We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best place for one or more nights in puerto viejo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the best place for one or more nights in puerto viejo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

we stayed there for two times - and we were more than satisfied! the rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. the garden respectively the pool area is beautiful - and the boss is a good one! ;) greetings from austria

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    129
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
94
281
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Blue Conga. Its a great place just outside town but close enough to walk or cycle.

Eric and Stephanie were great and very helpful.

We had an upstairs room (9) at the back overlooking the breakfast area with a double bed and a bunk. There is a ceiling fan as well as a floor fan, a fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The shower had plenty of hot water and there was adequate wifi. The balcony had a table with 4 chairs and a hammock. The night time temperature was fine for sleeping and we had minimal issues with mossies or other insects.

The pool was a welcome reprieve from the heat.

We only had one issue whilst we were there - which was not anything the Blue Conga could do anything about: a sloth decided to use the electricity wires as a tree and electrocuted itself in the process it took out the power to the hotel and surrounds. No power meant no water for the bathroom. Eric was very quick to get around to everyone to explain what had happened which was great. Fortunately power was restored within 2-3 hours.

I would stay at the Blue Conga again if I ever find myself in PV.

Thanks Eric!

Room Tip: Room 9 sleeps 4 is upstairs with more ventilation and also has a ceiling fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Blue Conga for three nights upon our arrival in Puerto Viejo.

Our room was upstairs and offered a private and stunning view of the garden. The facilities were clean and the shower offered plenty of water pressure and hot water. The room was free of bugs and mosquitoes and stayed very comfortable and cool at night with provided fan. We were awakened each morning by the sounds singing birds...not loud enough to wake you...just a nice start to a wonderful day in Costa Rica.

The morning breakfast offered were fresh and delicious....the serving table was covered in lovely flowers from the garden! The lounge frig offered cold bottled water, cervezas, energy drinks and sodas. The staff was always helpful and offered excellent service.

We utilized the laundry service two times with our clothes being returned rapidly, clean and folded and left in our room.

The location was a perfect distance for a walk into town and cruiser bikes were available for wonderful daily rides. The swimming pool offered a lovely way to cool off after/during a hot day and was quiet and relaxing.

We enjoyed the hotel and location so much that we scheduled two remaining nights of our vacation prior to our departure for a total night stay of 5.

The location was a short path off the main road, with easy access to the beach. The facility felt safe and we had no problems with shuttle pick ups and drop offs for daily excursions.

We would recommend a stay with the Blue Conga.

Room Tip: Try to obtain an upstairs room with a view of the lovely garden...too pretty to pass up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiesViajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We can't thank the staff at Blue Conga enough. The hotel was a little paradise off the beaten path. For our family, the location was perfect - just outside of town, but close enough to walk or bike. We rented bikes every day and went up and down the coast to various beaches, the rescue center, and puerto veijo. It was very hot when we were there, and there is no air conditioning. I might have appreciated that, but the fans and breeze made it all right. Eric made sure we had breakfast to go on our early departure on the last day. The social area is a little delight. The breakfast staff remembered how much my daughter loves mango and began bringing her an extra whole mango cut up in the mornings. It's an experience my kids will remember forever. We moved to a more American-like hotel up in La Fortuna and my kids missed Blue Conga. Thank you Eric and everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The Blue Conga is one of our favourite hotels/accommodations, in which we stayed during our round trip through Costa Rica (by car), where we stayed in a lot of different lodges.

There are several things making this hotel to a very special one: Starting with the good breakfast (also possible to have it in flexible times, e.g. when early-check out). Thanks to Marise and Pierre (who was by the way a very good tourist guide :-)) ; they were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nice, so that it was a very comfortable stay. We thank them for everything making our stay unforgettable. We will definitely recommend it!! :-) Anke&Anna

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AennieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great service, lovely rooms, awesome host and owner (Eric), fun bikes and snorkeling gear, warm pool with soothing waterfall, great dog, night watchman, affordable price and wonderful location tucked off the main strip....I felt comfortable, welcomed and very well taken care of....pool chairs and breakfast and coffee could use a bit of an upgrade...but really....this place is worthy of all the A+ reviews it receives...book today!

Room Tip: I like our room facing the dirt road street with a balcony on the second floor....I think top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesmarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

It is a bit out of the centre of town, and a tad bit difficult to find since it is tucked away.. but just keep an eye out for the signs! All that was okay since we had a car. Walking alongside the street is done by everyone.. but do not expect any lanterns.. very disturbing! I wouldn’t have felt all that comfortably walking during the night, but probably that is just me.

Very friendly and welcoming euhm.. welcome. You really felt right at home upon arrival and the owner is very happy to assist with tours and restaurants etc.
In a nutshell: Nightswimming (the owner does advise you beforehand that there is a guard though ;)), nice sitting area although you shouldn’t mind dogs (as is really the case in all of CR) since they have two rather big but supersweet dogs on the premises, good beds, okay bathrooms and overal good avarage rooms (not too small, not too big, nice that there is some sort of wardrobe/shelves thing, fan but no A/C which was okay for us, we slept like babies so the beds were perfect for our taste), nice private terrace with 1 hammock (hammocks alone make me want to pack up and go live in CR! It’s just not the same in the yard at home) and one of the biggest plusses: great great great home made breakfast.

On the second day, we had to leave quite early and just before breakfast hours. We didn’t ask (didn’t even think about it actually), but the owner offered to make us a breakfast to go herself! How's that for service!!??? And even the breakfast to go was super (fresh fruits, pancakes with chocolate.. yummie!).

We stayed in a lot of different hotels all over CR, from backpacker hostels to all in luxury resorts.. and still the Blue Conga kept popping back in our heads.. sad that we couldn't stay longer.

There really is nothing negative to say about this hotel.. only bad memory I have is leaving two of my favorite bikinis on the doorknob in the bathroom.. and even that was worth it! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funlovingfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Property: Hotel Blue Conga
Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing