We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We arrived here and were shown around the property. The rooms were clean and big with a fan blowing right on your bed to keep you cool at night. Shower was large and clean and plenty of hot water. The pool area was awesome, sunny and tropical! The dining area was very neat, all hand built and also very clean! Breakfast was a huge plate of fruit, coffee and some type of egg dish, tasty and fresh every time!! Overall a great place to stay! and only a 5 minute walk to town and seemed very safe!

The owners recommended we visit the Jaguar Animal Rescue down the road and so glad we did. Very neat experience played with monkeys and saw sloths, deer, snakes, birds. It was only $15 each to get in for about a 2 hour tour. All the money goes right to the rescued animals, all workers are volunteers and the goal is to release all the animals once they are healthy enough. Well worth it and really fun to play with monkeys!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    137
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
102
288
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Two friends and I recently traveled to Puerto Viejo for 8 days, all of which we spent at the Hotel Blue Conga (save for the last night in San Jose due to an early AM flight). The location was great; easy walking distance to either downtown or Playa Cocles, and within biking distance of Punta Uva and Manzanillo. The rooms were nice, and the balconies + hammocks were a definite plus, but the real reason to stay at the Blue Conga is the amazing hospitality of Pierre and Marise! From their initial help in securing transportation for us from San Jose to the hotel up until their recommendation of lodging in San Jose for our last night in CR, they helped us out whenever they could. Breakfast was always delicious, Marise was always around for help and great advice on what to do, and Pierre took us on some amazing tours to Cahuita, Punta Uva, and a waterfall in the jungle. He taught us many tricks to spotting the animals (sloths, howlers, white-faced monkeys, spider monkeys, blue crabs, caimans, lizards, vipers, etc.), and we ended up with great pictures, and a great collection of sea beans to boot! I'd highly recommend the Blue Conga to anyone considering spending time in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We wanted to stay there for 3 days but finally we stayed there 5 days and it was really nice.
The place is nice, the rooms are ok and Pierre and Maryse, the hotel managers, are just awesome.
Maryse offers a great breakfast while Pierre showed us all greatest places in Puerto Viejo, cahuita and Bribri.
I can just recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We certainly agree on the basic rooms, they need upgrading and an A/C. However the place is great managed! Marise helps out and supports wherever possible and Piere's tours are famous!
Breakfast is great, especially in the lodge!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is walking distance to the main drag of Puerto Viejo. But what really makes this hotel great are Marise and Pierre. We arrived late in the evening, but Marise was there to greet us and show us to our room. She was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting places to eat, hike, snorkel, etc. Pierre was kind enough to show us around Cahuita and Punta Uva in his free time and was incredibly enthusiastic in pointing out the wildlife we saw. They both were fantastic hosts and we plan to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Conga! The tours Pierre offers are a super nice experience and really make a difference.
The room was nothing special though and the shower could use some thoroughly (chlorine) cleaning, but that said, we found the service really unique! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed there 2 days and they were really great.
Marise and Pierre are very helpful and give excellent advice.
Road to place from San Jose takes 4 hours as you cannot speed.
Had very nice food there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrAbdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
11.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Property: Hotel Blue Conga
Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing