We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay!”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The first night we arrived Eric greeted us with what I could see was a troubled look. He explained to us that the family that was supposed to leave "our" room had gone out for the day, left there belongings in the room and not checked out. He proceeded to drive us to a hotel in Playa Chiquita that was right on the beach! He put us up in a room that was double the price of Blue Conga!
It was my partners birthday "week" and I was trying to make everything just right for her. The fact that Eric took care of this situation the way he did made us feel very comfortable and taken care of.
Our original plans were to travel over to Quepos after our 3 day stay at Blue Conga. We decided to stay on the east side for the duration of our stay after seeing Blue Conga and realising we were going to lose a day of vacation riding on a bus to the west side. When I approached Eric about staying another couple of nights, he told me that he was booked solid. Well by some alignment of the stars there was an opening for the 2 extra nights and it worked out.
The location is just enough out of town to make it relaxing but still close enough for a 5 minute bike ride to the laid back energy of Puerto Viejo.
The accommodations at Blue Conga are comfortable, quite and relaxing. There was just enough staff presence to meet our needs but not so much as to impose on our privacy.
We love to patronise businesses such as Eric's. It is clear he performs his job out of a love for what he does.
Thank You Eric for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a great, peacfull location, 5 minut walking away from city. Rooms are big, new furniture, clean, bathroom is nice. Breakfast is simple, but this is all you need. Eric, the owner, is great. You can also rent a bike for 5$ per day. My recommendation to all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andreja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great little hotel just a bit out of the way of the town good clean place relaxed atmosphere . Everything was perfecto, Eric's a good dude, very friendly and helpful even when I came back a little to drunk from superbowl, not sure who helped us in but thanks the seahawks one we went a little crazy at the point. William the chef is awesome as well very help full too. All good vibes here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kalste2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Blue Conga is a family run hotel within easy walking distance of the main town, but far enough out and off the mainroad to ensure a quiet relaxed stay. It has a plunge pool which is just right for cooling down, but the seating round the pool could do with upgrading. The pool is in a shady pleasant garden overlooked by the breakfast veranda, wher their is an honesty fridge with cold drinks and the owner is happy for the fridge to be used for your own drinks or fruit.
The owners of the hotel are very helpful and able to offe advise and recommendations on local attractions and restaurants.
Superior rooms (upstairs) have safes in the room, whereas standard rooms do not, but the hotel is pretty secur as it is secluded up a small track, where you can also safely park your car.
Breakfast is included and is a set plate of many varieties of fruit plus toast, some egg and ham fruit juice and fabulous Costa Rican coffee. Some reviewers have questioned the cost in terms of value for money, but in my personal opinion it is worth paying for the location and ambience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Writing this review from the thatched roofed poolside pavilion on our last day at Blue Conga, it saddens me to go. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here and Eric was a gracious and helpful host. This place is quaint and secluded but still very much in the center of things. Relaxation at its finest and excellent value. Be sure to check out the Jaguar Rescue Center which is only a few kilometers away. Hands down the best excursion of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millertime125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We only stayed for one night and thought it was overpriced. We had a room on the garden level and it was below average (not even a fan on the ceiling) the hotel did provide a stand alone fan but wasn't as effective. The bathroom was in need of some serious TLC and the shower didn't drain properly......the gentleman who checked us in was nice and they did pack us a breakfast despite our very early departure. If we had paid less it might have been ok but I've stayed at hostels in Costa Rica that were nicer and cheaper. The bed was hard and not terribly comfortable, maybe the upper balcony rooms are better but this one was in need of a renovation...good location but for the money I'd stay somewhere else . We won't book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Francesca thank you, your review will be very useful for us and for our customers.
Staying one night, you have an estimate of the delivery room "standard". It is true that they are the oldest part of the hotel and very different from the superior rooms. They need renovation but we can not repeat the architecture. We think. Blue Conga collects his reviews for its environment and atmosphere. We agree to accept the standard rooms are expensive for what they are. However, it is part of a whole must remain consistent with our customers.
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is paradise! My hunny and I just spent 5 nights at Blue Conga and it wasn't long enough. This is the perfect place to stay in Puerto Viejo. If you are like my husband and I and are looking for a place close to the sea with a comfortable bed, spacious and clean room, great breakfast, and relaxing pool area then this is the place to be. It's only a 2 minute bike ride out of the main part of Puerto Viejo (nice and quiet but still close to everything you need) and 3 minutes bike ride to the nearest beach, Playa Cocles, which is great for boogie boarding, surfing, or just lying on the lovely soft sand.
I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in Puerto Viejo. The atmosphere is so chill, just like the owner, Eric, and it is very obvious how proud
he is of his little piece of paradise. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The young man who made breakfast in the morning made FANTASTIC coffee! I looked forward to waking up early and having a coffee on my balcony, enjoying the scenery. It was a sad day having to leave Blue Conga! Stay here and try to get room #11 if you can!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
722 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing