We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

What every you are doing in the area, do not miss the tour here! The tours are at 9:30 am and at 11:30 am. You will get an up close and personal experience with the animals, not just see them from afar in a cage, but really see them up close with handlers, and like previous reviewers have mentioned you will get time with the baby monkeys which is amazing. Personally, I've been 3 times in the last 6 months, (every time someone comes to visit Costa Rica.) It's my #1 recommendation of 'things to do' in this area. Since this is a rescue center there are always new animals being treated and healed there with the expectation of release back into the wild if that is possible for the animal. There is a cash only $15 donation per person, and you are guided by non paid volunteers, so if you have the means I do recommend tipping them a few bucks, you'll see on the tour these volunteers are just amazing and so knowledgeable. Good luck and enjoy your visit!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank shlbn8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,948
    464
    87
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I can't see how anyone could rate this place less than 'excellent!' You can learn about local fauna AND play with baby monkeys! Interacting with the monkeys was 10 minutes of pure heaven!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Come for the guided tour at 9:30 or 1:30, they let you 10-15 minutes to play with their BABY MONKEYS!!!!!!!!!! Best 10min of our life!!! They seem to really do their best to help injured animals and release them in the wild whenever possible. You also get to see many birds from close and discover some you would have probable never seen like owls.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank celinetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I love animals and this place was heaven. Setting is beautiful and the guide was so knowledgeable. Got to see a Sloth, Howler Monkey, Jaguar, and the list goes on & on. Place is a ways from the city and they charge a small donation of $15 to enter. Once you enter, there is a guide that brings you around the Rescue Center. Since it is escorted, there are only a couple times you can go inside. We took the first tour which was 9:30, it last for 3 hours. They have some curious deers roaming the center that are more than happy to get petted by you. What a great experience. I got to go in the monkey room and watch the lil monkeys play and jump on fellow visitors. I also got the see these newly born Fawns, which are so cute that words can't even describe their cuteness. This center is owned by a married couple that actually live on the property. Their intention is the nurse animals to health, so they can eventually go back into the wild. Also to educate people about these animals. This place is awesome

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackieNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Amazing place, a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was probably the highlight of my trip to Costa Rica, only wanted to see one animal and it was a Sloth, we can here and just caught the end of closing time and the last tour of the day which was super lucky!! Our tour guide was a lovely chap who was so sweet and made sure we had an excellent and well informed tour. We saw many animals, with the main highlights being allowed in to play with the baby monkeys which was surreal, watching the baby sloths being fed (we couldn't hold them as their skin is sensitive to ours) and the dear which followed us around and spent ages licking our legs!! It was really fun and informative and one of the volunteers gave loads of information should i want to come back and volunteer which I really am thinking about! Highly recommended!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukeytaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing