We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing stay - good vibes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing stay - good vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Very simple accommodations, however - it has all that you need. I would not mind the airconditioner, as a couple of nights were hot and humid, and the fan was not doing it...Overall great atmosphere, would not trade it off. The owner, Eric, was very accommodative, gave great recommendations, helped to make reservations. We were planning to go somewhere else after 3 nights, but decided to extend our stay - stayed a total of 5 nights. BlueConga really helpped to embrace Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    129
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
278
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Blue Conga was my favorite hotel of our entire stay in Costa Rica. My daughter and I booked all our vacation hotels online, so it was an adventure! We landed in a couple of really neat places and one sketchy place. Every place had one thing in common, we never knew where we were going and dirt roads were involved. So when our gps told us to turn right down yet another unpaved road after a long drive, we all got the giggles and said oh no, here we go again! Then we pulled into the Blue Conga driveway and Erik was there to greet us and we all did the fist pump thing and said YES!

The Blue Conga is a little piece of paradise in Puerto Viejo. The beautiful pool, thatched roofed common room for breakfast and hanging out, clean spacious room with mosquito netted beds and a hammock on our balcony, and a great location combined to make our last leg of our vacation perfect. It is located just south of town, an easy walk to all the action. Although there is no AC in the rooms, they are all screened and fanned and we had no problem sleeping at all. Besides, who is in their rooms in the middle of the day when there's a beautiful beach just down the road or a sweet little pool downstairs?

Room had a refrigerator to keep our water and beer cold, wifi, and a safe for passports and money. Bed was comfy and linens were fresh and nice. Bathroom was clean and nice. Erik, the owner, was so nice! We really enjoyed him.

If, no WHEN, we return to Puerto Viejo, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and nice. There where breakfast included served in a nice dining area outside under a roof next to the swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes directly at the hotel, bikes are the preferred transportation for exploring the surroundings. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Highly recommend staying here. The location was perfect at the tail end of Puerto Viejo, just out of the hustle and bustle but close enough to cycle or even walk to restaurants and close enough to the next beaches and a wildlife refuge that was a highlight for our 6 year old daughter.

Eric the owner offers phenomenal service. He was always helpful, patient and accommodating and all of his recommendations were excellent. He even called a doctor for us when we became ill with the flu even though he was swamped as the place was full over the holidays.

Morning breakfast by the poolside is included and peaceful. Balconies that come with rooms on the second floor are an added bonus and rooms are clean and well appointed.

A must do as part of a great Costa Rica experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the road-side and at times there was a bit of noise that woke us the first couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

On our first trip to Costa Rica, there will be more for sure.

We hit a lot of the country and the first stay was in Puerto Viejo at the Blue Congo. The place was great it was like we were staying in a jungle with our own private pool! The pool was for all the guests but the place is small and the pool is open all night.

The room was great a king bed with a mosquito net there weren't many bugs but knowing your under a net you sleep so soundly. We did wake early to the sounds of nature but it was really awesome then breakfast was fresh and a nice size not too big.

The owners are very nice we had such a lovely stay.

There are bikes there to rent too this was our favorite day!!

Love Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The reason for my poor rating - is two things.
1) we were placed in a room next to the office, when we asked the reception if we would be disturbed because of noise. they guaranteed us that the office is closed at 8pm. You can see where this story is going. so at 1130pm as we are trying to sleep the office is very noisy with printing and noise. When I walked into the office - I explained the situation - the person in the office was the owner - he turned to me and said - just a couple more pages, said this with a smile. This was pretty obnoxious - especially considering the circumstances.
2) the place is very overpriced. You can find rooms as nice for about 50-75% of the cost.

The one positive is that the managers of the place were great and sweet people. And tried to make up for the owner's obnoxiousness. Unfortunately it was their last days at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
You are perfectly right. I was not informed of your request of silence after 8 PM. The computer's printer was running and bothered you. I apologize and I had no intention to bother you. I am very saddened to your judgement because all the managers of the hotel have the same desire to meet your demands. However, it is normal that we will not be always the best for all. Our meeting lasted 5 minutes and that's enough to lose our place. I did not think you were angry. My smile was sincere.
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My Son and I were visiting the Caribbean side of Costa Rica and stumbled on the Blue Conga. This is a really nice place, more like a bed and breakfast than hotel, that has clean and fresh rooms, a wonderful outside dining area and beautiful grounds. I want to acknowledge the owner who personally gave me a ride to and from a clinic in Puerto Viejo. If you are in the Puerto Viejo area, keep this hotel in mind - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a nice balcony with a table, chair and hammock on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Property: Hotel Blue Conga
Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing