sands of Playa Cocles (the only life-guarded beach in the southern Caribbean) we offer apartments, standard rooms and dorms, as well as high end luxury suites with AC / TV / fridge, etc. We offer high speed WI FI, coffee, and safety deposit box for free to all of our guests. Our restaurant is open daily serving both typical and international foods with pool table and TV available to all guests. Our dorms are located towards the rear of the property where it is VERY quiet and we offer communal kitchens for those on a tight budget. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing