We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Really Wanted to Like It but...”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked this property based on all the positive reviews and were really looking forward to staying with Eric and enjoying all the great hospitality and facilities.. We really wanted to like this property as we don't think we're super picky people but Blue Conga was out of line given the price and value that it offered given the other 5 places we stayed in in Costa Rica during our March 2014 trip.

Blue Conga is located away from town but still within reasonable walking distance. Near by there are a couple of sodas offering comida tipica as well as restaurants and a coffee shop. We liked the location tucked back away from the main street but were a bit concerned about the security (or lack thereof) compared to other places we stayed - the side gate was open to all and it seemed that anyone could walk in whenever they wanted to regardless of whether or not they had the right to be there. Other places, even though they didn't have an official "big security guy" usually had a system where the gate was locked after a certain time and guests would get in via their key.

Pool - probably the nicest feature of the property and why it's the most featured among the photos that are posted. It's a really lovely pool with relaxing bean bag chairs scattered nearby. The pool is pretty small so don't plan on doing much besides bobbing around in the water and dipping to cool off. Nonetheless, it's a welcome touch in Puerto Viejo. The public seating area is also pretty nice although there aren't a lot of comfortable places to sit - there's a couch but beyond that, you're out of luck is 2 people are sitting there - just hard wooden bench/chairs.

Rooms - upper rooms are the way to go - lower level rooms don't get the breeze. However, I'm not convinced that given the generally worn nature of the furnishings, it would be worth the extra upcharge if all you're doing is sleeping there. Unfortunately, Blue Conga occupies a unique niche in Puerto Viejo between the cheap backpacker accomodations and the chic "yoga/spa" type places that are cropping up. This doesn't give Eric a ton of incentive to up his game in terms of investing in the property.

Breakfast - Eric wasn't visibly around during the morning hours when breakfast was served. You get a plate of food - let's just say that and leave it at that. So, yes, breakfast is included - but the other 4 places that had breakfast included at the same price range that we paid for Blue Conga (Cahuita, San Jose, Jaco, Manuel Antonio) all had breakfasts that were more substantial or provided buffet type choices compared to what we got a Blue Conga.

We really did try to give Blue Conga a chance to live up to its glowing and positive reputations as obviously people really do like it. Unfortunately, our experience fell short of our expectations in so many ways that we will be one of the few reviews that does not recommend this property.

Room Tip: upstairs - but again, might want to look somewhere else given the rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Spahkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your kind and reasoned evaluation. This is how we can move forward .

I would like to reassure customers about safety by ensuring that our guard is part of a certified company . It is armed but keeps a discrete attitude not to disturb a part of our clientele which is not accustomed to bear arms . Our neighborhood is of the most quiet . The caribean side does not close its custom properties. The opposite would be an incentive to non-integration .

I repeat that Blue Conga is not a large resort. Comfort is basic compared to that of chains hotels. This is a new hotel, built on the cheap and we really invested everything we could and we continue to do so. It is and will remain a small business .

I repeat once again that we customize the breakfasts to the plate and do not present this classic buffet and monotonous in our eyes . You can request as many as you wish without supplements.

Finally, I have not managed to log in with your username and I have not been able to determine if your stay was not in the same time that I was sick and I had to leave a few days in San José , which would justify my absence.

Thank you contact me if you wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed there this past week. We were suppose to have a reservation but the company in charge didn´t do it, but the owner and the person who runs the hotel were very kind and thanks to him my wife and I could spend three wonderful days in beautiful Puerto Viejo, a place that everyone on Earth should go at least once.

Room Tip: a room in the second floor is the best choice. Very nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is phenomenal. It's very cozy and comfortable and accommodates everyone, from young and single, families or older people. The breakfast is delicious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. You will enjoy the spacious rooms, comfortable beds, views, and the pool as well. It was very nice to travel and still feel the comfort of a home. This experience was awesome and the hotel accommodations made it an even more enjoyable stay. I loved everything about this place and will definitely stay there during my next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although the hotel was clean and the location was in a quiet area, it was our least favorite overnight on this trip. The mattresses are extremely hard and the pillows are unusually lumpy. I am not real particular about these things normally, but was glad to see morning come this time. Is a distance from town so no restaurants close by that we saw

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes en procédure de changer les literies qui effectivement restent un point faible pour quelques chambres.
Je ne valide pas l'absence de restaurants proches, car il en existe beaucoup et ils sont relatés dans d'autres avis.
La plupart de nos mauvaises évaluations viennent de personnes qui ne restent que le temps d'une nuit. Nous devons reconsidérer ce point afin d'améliorer notre accueil de tres court terme.
Merci de votre intervention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The first night we arrived Eric greeted us with what I could see was a troubled look. He explained to us that the family that was supposed to leave "our" room had gone out for the day, left there belongings in the room and not checked out. He proceeded to drive us to a hotel in Playa Chiquita that was right on the beach! He put us up in a room that was double the price of Blue Conga!
It was my partners birthday "week" and I was trying to make everything just right for her. The fact that Eric took care of this situation the way he did made us feel very comfortable and taken care of.
Our original plans were to travel over to Quepos after our 3 day stay at Blue Conga. We decided to stay on the east side for the duration of our stay after seeing Blue Conga and realising we were going to lose a day of vacation riding on a bus to the west side. When I approached Eric about staying another couple of nights, he told me that he was booked solid. Well by some alignment of the stars there was an opening for the 2 extra nights and it worked out.
The location is just enough out of town to make it relaxing but still close enough for a 5 minute bike ride to the laid back energy of Puerto Viejo.
The accommodations at Blue Conga are comfortable, quite and relaxing. There was just enough staff presence to meet our needs but not so much as to impose on our privacy.
We love to patronise businesses such as Eric's. It is clear he performs his job out of a love for what he does.
Thank You Eric for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a great, peacfull location, 5 minut walking away from city. Rooms are big, new furniture, clean, bathroom is nice. Breakfast is simple, but this is all you need. Eric, the owner, is great. You can also rent a bike for 5$ per day. My recommendation to all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andreja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great little hotel just a bit out of the way of the town good clean place relaxed atmosphere . Everything was perfecto, Eric's a good dude, very friendly and helpful even when I came back a little to drunk from superbowl, not sure who helped us in but thanks the seahawks one we went a little crazy at the point. William the chef is awesome as well very help full too. All good vibes here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kalste2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
721 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing