We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Verde Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Best hosts ever! Number one hotel in Puerto Viejo! I'd stay here forever if I could! Pura Vida! Coolest most spacious rooms and its so nice there that you feel like you are at home! Most amazing time ever!

Room Tip: Amazing every where! Stay upstairs if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

We came here after staying at an awful place in town. It was so nice coming to such a peaceful tranquil place after our bad experience.

We stayed in a room upstairs which was HUGE and very open and airy. My boyfriend and I both loved it. It was also very clean, infact the whole place was spotless.

The showers were nice and hot and the kitchen was very well equipped - which is a deal breaker for me when you are a budget traveller!

I would definetely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelonTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at Vista Verde for 2 nights. The location is great, it's very quiet and beautifully green with lots of plants around it and plenty of hammocks to enjoy the view. There is a kitchen which seems to be equipped alright (didn't actually use it).
However, the rooms were a bit too basic and not quite clean enough for our taste. The 'windows' are just big wooden shutters which you have to close when you leave the room if you wan't to be sure nobody will enter your room through them. Thus our room was very stuffy when we got back in the evening, and the mosquito nets were a bit smelly too. Also, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.
Overall it's not a bad place to stay if you don't mind sleeping in a very basic room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doedae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The German owners, Olaf and Kathy are very friendly. Very clean, relaxing, safe. It's cozy, so there are not so many people, which was perfect for us. Hot shower. Very close to everything. No internet. We used the kitchen a couple of times, everything is very organized. If we go back to Puerto Viejo, we'll stay there again no doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our stay in Hospedaje Vista Verde was one of the highlights of our trip. Charming place, very friendly and helpful owners.
The rooms were basic but very clean.
Lovely building and the kitchen/dinning room area was perfect for a relaxing dinner surrounded by vegetation and wildlife.
I would deffinetly recommned it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Looking for a great hostel in PV? This is it! Excellent facilities, kind hosts, abundant wildlife, quiet, excellent location, and the price is right! Olaf and Katy made us feel like family. We loved chilling in the hammocks, watching the frogs, butterflies, and honey bears, and joking around with Olaf!

Room Tip: We liked the room at the back upstairs - quiet, private and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Puerto Viejo is a really great beach resort but can feel a little dangerous and sketchy at times; Vista Verde is a great option if you want some where safe, clean and welcoming. The German owners were very kind and helpful, we were staying at Puerto Viejo for a birthday weekend and the owners even brought my friend a birthday card and a cake. I would say this place is best for families, couples and friends that want to relax and not best for people that want a crazy drunken time. It is a little out of town and I'm not sure if it would be safe to walk to and from the hotel at night, alone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#18 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#77 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Verde Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Verde Guest House

Address: | 40 m south of Elena Brown Restaurant, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £26 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vista VerdeWe have five beautiful private bedrooms with two shared bathrooms and showers immersed in a nice tropical garden in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca-Caribe Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Vista Verde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Vista Verde Hotel Puerto Viejo
Vista Verde Guest House Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing