We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Cabinas Lika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas Lika
Chilamate, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My mom and I stayed here after the place next door was booked. The rooms were a bit dark in decor, but they were clean and had plenty of lighting. Plenty of space. The staff was accommodating. The hostel is just a block off the main road and just a short walk to the beach. You can rent bikes from them for a dollar less than other places in town. The only thing I didn't like was how hot the room was. There is one fan on the ceiling that circulates around, but it seemed to be cooler outside than in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarmonyRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Ten dollars each for a private room with fan and tv, and bathroom is brilliant value. It's in a good location, two minutes from the excellent restaurants in town and really quiet. No complaints, especially not at this price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaaikePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parry sound
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very clean & safe, close to all the bars & restaurants. 5-7 minute walk to the beach. Grocery store & bank 2 minute walk. Excellent value at USD$10 per person per night. Hot showers (for 3 out of 7 days, but oh well), not a lot of partiers,,,,quiet is requested after 1130pm and it people obliged. Free internet on computers, shared kitchen facilities. No A/C
I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellybean2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Had a great stay at this inn! Prices are consistent with hostels, but (probably because it's set off from the beach- 7 minutes walking distance) the quality is much better. Quiet with ac, comfortable beds, private shower and bathroom with sink- great stay. Thank you to the manager Roberto too, very helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

good location, only 20$ for a private room. The room was Clean and comfortable. They rent bikes for 5$ (the rode to punta uva is beautiful and the beaches are really nice).
The place is very safe (you can get in only with a key). There are hamocks near the rooms, and a small kitchen.

Tip
The restaurant bread& chocolat has a good breakfast and amazing deserts. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

its very close to town and to the beach, stores are also close, it was clean, with fans and parking...price was also very good

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

As the Neighbour Pagalu was fully booked, the friendly French couple at Pollo something (it´s at the corner from that street) advised me to go to Lika Bird (as locals call it). The room I had was clean and it was my first experience with an electric showerhead, but it worked perfectly fine. The owner of the place is very friendly, though changing the lightbulb in the bathroom wasn´t fixed before I left.

The atmosphere is great and I totally rediscovered the simple luxury of my own hammock in front of the room. As it was Costa Rican summer, during the weekend the place was filled with families. And that is something you should be aware of. Personally, I like kids, but not the noise they make. Whether they are playing or crying, it´s just not my idea of a holiday. Luckily most Costa Rican families are aware of the social environment they´re in, so you probably won´t hear the kid after 10 pm. But unfortunately the child-friendliness also appealed to a German guest that said that her 2 yo liked to wake up early. And so from 6 am the noise was horrible (live and let live was her hippie-ish device). Can´t blame Lika for that, but you just should know that if you´re planning to stay here, just be notified that this is a kid-friendly zone. (and that the rooms in Puerto Viejo -or elsewhere at the carribean coast- have no isolating glass :) )

Besides that, it´s a lovely place, cheap, clean and very close to the citycenter...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#22 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Talamanca
Cabinas Talamanca
#74 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Lika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Lika

Property: Cabinas Lika
Address: 100m southwest from Megasuper | When arriving from Limón direction, take the first right and then the first left, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Cabinas Lika Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing