We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Be My Guest Cabinas
Reviewed 13 February 2014

we stayed at BMGC for 20 days and enjoyed our time in Puerto Veijo. The cabina was large and had all the amenities we needed. The cabina was clean and spacious with a small kitchen that we used on a regular basis. There is a small store 10 minute walk that you can get some groceries and the larger grocery store in town is another 20 minute walk. The ocean is a 5 minute walk and we were able to use the lounge chairs at Banana Azul as well as enjoy Happy hour drinks. Meals at Banana Azul were also very good. Fred and his family were very helpful in telling us of places to see and how to get there for a reasonable price. The area is beautiful and the only noise you will hear is the sound of the ocean and the birds in the area. We enjoyed daily walks and sight seeing. Thanks Fred for a great vacation spot.

Room Tip: there are four cabinas or apartments, 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs. We were in the downstairs and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelorJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

I really enjoyed my overall experience at "Be My Guest Cabinas" The owner and his wife are very friendly and they try to assist you in any way possible. They explained EVERYTHING to me in great detail and being a single woman traveling along that means a lot. The rooms are very spacious and the atmosphere is ssoooo serene and its just steps away from the beach. I cannot say enough about the entire experience and I will definitely be planning my next stay there really soon.

Room Tip: It really dosen't matter what room you choose because they all have a front and side door and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My partner and I had been to PV four years ago and fell in love with Costa Rica. We kept dreaming of moving and life kinda got in the way. We decided to return a second time and live as locals to see if we still loved it. Our initial reserved room at another guest house was a nightmare. We inquired about a back up plan and were introduced to Fred. Well thanks to his hospitality and family our vacation was a dream. We are now actively pursuing property and look forward to our continuing friendship with Fred and his familia!!! I can't recommend him more highly!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrlthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at Be My Guest Cabinas. Fred is very kind and will definitely help you save money with his great recommendations of things to do which are of little cost. There's definitely not a need to book through tour companies for your day excursions. The room was spacious and clean and resembles a small studio apartment with a very basic kitchen area. We saved quite a bit of money by eating in (there's a decent grocery store in town to get everything you need). The location is great. It's tucked away nicely in a serene spot and it's not too far from town. The access to Banana Azul was awesome! We were there everyday lounging by the beach and enjoying the happy hour specials. Overall, we had a nice stay at Be My Guest Cabinas. Thanks for the hospitality, Fred and family!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NatashaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed at be my guest cabinas for 19 nights. i felt very comfortable right away and fred was very very helpful with everything. thank you fred!!!! :-)
i can highly recommend his cabinas, they are worth the price and fred, his wife and the kids are great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis-silvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed for several nights at Fred's place. The rooms are huge, and our upstairs one had ceiling fans and a good floor fan (which was totally fine.) We took advantage of using our room's kitchen to save money on eating out at restaurants. Kitchen has a small fridge, double hot plate, and basic cooking ware. Shower was hot, pool was clean, and queen size platform beds were comfortable. Site is safe and secure. Wifi is decent. We were able to to laundry at his house for a reasonable price.
Best part is Fred's helpfulness with anything you need. He's a busy guy, and he has great advice on saving you money in Puerto Viejo. He seems to have a lot of connections, and he made us feel at home. He lives with his wife and 2 kids on the property.
We rented beach cruisers from the hotel nears his property (be aware that they charge tax on the final total.). Main town is about 2 km away or less, a pleasant ride... Just bring a head lamp if you ride back at night.
We were super lucky to have a chance to ride some Electric Bikes from Fred's friend's new business. Definitely ask about it. It was a lot of fun! They go up to 25mph, and the little tours go all the way out to some cool waterfalls, where you can drink cold coconuts for a dollar. We also took them out to an amazing beach past Manzanillo. Really fun way to cruise the coast!!
If you want a spacious place to relax and a really helpful owner on the premises, I highly recommend Be My Guest Cabinas!! Thanks for everything Fred!!!

Room Tip: There's only 4 rooms... Downstairs have AC, upstairs are breezy and have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here in Dec 2013. The room was impecably clean, the beds were super comfey, there were screens and ample fans (we didn't need the A/C, which is available), a well stocked personal kitchen, nice large towels, super comfortable pillows, hot water in the large shower and table and chairs. The prices are more in line with a hostels, but the accomodations are like having a studio apartment.

Fred took us to two waterfalls, which must be a local secret as only a couple of locals were there. He gave us tips of things to do and reasonable places to eat, as food prices can be a bit high (loved Bread and Chocolate that was suggested). We also opted to do some cooking in our private kitchen to defray costs. The black sand beach is a 5 minute walk away.

The place is super quiet, and we had some of the best sleep ever. It's a bit away from the noise of the town, but we walked to town most days. You can rent a bike to visit the other coastal towns as well. I would suggest a bike rental.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Vikingo
Casa Vikingo
#30 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natural Puerto Viejo
Natural Puerto Viejo
#71 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casitas Joanna
Casitas Joanna
#42 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#23 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#17 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Pizote Lodge
Hotel El Pizote Lodge
#87 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be My Guest Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be My Guest Cabinas

Address: Meter From Banana Azul Hotel 300, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Be My Guest Cabinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be My Guest Cabins is a turn-key property with 4 apartments in Playa Negra in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica. Ideal for relaxation and nature, Be My Guest Cabins is about 350 meters from the black sand beaches of the Caribbean Playa Negra, and about one kilometer from the center of Puerto Viejo. With one or two queen beds, each study has an en suite, a private bathroom with hot water shower, ceiling fan and a mini kitchen. Each kitchen has a two-burner range, a convection oven, coffee maker, refrigerator and cooking utensils. Be My Guest Cabins also has a pool and free Wi-Fi. Two studies have air conditioning. Guest have access to Hotel Banana Azul pool, beach club and restaurant. Guests can book the jungle canopy tours, visits to nearby waterfalls, surfing lessons and scuba diving or snorkeling trips. Puerto Viejo bars and restaurants are a five minute taxi or rent a bike from us. Puerto Viejo Bus Station offers direct links to Limón and San José, and travel to Bocas del Toro, Panama, can be arranged. Limon International Airport is 52 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Be My Guest Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be My Guest Cabinas Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing