We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tesoro. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and gave excellent recommendations on where to eat, and what to do around town. I felt they were very invested and interested in making sure our trip was as awesome as possible.

The rooms were very neat, tidy, and comfortable. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The location is so ideal, because it is across the street from a beach (with lifeguards) just out side of the busy town area.

I felt very relaxed and at ease during my stay at Tesoro. Hanging out at the Tasty Waves Cantina next door was a big hit too! The stay were so friendly and down to earth, and its one of the best deals in town for yummy drinks and tasty carribean bar snacks!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    5
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
14
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Well the review before us says it all really. If you are looking for an economical, safe, clean, friendly home base, right across from the beach, this is it. I put five stars too, because everyone there made it feel like our home away from home. This place is not new, but like I said above it was very clean and comfortable. My husband and I are surfers, so to be able to walk across the street to the beach was important. The jungle surrounds you, and you can see birds, monkeys and sloths daily. Tasty Waves next door, makes it easy to stay close for the night and have good food and drinks. Other hotels near by offer breakfast lunch and dinner so you do not have to always go to town. You have yoga next door, and echo books right up a jungle road behind the cabinas. Any needs, or wants Charlie was helping immediately to make our stay as comfortable as possible. If we go back we would not stay anywhere else. Thanks everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

First..you have a beach in front of you, but you are in the jungle. That's very great. The boos is a nice man, very helpful, giving you good advice and always asking you if everything is OK. Room are clean Hot Shower, great WIFI (we work from here) and near from the downtown , just beside the famous bar Tasty Waves

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Let's start by the meaning of the 5 stars I gave to El Tesoro.

This is a 2 1/2 - 3 stars hotel. I knew it before I rented there. So, the 5 stars I gave mean that everything in this place is above what I could usually get from this kind of hotel.

1 - The manager, Charlie. From day one to the end of your stay, you are sure that he will always be there with a smile answering your questions.
2 - The location is simply splendid. Right in front of the Ocean, surrounded by the jungle with the Tasty Waves Cantina (I already review the Cantina) on the same spot.
3 - The room. Read the review from Lonely planets and you will have a good idea of the rooms. You can have fresh towels everyday but, why? We changed them every 3 days with a good cleanup of the room. The service was always number one.
4- I read about worms in rooms... Ok, this is not NY here. We are in the jungle! So yes, I found a worm, one day in the bath room. I took a paper, put the worm in it and then sent it back to the jungle. We had a small crab tambien! Very cute. But, I don't think there's a place in Puerto Viejo who is 100% insect proof. Even in Cozumel in a 5 stars hotel, I met a tiny worms and lizard. But the room is of a very good size, hot water for the shower, fridge and fan with a porch and a hammock.
5 - Free Wi-Fi. This was very important for us because we had to work each morning. We had to connect to our VPN. We never miss a day of work.

This is a great place to stay. Free security box, secure place, free communal kitchen and the staff is very kind.
For 625$ for one month in front of the sea, this is a 5 star location

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

In a town flooded with extremely low end and extremely high end accommodations around every corner El Tesoro is a great find! I paid as much for a cabin with private bath, room service, and towel service as the local hostels that offer none of these services charge. I had my own little front porch with a hammock and felt like I was staying in my own little home. The location was perfect for me... just outside of the loud part of town, i could hear the sounds of the rainforest at night while being within walking distance of downtown and also across the street from the beach. The staff was super friendly and Charlie the manager treated me like family and even helped me get to the airport when my shuttle didn't show up leaving me stranded.

A place as special as Puerto Viejo itself... I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristyLynnBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Everything about this cabina felt dirty. It had two beds and several times when I returned to my room there was a cockroach scurrying away(it was on top of the bed sheet mind you)..My bathroom light did not work...I was awaken at early hours of the morning by people , maybe other occupents speaking very loudly...I also was awaken at about 4 am several days in a row by an animal or animals(maybe racoons) on my roof..The water in the shower was scolding hot(intolerable) I tried to reset on various occasions and it stayed the same and there was some sort of wierd worm in my shower...The fridge was in the bathroom...They did not change my towels daily although I asked them to do so....I was up early one morning preparing to go on a tour and There was broken glass scattered near the reception area...I asked one of the workers to clean it up because someone could get hurt and he just looked at me...Needless to say I checked out two days earlier and returned to Cahuita...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbztesoro, Manager at Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
First I am sorry that I did not respond earlier.

As well, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As far as the cockroach, it does not make sense that there would have been any in the room, but I can promise you that you did not inform me of this. I do remember that you mentioned the tiny worms and we did clean, and LIGHTLY fumigate the room as soon as you mentioned that. But you were here at a time where they are everywhere, and very hard to completely eliminate - but with the changing season, they are now gone.

In regards to the light in the bathroom, well if you remember I was very embarrassed about that and explained that we had thought it was the florescent bulb, but then after purchasing one we found that it was the assembly - and they had none that size available to purchase so I put a small lamp in it's place during your stay.

People talking at 4am - well, that must of been some other clients on their way to the rooms - and on their behalf, I apologize.

After asking my gardener and handy man about the glass incident and getting nowhere, I finally realized that it was the night guard who I am ashamed to say was probably the most lazy person I have ever had working here, and no longer is with us.

Towels are available EVERY DAY, but generally the clients turn them in for a fresh one - I am only sorry that I did not explain that to you clearly.

I was not aware of any problem with the shower - there are 3 settings one of which completely disconnects power to the shower head for a cold shower - so when I saw the review, I checked it and it was fine, as well, the client that came in after you never complained.

And finally, if memory serves me correct - I discounted your price due to the length of your stay and then the average per night price was $34.00 for a private room with king size bed AND single bed, fan, private bathroom, screened windows with privacy shutters, front porch with hammock, free WIFI, Coffee, safety deposit box, and fridge ( there is no where else BUT the bathroom to put it - but that cabinet in the corner as you first enter the bathroom was built exclusively FOR the fridge).

Any way - again, on behalf of all of us here at El Tesoro, we apologize and thank you for your comments so that we can better attend the needs of our clients.

After 12 years here, this is the 3rd bad review out of many in many different forums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Island Lodge
Paradise Island Lodge
#40 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#14 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selina
Selina
#47 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#60 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro

Property: Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tesoro has been in business since 1994. Located just 70 meters from the white sands of Playa Cocles (the only life-guarded beach in the southern Caribbean) we offer apartments, standard rooms and dorms, as well as high end luxury suites with AC / TV / fridge, etc. We offer high speed WI FI, coffee, and safety deposit box for free to all of our guests. Our restaurant is open daily serving both typical and international foods with pool table and TV available to all guests. Our dorms are located towards the rear of the property where it is VERY quiet and we offer communal kitchens for those on a tight budget. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing