We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Puerto Viejo”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Puerto Viejo”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and nice. There where breakfast included served in a nice dining area outside under a roof next to the swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes directly at the hotel, bikes are the preferred transportation for exploring the surroundings. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    134
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
96
284
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Highly recommend staying here. The location was perfect at the tail end of Puerto Viejo, just out of the hustle and bustle but close enough to cycle or even walk to restaurants and close enough to the next beaches and a wildlife refuge that was a highlight for our 6 year old daughter.

Eric the owner offers phenomenal service. He was always helpful, patient and accommodating and all of his recommendations were excellent. He even called a doctor for us when we became ill with the flu even though he was swamped as the place was full over the holidays.

Morning breakfast by the poolside is included and peaceful. Balconies that come with rooms on the second floor are an added bonus and rooms are clean and well appointed.

A must do as part of a great Costa Rica experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the road-side and at times there was a bit of noise that woke us the first couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On our first trip to Costa Rica, there will be more for sure.

We hit a lot of the country and the first stay was in Puerto Viejo at the Blue Congo. The place was great it was like we were staying in a jungle with our own private pool! The pool was for all the guests but the place is small and the pool is open all night.

The room was great a king bed with a mosquito net there weren't many bugs but knowing your under a net you sleep so soundly. We did wake early to the sounds of nature but it was really awesome then breakfast was fresh and a nice size not too big.

The owners are very nice we had such a lovely stay.

There are bikes there to rent too this was our favorite day!!

Love Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The reason for my poor rating - is two things.
1) we were placed in a room next to the office, when we asked the reception if we would be disturbed because of noise. they guaranteed us that the office is closed at 8pm. You can see where this story is going. so at 1130pm as we are trying to sleep the office is very noisy with printing and noise. When I walked into the office - I explained the situation - the person in the office was the owner - he turned to me and said - just a couple more pages, said this with a smile. This was pretty obnoxious - especially considering the circumstances.
2) the place is very overpriced. You can find rooms as nice for about 50-75% of the cost.

The one positive is that the managers of the place were great and sweet people. And tried to make up for the owner's obnoxiousness. Unfortunately it was their last days at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
You are perfectly right. I was not informed of your request of silence after 8 PM. The computer's printer was running and bothered you. I apologize and I had no intention to bother you. I am very saddened to your judgement because all the managers of the hotel have the same desire to meet your demands. However, it is normal that we will not be always the best for all. Our meeting lasted 5 minutes and that's enough to lose our place. I did not think you were angry. My smile was sincere.
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My Son and I were visiting the Caribbean side of Costa Rica and stumbled on the Blue Conga. This is a really nice place, more like a bed and breakfast than hotel, that has clean and fresh rooms, a wonderful outside dining area and beautiful grounds. I want to acknowledge the owner who personally gave me a ride to and from a clinic in Puerto Viejo. If you are in the Puerto Viejo area, keep this hotel in mind - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a nice balcony with a table, chair and hammock on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend it to anyone. We would come back and stay anytime. Most of the guests are repeat visitors, which says a lot. The location is great...about 10 minute walk to the town of Puerto Viejo or to Playa Cocles.  There are even bicycles to use if you want to go farther. Each room has it's own porch with hammock and table. The rooms are quiet spacious, comfortable, and clean. The pool is quiet nice and relaxing. Breakfast is served by the pool every morning and is a great start to the day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I loved this place! It's a great location. Just on the outskirts of town so it's much quieter, but close enough to bike or walk. The managers really made the trip for us. I'm not sure if they're still there, but if they are than you'll love your stay! They drove us to their favorite beaches, took professional-quality photos for us, showed us animals (sloths, snakes, parrots, frogs) we would never have seen on our own. We didn't have to pay extra for any of that! They were very accommodating. The breakfast was made by scratch with local and fresh ingredients and was definitely one of the best breakfasts I've had. Super comfortable beds and hot showers! Recommended great restaurants too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Property: Hotel Blue Conga
Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing